21 Reviews

Omg! This recipe is amazing! I've made it 3 times, forgot to come back and review. It was perfect! I made it 2 nights back to back because my husband couldn't get enough of it :) ... Trust me, says a lot since he's a very picky eater! My 5 year old loved it as well.
Also, I used pepper jack cheese slices instead.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa612 August 22, 2011

Very good. A little different way of serving plain old chicken. Red sauce added some nice flavor and made it taste like chicken parmesan. The prep. seemed a little time consuming and it was difficult to transfer from prep area to baking pan, it started to fall apart. I would recommend assembling each one in the baking pan.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayndrop November 11, 2008

These were easy and lovely. I cut my chicken pieces up small and just mixed them in with the pesto. I used grated mozzarella and didn't need quite 8 oz. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 16, 2007

Everyone really enjoyed these. I cut into six pieces of pastry. I made one vegetarian using tomato slice instead of chicken and was told it was better than the chicken version. Next time will dice chicken instead of whole. My daughter who feels everything needs a sauce loved as is. Might try combo of chicken and tomato next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT June 26, 2011

Yum! I browned bite-sized pieces of chicken and mixed them with pesto before folding them into a package - completely forgetting to add the mozzerella cheese I had shredded! I stored them overnight in the fridge then baked them up for dinner the next day. During the last couple of minutes I added that mozzarella on top of each package and let it melt. They were fantastic. There's no question that the mozzarella SHOULD have gone inside (where, hopefully, it will end up next time I make this), but it's nice to know that I can mess up this recipe and still have it turn out well :) These are simple, you can make them ahead, and yet they're so elegant looking to serve for company! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alison J. August 28, 2008

I messed up this recipe and after reading the reviews I'll try them again! I followed the recipe to the letter except I made the triangle mistake and had trouble closing them. Pillows next time it is. I will also chop or dice the chicken and mix with the pesto as suggested, and maybe even with the cheese (shredded) all together. With the chicken & cheese whole it was super hard to close them. And I found the edges stuck MUCH better without the egg wash! I'd like to try these with feta also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KDSCOMOX October 21, 2012

I made one large family size pillow and we loved it! No need for red sauce here, it was fantastic all on it's own! Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama September 10, 2008

Boy were these easy to make and they looked fantastic! Very flavorful and a real pleaser all around. Perfect for a dinner party. I served with spaghetti sauce and it was a perfect compliment. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennsniffer February 17, 2008

Delicious! Puff pastry, pesto, cheese, chicken...what an awesome combination. I used shredded mozzarella and it worked fine. My DH kept saying, "wow" , and went back for seconds. The pesto pillows would be a good choice for a dinner party. I would think that you could prep ahead, too. Next time, after browning the chicken, I'm going to try a variation of cutting the chicken into bite-sized pcs and mixing with the pesto. Thanks for a winner, Charmie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 06, 2007

Last night I had my kids and my parents over. Between the seven of us, I can rarely make a dish that everyone likes. I have a couple of REALLY picky eaters. This dish made family history - we fought over the leftovers. Simple to make, attractive to serve, and absolutely delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CalgaryCook May 11, 2007
Chicken Pesto Pillows