Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Paprikash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Paprikash

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2008

      I usually find German food to be pretty boring, but I enjoyed this a lot. So much so, that we're serving it at our wedding reception. I took a reviewer's advice and tried a crock pot after browning everything in cast iron, but that took way too long (even on high), so I ended up finishing it on the BBQ with great results. Very flavorful despite the minimal additions

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This was so yummy. We loved it. I served it with spaetzle. We will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      The kids especially loved this dish. Couldn't be easier to make. I served it with some Kluski noodles. Definite comfort food. Salted and peppered the chicken before browning it. I only used half of the flour to thicken it, prolly needs more next time. Definite comfort food. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This was nice. My two kids weren't crazy about it but they did say I could make it again. We weren't wowed though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Very tasty. I did have to add some salt but other than that great. My only experience with this dish was at a restaurant. This was easy to cook and the directions were easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Awesome. We skipped the sour cream, used boneless/skinless chicken breast (about 1lb) AND served over Gemeli pasta. One of our fav dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      loved this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Delicious! I love paprika, so this is right up my alley. I served it with potatoes and also used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. Wonderfully tender and the sauce was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Just like grandma an mom used to make and so easy. I sliced a green bell pepper and added a can of mushrooms at the same time as the sour cream. Simply great over egg noodles. Can't wait to make it when the weather gets cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      This was my favorite meal as a kid and I couldn't find it as a recipe until now. Excellent. The only problem is that now instead of only eating it on my birthday I eat it every other week! If I was on the Enterprise I would download this recipe to the replicator and eat it everyday! What a dork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Excellent! I used low fat sour cream for my version which does make it a little less tasty but we don't mind. The DH grew up eating this and it's grown to be one of my top 10 favorites as well. Serve with Spaetzle #53605. Be careful not to burn the paprika when cooking onions, it will significantly affect the overall flavor of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This recipe was perfect. When I made it, it tasted exactly like it does when my mother's fiance makes it which means it must be the real thing. The chicken was juicy and tender, it was falling off the bone- very delectable. It went over very well with my husband as well. I removed all the skin before cooking it to reduce the fat and I used fat free sour cream. I know it doesn't make that much of a difference (it was still a very fatty dish) but it's better than nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I made this exactly as directed (opting to use 1/4 cup flour to thicken the sauce) and served it over spaetzle. It was very filling and I liked the sauce, but the chicken itself seemed a just slightly dry and a little bland. It was kind of like it didn't cook long enough to soak up the flavor, so maybe it would be better slow cooked in the crockpot. The sauce was excellent on the spaetzle though. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This is the closest recipe I've found to my dear grandmother's version. My family loved it, even those that think they don't like sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      It came out pretty good using drumsticks, although I didn't add more onions after doubling the recipe. I probably will next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      I made this for an international dinner at my daughter's school, and it was a huge hit! The entire family loves it (it's rare that both kids agree on a dish) and it's so easy to make. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      I made this before and it turned out lovely. This time Im using chicken breasts, cut into cubes and serving over wide egg noodles with fresh baked bread. I prefer the ease of chicken breasts and running into a missed bit of fat makes my physically ill, like nails down a chalkboard. Either way though, this dish has a wonderful flavor.... cook with the windows open or your place will smell of paprika for ages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2004

      The whole family loved this dish! I can not believe that! How often does that happen, eh? LOL I didnt change a thing in the recipe. But, silly me, forgot to add the sour cream until everyone was on their second bowls, and it just made the dish even more scrumptious! (And we had thought it was great before the sour cream). Served this with some hot sweet rolls as I didnt have egg noodles (which would have been great) or anything in the pantry to make dumplings. Grocery day is tomorrow LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      I'm also not going to rate this, because, I too, messed it up. Everything went fine, from beginning until end until I decided to thicken it, and added the entire 1/2 cup of flour, which was too much. It turned very thick and the chicken started to shred into thin, stringy pieces, as I stirred. I served this over bow tie noodles. I do want to recommend adding some salt and pepper to this, as I thought it could've had more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      GREAT. Made homemade knoefles(sp?)(noodles). I used a slow cooker and thickened with slurry. The only thing I did different was add a dash of garlic powder-yum. Thanks for the easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Paprikash

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.7
     
    Calories from Fat 448
    67%
    Total Fat 49.8 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 209.2 mg
    69%
    Sodium 729.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 46.9 g
    93%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites