Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Paprikash With Spaetzle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Paprikash With Spaetzle

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2012

      I've traveled to Hungary and many other areas of Western Europe and Spaetzle dumplings were my favorite thing ever! My grandmother also made Paprikash quite often, but usually simply used egg noodles. Putting the two together was lovely for me!
      I, too, added chicken broth to give it a heartier taste, and also tweaked the recipe by adding more onion and some garlic powder, as I felt it gave it a bit of a hearty boost. Other than that, the recipe was very on point, and it brought me back to those wonderful times exploring Europe and eating the wonderful food. I did the 6 eggs in the Spaetzle, but found it a little thick still, so I added about 4 tbsp of chicken broth and it made for a batter that was just right in my book. I love recipes like this that you can customize, and make it perfect for any tastebuds! I also want to thank you for a recipe that wasn't too difficult or way too time consuming either. It really is a fabulous dish and I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2002

      This is heaven! Very similar to the Chicken Paprikas that I make, except I usually add a dollop of sour cream directly on the chicken when serving, rather than mixing it in the broth. I really like it this way too, it gives the broth more substance. My broth was a little weak so I added a small can of College Brand Chicken Broth to perk it up before I added the sour cream. Thanks Mark, for a wonderful meal. Brings back memories of those wonderful meals at Grandmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      The spaetzel are wonderful. I never made 'em before, but used 6 eggs plus the sour cream suggested by a reviewer. My colander has small holes and I couldn't see sitting there with a spoon for so MANY little noodles, so I put the batter in a quart-sized storage bag, cut one of the corners off, and squeezed the batter into the broth. It worked! And I did need to fish out the first half before the second half could reach the liquid. Maybe because I only had regular paprika instead of smoked, the flavor of the broth was VERY bland, but with a very nice flavor. I did add some extra paprika, but I'll try 3T next time. I'll also salt and pepper the chicken before browning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Mark, I fixed this for my elderly mother, who was recovering from pneumonia. Nothing tastes better then chicken soup when you aren't feeling well. Anyway, she loved it and so did the rest of us. I used a couple more eggs in the Spaetzle because I like the dough a little looser. Also, because of my mother's poor health, I left out the sour cream. I'll add it next time though for sure. Thanks a lot for your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      My Nana was hungarian and used to make this dish for us often. She always called the noodles "Nokelata" (she pronounced it nookalattha). Maybe your grandma used the word Nokedli (I've seen that used too but Nokelata is how my Nana said it). She also called this recipe as a whole "Chicken Fricassee" but not sure if they're exactly the same thing. Either way, FANTASTIC original, traditional, Hungarian recipe. Thanks so much for reconnecting me with my ancestry!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Wow. This is clearly a comfort dish. I almost didn't make this. The dumplings were freakin top notch. I used 6 eggs. I'm in shock. I wasn't sure how this was gonna turn out. I will make again. Maybe next time I will use chicken tenders to cut down on the fat? Thanks again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      This is what I called chicken and dumplings when I was growing up. Imaging the surprise when one of my Southern friends served me what THEY called chicken and dumplings! Many years later, I have learned to love both. This recipe is just how my mama taught me to make it--tho we do make our dumplings a bit bigger. This is all of my kids favorite recipe and one we make often. LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I'm Hungarian this recipe is right on.This is the way my whole family makes chicken paprikash.The Hungarians call our dumplings "nokedli"I also add more onion,It makes the gravy a little sweeter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This was really good! The first step took quite a while though. Yummy foodee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      WOW! This is SO good! Made as directed, except I didn't make the spaetzle. The gravy is to die for! It would go over rice, noodles, taters, poured in a glass and drank through a straw! LOL. I tried to make the spaetzle, but I didn't have a deep enough pot, I used a big skillet to cook this in. And since I've never made it, I didn't know how the dough should feel, mine was really sticky. I used frozen noodle/dumplings...super delish. This is probably one of my favorite zaar recipes. Thanks for sharing. If you haven't tried this, you are really missing out. Oh, use good quality paprika, it makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Mark, this is truly awesome. It is so much like my Mom's recipe. She left it for me but unfortuneately, like most of her recipes, some of "tips and tricks" were in her head so it was never really like hers. This was amazing and brought back fond memories for me and my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was fantastic! Though I'm not from a Hungarian family (we're French/Cherokee), my mother has always loved making foods from various countries and ethnicities. When I was a kid, she used to make a Chicken Paprikash that she learned from an older Hungarian family friend, and this was just exactly how old Mrs. Csiki made it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was delish but like the others I wished I'd thickened my broth. For me it was good just the way it was but I might try to thicken it so my husband won't feel like he's eating soup. I can't wait to make this again and again because for me it's pure comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      My son is dissappointed we can't give this more stars! I've made this several times and it is a big hit at our house. My mother used to make noodles this way and she called them "rivlets" and put them in soup so I used her method and just took the ball of dough and pinched off pieces, flattening them with my thumb and finger before dropping it in the pot. Tried it with regular paprika the first time and it was good but then I purchased the smokey kind and ohh what a difference. Yum Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is exactly what my Grandma used to make & we just made for dinner a couple of nights ago! Grandma used to make "cracker crumb" noodles or rice to go with it. I noticed someone else had mentioned polachinta's. Grandma used to make them for us for breakfast with jelly or syrup and now my kids love it when I make them. Wow!! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I was always afraid to make this dish because i thought it was difficult and involved a lot of patience and hard work! This recipe changed my mind. i have made it twice now and havent screwed it up! thanks soooo much. the family loves it and i like making it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to review this! (I guess we were too busy eating it!) The chicken was absolutely yummy, and the spaetzle was perfect. It's inspired us to go out and get a spaetzle maker so we can do it more often! Thanks for posting this one, it's an absolute keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This was just wonderful. I've never heard of Chicken Paprikas and didn't have a clue what Spaetzle were. Dave raved about this one. I used broth instead of the water and a Hungarian Paprika and chicken thighs. The only change I'll make next time is to thicken the broth. Thanks Mark. Made for PAC Fall 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I love this dish. The only thing I do different is I use chicken broth instead of water. Also years ago I bought a spaetle maker. It looks like a metal cheese grater with a sliding cup. You just add the spaetzle dough into the cup and slide it back and forth over boiling water. Little dumplings fall into the boiling water. Presto -- the spaetzle are done in no time. If you make spaetzle often this little gadget is worth investing in. I am so glad I bought it. My family loves chicken paprikas. It's a real comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Great dish, Mark! My family all loved it. This is the best paprikas recipe I've tried--great sauce. You're so right about it tasting even better the next day. Next time I'll make this dish for company a day ahead and reheat as you suggested. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Paprikash With Spaetzle

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 714.7
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    47%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 227.4 mg
    75%
    Sodium 226.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites