25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've traveled to Hungary and many other areas of Western Europe and Spaetzle dumplings were my favorite thing ever! My grandmother also made Paprikash quite often, but usually simply used egg noodles. Putting the two together was lovely for me!
I, too, added chicken broth to give it a heartier taste, and also tweaked the recipe by adding more onion and some garlic powder, as I felt it gave it a bit of a hearty boost. Other than that, the recipe was very on point, and it brought me back to those wonderful times exploring Europe and eating the wonderful food. I did the 6 eggs in the Spaetzle, but found it a little thick still, so I added about 4 tbsp of chicken broth and it made for a batter that was just right in my book. I love recipes like this that you can customize, and make it perfect for any tastebuds! I also want to thank you for a recipe that wasn't too difficult or way too time consuming either. It really is a fabulous dish and I will be making it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelleCoquine September 12, 2012

This is heaven! Very similar to the Chicken Paprikas that I make, except I usually add a dollop of sour cream directly on the chicken when serving, rather than mixing it in the broth. I really like it this way too, it gives the broth more substance. My broth was a little weak so I added a small can of College Brand Chicken Broth to perk it up before I added the sour cream. Thanks Mark, for a wonderful meal. Brings back memories of those wonderful meals at Grandmas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot November 30, 2002

The spaetzel are wonderful. I never made 'em before, but used 6 eggs plus the sour cream suggested by a reviewer. My colander has small holes and I couldn't see sitting there with a spoon for so MANY little noodles, so I put the batter in a quart-sized storage bag, cut one of the corners off, and squeezed the batter into the broth. It worked! And I did need to fish out the first half before the second half could reach the liquid. Maybe because I only had regular paprika instead of smoked, the flavor of the broth was VERY bland, but with a very nice flavor. I did add some extra paprika, but I'll try 3T next time. I'll also salt and pepper the chicken before browning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeborahSu January 20, 2008

Mark, I fixed this for my elderly mother, who was recovering from pneumonia. Nothing tastes better then chicken soup when you aren't feeling well. Anyway, she loved it and so did the rest of us. I used a couple more eggs in the Spaetzle because I like the dough a little looser. Also, because of my mother's poor health, I left out the sour cream. I'll add it next time though for sure. Thanks a lot for your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone April 22, 2003

Great base recipe. Ive mad this twice now. The first time, I followed recipe exactly. It was good, but a bit bland. I added an extra 2 Tbs of paprika, and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew M. October 28, 2014

My Nana was hungarian and used to make this dish for us often. She always called the noodles "Nokelata" (she pronounced it nookalattha). Maybe your grandma used the word Nokedli (I've seen that used too but Nokelata is how my Nana said it). She also called this recipe as a whole "Chicken Fricassee" but not sure if they're exactly the same thing. Either way, FANTASTIC original, traditional, Hungarian recipe. Thanks so much for reconnecting me with my ancestry!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wandering1976 April 28, 2012

Wow. This is clearly a comfort dish. I almost didn't make this. The dumplings were freakin top notch. I used 6 eggs. I'm in shock. I wasn't sure how this was gonna turn out. I will make again. Maybe next time I will use chicken tenders to cut down on the fat? Thanks again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac April 11, 2012

This is what I called chicken and dumplings when I was growing up. Imaging the surprise when one of my Southern friends served me what THEY called chicken and dumplings! Many years later, I have learned to love both. This recipe is just how my mama taught me to make it--tho we do make our dumplings a bit bigger. This is all of my kids favorite recipe and one we make often. LOVE IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizabeth.walls August 25, 2010

I'm Hungarian this recipe is right on.This is the way my whole family makes chicken paprikash.The Hungarians call our dumplings "nokedli"I also add more onion,It makes the gravy a little sweeter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gale 57 August 24, 2010

This was really good! The first step took quite a while though. Yummy foodee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simba7 February 15, 2010
Chicken Paprikash With Spaetzle