Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Pesto

    Average Rating:

    221 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 221

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2010

      So good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested - rolled the chicken in melted butter before the breadcrumbs (Panko), placed the chicken in the baking dish, covered lightly and baked for 20 min. Then I added a layer of store-bought, refrigerated pesto, then a layer of freshly sauteed mushrooms, and finally the cheese, and baked uncovered for another 20 min. Came out perfectly, and my husband loved it. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      10 stars! Wow, wow, wow. So easy and so tasty. I used the pesto packet from Aldi's. Used 3 small breasts and an 8x8 pan. Added 1 can of artichoke hearts and 1 tomato roughly chopped (next time I will add more tomatoes). Absolutely wonderful! Made a side of steamed broccoli and we were good to go! My breading (panko) turned out really fluffy and soft and huge so next time I will make this without the breading. I am actually going to make it for friends on Saturday night again. THANKS for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      I love pesto, so I knew I had to try this. Art, your daughter has excellent taste! I served this with spaghetti noodles tossed with more pesto and garlic and parmessan cheese. A fabulous Sunday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      So good! I used a refrigerated jarred pesto sauce, added tomatoes, artichokes, used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and served over pasta. Yum! I will definitely make this again! Even my chicken-hater husband loved it! Next time, I will probably cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces, sautee the mushrooms (I just threw them in raw) and maybe sautee some onions with the mushrooms. I was very pleased that I was able to make a chicken dish that I would be happy with if I ordered it at a restaurant--I have had trouble with drying chicken out. Not this one--moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This is one of the best Zaar recipes I've tried and, believe me, I've tried LOTS of them! Rather than moisten the chicken breasts with water, I brushed them with some of the prepared pesto sauce (used Knorr) before rolling them in the breadcrumbs. I used fresh sauteed mushrooms instead of canned and substituted muenster cheese for provolone as that's what I had on hand. Everyone loved this dish! I'll definitely be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      We love this. I pound the chicken thin then just lay in the dish (no breadcrumbs needed), use pesto from a jar (it's always in the frige), Havarti cheese, and top with either sauteed cremini mushrooms or drained marinated artichoke hearts. It's easy to make just 2 breasts for just my husband and me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I used Costco's pesto (great!) added a little half & half to make creamy. Added a sprinkling of parm cheese. Everyone loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Substituted home made pesto (made by my very talented husband) and omitted the fungus and it was perfect for our family!! Everyone loved it. Even my very picky 10 year old. This has replaced fried chicken as my all time favorite way to prepare chicken. I never thought I'd say that, but it's absolutely true.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This has quickly become our favorite way to do chicken breasts. I made it for the third time tonight and it is absolutely delicious. I could not find packaged pesto either and used a jar of it instead and also use the entire package of provolone, 2 slices each breast. So good and impossibly easy to prepare. This is a great beginner cook's recipe to impress friends and family with. A simple side of asiago stuffed ravioli and we ate like royalty tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      This was really delicious and so easy to make. I used prepared pesto, and it went together very quickly. This would be a great dish for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Scrumptious! What an easy yet delicious dish! My husband loved it as well. I dipped it in melted butter prior to the breadrumbs and served it with parmesan & garlic pasta. It was extremely moist. We'll make -and recommend- this dish often! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      My husband went absolutely crazy for this. I didn't serve it with pasta but had some steamed veggies on the side instead. I also put a whole piece of cheese on each piece of chicken but otherwise served as written. Next time I will try with the pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      This is by far the best chicken recipe! There is so much flavor! I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Yum! I had some leftover jarred pesto, so I was looking for recipes to use it up. This was excellent! I followed some user suggestions and dipped the chicken in butter prior to breading. Then I baked the chicken for 20 minutes before adding the pesto and cheese and baking another 20 minutes. Served with roasted potatoes. Even my picky husband had seconds! That's when I know it's a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This has it all - ease of preparation and fantastic flavor! What's not to like? I took the suggestion of Svetlana's review, using refrigerated pesto, fresh mushrooms and adding artichokes. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      This was fine. I was disappointed that the bread crumbs got so soggy. I like things a lot more crunchy rather than the mush. My pesto sauce mix became very liquid like so maybe next time I will try real pesto. We love pesto so it should have turned out better. First time trying the packaged pesto sauce. Not a big fan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Fabulous! I used panko instead of regular crumbs, all else was the same. Restaurant quality (or better)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I couldn't find a dry pesto mix so I used a little glass jar of the premade which worked well. I added canned tiny artichoke hearts which I'm glad I did because they brought an acidic note that worked really well. Some got a little browned at the tips in the oven giving a nice caramel note too. What a great and easy recipe, thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Delicious chicken. Made with homemade pesto. Put the mushrooms under the cheese. The house smells terrific while this chicken is in the oven. No surprise this recipe has so many great reviews. My whole family really loves this recipe and asked me to make again often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This is terrific. It has all the things I love. I added a bit of white wine before putting in the oven, but other then that I did not change a thing. Served with penne and mixed steamed veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.7
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    32%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 85.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 260.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 29.0 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites