Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Pesto Pillows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Pesto Pillows

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2011

      Omg! This recipe is amazing! I've made it 3 times, forgot to come back and review. It was perfect! I made it 2 nights back to back because my husband couldn't get enough of it :) ... Trust me, says a lot since he's a very picky eater! My 5 year old loved it as well.
      Also, I used pepper jack cheese slices instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Very good. A little different way of serving plain old chicken. Red sauce added some nice flavor and made it taste like chicken parmesan. The prep. seemed a little time consuming and it was difficult to transfer from prep area to baking pan, it started to fall apart. I would recommend assembling each one in the baking pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      These were easy and lovely. I cut my chicken pieces up small and just mixed them in with the pesto. I used grated mozzarella and didn't need quite 8 oz. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Everyone really enjoyed these. I cut into six pieces of pastry. I made one vegetarian using tomato slice instead of chicken and was told it was better than the chicken version. Next time will dice chicken instead of whole. My daughter who feels everything needs a sauce loved as is. Might try combo of chicken and tomato next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Yum! I browned bite-sized pieces of chicken and mixed them with pesto before folding them into a package - completely forgetting to add the mozzerella cheese I had shredded! I stored them overnight in the fridge then baked them up for dinner the next day. During the last couple of minutes I added that mozzarella on top of each package and let it melt. They were fantastic. There's no question that the mozzarella SHOULD have gone inside (where, hopefully, it will end up next time I make this), but it's nice to know that I can mess up this recipe and still have it turn out well :) These are simple, you can make them ahead, and yet they're so elegant looking to serve for company! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I messed up this recipe and after reading the reviews I'll try them again! I followed the recipe to the letter except I made the triangle mistake and had trouble closing them. Pillows next time it is. I will also chop or dice the chicken and mix with the pesto as suggested, and maybe even with the cheese (shredded) all together. With the chicken & cheese whole it was super hard to close them. And I found the edges stuck MUCH better without the egg wash! I'd like to try these with feta also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      I made one large family size pillow and we loved it! No need for red sauce here, it was fantastic all on it's own! Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Boy were these easy to make and they looked fantastic! Very flavorful and a real pleaser all around. Perfect for a dinner party. I served with spaghetti sauce and it was a perfect compliment. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Delicious! Puff pastry, pesto, cheese, chicken...what an awesome combination. I used shredded mozzarella and it worked fine. My DH kept saying, "wow" , and went back for seconds. The pesto pillows would be a good choice for a dinner party. I would think that you could prep ahead, too. Next time, after browning the chicken, I'm going to try a variation of cutting the chicken into bite-sized pcs and mixing with the pesto. Thanks for a winner, Charmie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Last night I had my kids and my parents over. Between the seven of us, I can rarely make a dish that everyone likes. I have a couple of REALLY picky eaters. This dish made family history - we fought over the leftovers. Simple to make, attractive to serve, and absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Thanks so much Charmie for posting this recipe. I made it last night for DH and myself, he loved it! DH was feeling a little short changed as far as dinner was concerned due to the fact I'm in the throws of baking Christmas cookies and have been for two weeks and a week left to go. Not much time to think of dinner. This meal was easy, absolutly delish and a 5 star presentation. I'm now back in his good graces. Will make again and again. Thanks again, awesome. Leslie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      This was an easy tasty meal. I had never used puff pastry and loved it. I found that it was expensive though. So on half of the pillows I ended up using a generic .99 frozen pie crust. I topped my pillows with freshly grated parmesean cheese and also seasoned the chicken when browning with onion powder, seasoning salt and italian blend spices. I would highly recommend this recipe. I took a picture, but the picture did not do the pillows justice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      We usually make this without the puff pastry, (as in Spicy Chicken Pesto #162944) but I thought I'd try something different. I didn't think the pastry added much and the chicken wasn't quite as moist after cooling in the fridge. The flavor was nice just not excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      My son and I liked this recipe, although, even though I added garlic pepper salt to the chicken breasts, they needed a little more flavor. Next time, maybe I'll add more pesto? I will make them, again, though, because they were easy and fancy-looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Great, tasty and quick meal for the whole family. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Wow, this is really easy and impressive! I enjoyed it for sure and will make it again. I served it with a sauce made of the leftover pesto and crushed tomato- yum!!!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      What a great idea! This was the first time I'd used puff pastry and I think I'm going to have to keep a box in my freezer from now on. I seasoned the chicken with salt & pepper before browning and followed the recipe exactly but I think I should have put more pesto on the inside - it needed a little more flavor. And I made the mistake of trying to make these into triangles instead of "pillows", which was a little challenging so next time I'll do them right. All in all, a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      Deeee-lish! Very easy and my guests raved! I sprinkled a little parmesan over the top and broiled it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      What a delicious meal, and so easy to put together. I only had a packet of grated mozzarella so just covered the tops of the chicken with that. You could use a lot of different combinations with this..I might try camembert and cranberry next time. We loved this, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Pesto Pillows

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 643.9
     
    Calories from Fat 377
    58%
    Total Fat 41.9 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 98.6 mg
    32%
    Sodium 521.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 27.9 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes