224 Reviews

So good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested - rolled the chicken in melted butter before the breadcrumbs (Panko), placed the chicken in the baking dish, covered lightly and baked for 20 min. Then I added a layer of store-bought, refrigerated pesto, then a layer of freshly sauteed mushrooms, and finally the cheese, and baked uncovered for another 20 min. Came out perfectly, and my husband loved it. A definite keeper.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bgifford May 20, 2010

10 stars! Wow, wow, wow. So easy and so tasty. I used the pesto packet from Aldi's. Used 3 small breasts and an 8x8 pan. Added 1 can of artichoke hearts and 1 tomato roughly chopped (next time I will add more tomatoes). Absolutely wonderful! Made a side of steamed broccoli and we were good to go! My breading (panko) turned out really fluffy and soft and huge so next time I will make this without the breading. I am actually going to make it for friends on Saturday night again. THANKS for posting.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 27, 2010

I love pesto, so I knew I had to try this. Art, your daughter has excellent taste! I served this with spaghetti noodles tossed with more pesto and garlic and parmessan cheese. A fabulous Sunday dinner!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper March 12, 2002

So good! I used a refrigerated jarred pesto sauce, added tomatoes, artichokes, used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and served over pasta. Yum! I will definitely make this again! Even my chicken-hater husband loved it! Next time, I will probably cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces, sautee the mushrooms (I just threw them in raw) and maybe sautee some onions with the mushrooms. I was very pleased that I was able to make a chicken dish that I would be happy with if I ordered it at a restaurant--I have had trouble with drying chicken out. Not this one--moist and delicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Svetlana July 09, 2011

This is one of the best Zaar recipes I've tried and, believe me, I've tried LOTS of them! Rather than moisten the chicken breasts with water, I brushed them with some of the prepared pesto sauce (used Knorr) before rolling them in the breadcrumbs. I used fresh sauteed mushrooms instead of canned and substituted muenster cheese for provolone as that's what I had on hand. Everyone loved this dish! I'll definitely be making this often.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljh237 May 12, 2010

We love this. I pound the chicken thin then just lay in the dish (no breadcrumbs needed), use pesto from a jar (it's always in the frige), Havarti cheese, and top with either sauteed cremini mushrooms or drained marinated artichoke hearts. It's easy to make just 2 breasts for just my husband and me.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C August 16, 2009

This was fine. I was disappointed that the bread crumbs got so soggy. I like things a lot more crunchy rather than the mush. My pesto sauce mix became very liquid like so maybe next time I will try real pesto. We love pesto so it should have turned out better. First time trying the packaged pesto sauce. Not a big fan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love September 13, 2011

I used Costco's pesto (great!) added a little half & half to make creamy. Added a sprinkling of parm cheese. Everyone loved it. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest August 06, 2011

Substituted home made pesto (made by my very talented husband) and omitted the fungus and it was perfect for our family!! Everyone loved it. Even my very picky 10 year old. This has replaced fried chicken as my all time favorite way to prepare chicken. I never thought I'd say that, but it's absolutely true.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naycha January 12, 2011

This has quickly become our favorite way to do chicken breasts. I made it for the third time tonight and it is absolutely delicious. I could not find packaged pesto either and used a jar of it instead and also use the entire package of provolone, 2 slices each breast. So good and impossibly easy to prepare. This is a great beginner cook's recipe to impress friends and family with. A simple side of asiago stuffed ravioli and we ate like royalty tonight.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst December 28, 2010
Chicken Pesto