15 Reviews

Looks like I've found a new paprikash recipe! This was wonderful...served with spaetzle! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn October 03, 2007

I followed this almost to the letter. I used twice as much pepper with the flour and added some fresh garlic to the onion. When it was done and I tasted it it seemed kind of bitter and slightly bland. I ended up adding a little onion powder, pepper and about 1/2 tsp sugar. This helped a little, but not enough. My husband seemed to like it, but he'll eat anything I put on top of spaetzle! The chicken was very tender. After a little more tweaking I may try this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 February 21, 2008

Easy to make and the chicken was moist and tender once I finally got it to cook through. Mine took about twice as long as the recipe stated. I added 1/2 tsp salt to the chicken and sauteed 1 cup fresh mushrooms and 1 tsp minced garlic with the onions, but other than that made as directed and it was good. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle May 10, 2007

I hate to be the voice of dissent, but this really didn't do it for us. I expected otherwise--we love stroganoff and other east European foods, and I love paprika with chicken. It wasn't even the blandness of the recipe (it was still pretty bland even with extra paprika added to it). We just didn't like the flavors of . I made it pretty much as written, with the addition of a small can of sliced mushrooms and subbing canola oil for butter. Since we didn't like it at all, I doubt I'll try to tweak it even. Thanks anyway, Laurie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve August 22, 2006

This was great! I included mushrooms as well, and cut the chicken breasts up into smaller pieces so that they would be sure to cook through. We'll definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paramela May 08, 2006

Excellent recipe. I doubled the sauce ingredients and added mushrooms as other reviewers did. The end result was a delicious dish packed with flavour. My husband really enjoyed this as well. I did add some salt. I served this with noodles and cabbage for a really tasty meal! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr March 23, 2006

This was excellent! and quick to make. I did add garlic and hot Hungarian paprika to the dish, as we like our meals spicy - otherwise it was a perfect meal. Thanks for posting, this is definetly a keeper, I wish I could give it more that 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendyinGermany March 13, 2006

This was so delicous! I made it for my sister and her husband and they raved about it for days. I did add some hot sauce as mentioned by others. I cooked it slowly for several hours and then added quartered Grands Biscuits to the top of it after it was finished. I covered the pot and let the biscuits simmer for 1/2 an hour. This made a fluffy delicous dumpling that soaked up the flavor. I will make this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FebDeb November 17, 2005

This was totally packed with flavor and was so good! This recipe has been tweaked and fine tuned to perfection. I used an extra teaspoon of freshly ground Paprika (from Morocco!) in the flour mixture. I followed all of Rita L's suggestions/directions up to the point where the chicken broth and sour cream was added - I removed the chicken for that part. I also did as a few reviewers stated and added mushrooms (Baby Portabella) - This made the sauce really tasty!!! The chicken was tender and flavorful as well as a beautiful deep red and the sauce was dandy!!! Thanks LAURIE!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper November 04, 2005

I only had Spanish Paprika. I think that made a big difference in this dish. I will have to go back and try it again when I get some Sweet Hungarian Paprika.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience November 04, 2005
Chicken Paprikash