Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Paprika (Paprikás Csirke) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Paprika (Paprikás Csirke)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2012

      This is absolutely wonderful - so delicious and very quick and easy to prepare. I have made this maybe a hundred times over the years, and my family never tires of it. If I could contribute just a few small tweaks: do use a large onion, and slice it so it remains in rings. If you sprinkle the chicken with some flour seasoned with black or white pepper before browning it will definitely enhance the flavour. So that the chicken doesn't stew and boil before it browns, you may want to use a large open frying pan, not crowding it too much. Add the garlic to the pan just before the chicken is finished so the garlic doesn't brown too much and get bitter. For convenience I like to throw in a whole can of purchased chicken broth and an equal quantity of sour cream because my family really loves the gravy. And you can very comfortably increase the amount of chicken to your own requirement without compromising the integrity of this fantastic dish. Whether you choose the regular paprika or the smoked Hungarian type, make sure it is fresh because it really does make a world of difference. If you plan to make this ahead of time, I have found that it's much better not to add the sour cream until the chicken is reheated first. This will maintain the smooth creaminess of the gravy, as will not boiling it after adding the sour cream. This is such a scrumptious dish, and the completed dish is a magnificent colour that is so appealing. I made this as a very novice cook for my first dinner party 30 years ago, serving it over noodles on my fanciest platter and what a winner it was then, and what a winner it remains today. Thank you very very much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This dish is so hearty and will really warm you up in the winter. The recipe is simple and requires ingredients that you probably have laying around. In addition, it's easy to make it healthier by substituting skinless chicken and low fat sour cream- none of the taste is sacrificed! I've also found that using smoked paprika adds to the flavor. This is a comforting, flavorful, and easy recipe that you will revisit as the air cools and fall turns into winter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      While I thought this was a tasty and easy-to-make dish, hubby did not like it at all. I used boneless skinless chicken breast, so I'm sure that made the dish more bland than it would have been with skin-on or bone-in chicken. The flavor is otherwise pretty bland. I used more garlic than the recipe called for (because I like it) but could have used even more. I also put in quite a lot of pepper. It could have taken even more easily. If I make this again, I might try smoked paprika, but it will have to be a time when hubby isn't around. (He requested that I don't make this again.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      Easy and so yummy! I'm always hunting for easy chicken dishes. This one perfectly fit the bill :) In place of the sour creme or crème fraîche I used greek sheep yoghurt. For the flour I used 1 tablespoon sweet rice flour and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. Worked excellent and really tasted wonderful. Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for the Cook-A-Thon in memory of Gideon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Excellent Zurie! I made some creme fraiche for this receipe and took this to a church meeting. Everybody loved it. I put a layer of brown rice in a 9" x 13" casserole dish and poured the chicken and sauce over the rice. I'll make this again.<br/>Red

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      My son and I made this dish this snowy evening. I used boneless, skinless chicken cause it's what I had. My son liked his with a lot of pepper. We had it with rice and it was a nice compliment to the chicken and the sauce. Thank you Zuri for sharing. Next time I will use chicken on the bone with the skin :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I thought this was very good, but my husband found it to be bland. I used one whole chicken, cut up, and made it almost exactly as described but left out the onion due to allergies. Somehow, one cup of stock added to the pot turned into four cups of sauce; it took some time simmering it down to bring it to the right consistency. Might add a little more flour next time.

      I served with mashed potatoes, and liked the gravy over the potatoes. Here, too, I thought it was good but dh thought it was bland.

      I'll probably make this again, but add some spice to align it more with my dh's tastes. I do think this recipe would make a good company dinner, especially if you don't know the company's tastes well - as the description states, it's very inoffensive and I think most people would enjoy it even if they might not be WOW'ed by it. It's pretty and looks like something you slaved all day over. It comes together pretty quickly, though. All in all, a very good meal. Thank you, Zurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I don't know why I didn't review this until now.I've been making this recipe for three years and passed it on to my sister and my mom.Garlic is a must! I liked it over thick noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This is a terrific dish Zurie. My dh & I enjoyed it very much. The flavor was excellent, the chicken was moist and tender with an absolutely delicious sauce. I didn't change a thing and loved how quick and easy this was to make. I used thigh meat, it worked really well. Thanks so much for sharing this treasure. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      A winner for the farm! *Here ye here ye* a proclamation to be sounded through the hollow and into the valley below. "This is an amazing, zippy, smooth, and mouth-watering dish that will make you so happy you will do a jig with the cute, fat, neighboring pig!" I didn't change anything. It was so flavorful and so darn easy, you would of thought you made it in your sleep. Oh wait! I did change one thing. I got the healthy boneless-skinless chicken breasts, (thought I had bought chicken thighs) I wasn't sure what I was going to do with them since I had it, and decided this would make a wonderful use of such. That's it. The only change. Added some nice ground pepper to the top, and danced the jig with the neighboring pig! Thanks so much....will make often. Made for *French Country Herb Spice Month Paprika* March 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Hi Zurie This recipe went together very easily. I used boneless skinless thighs, my chicken parts of choice. following other readers suggestions, I added extra garlic and onion and the pepper as well. Both DH and I still found it quite bland. I sprinkled on some lime juice powder and that brightened it up considerably. Thanks for a new dish to try. Judy in WA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This got mixed reviews at my house. I followed the recipe as written other then I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I liked it but hubby thought it lacked in flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Delicious! I also used smoked sweet paprika and added in some sliced, cooked sweet red & orange peppers and mushrooms. No problems with the sauce. Tried it with chicken drumsticks this time but will probably try with boneless chicken next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Loved this recipe, just got done cooking it for supper. It was very tasty and simple to make, I used half chicken thighs and half skinless boneless chicken breast. It was very delicious would recommend it to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Fantastic recipe, reminds me of our trip to Budapest. Very Tasty! Used smoked paprika from Hungary & I used Half sour Cream & Half plain yoghurt to give it more of a tang! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Everyone loved this! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and sour cream with a little Greek yogurt. I served it over egg noodles mixed with fusili. The only change I will make next time is to increase the sauce ingredients. Thank you Zurie for this wonderful recipe. Reviewed by a Chic Chef for ZWT 4 E. Europe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      5 stars all the way, Zurie!!! I'm so glad this recipe was added for the tour!! My hubby had never had a "paprika dish" before, and he LOVED it! I did simplify the directions just a bit, though. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cooked them (cut up) in the pot with the garlic and onions. There wasn't any excess juice/fat to drain, so added the paprika, then the broth, right to it. Simmered as written for 20 minutes. Then added the sour cream and flour (stirred together in a bowl first) to the pot in dollops, and simmered further, stirring to mix well and then thicken. I preferred it a bit thicker, so at the end, I added about 1 1/2 Tbl. cornstarch mixed with equal parts cold water to it, and thickened it a bit more. It was wonderful!! Served over dumpling egg noodles. Oh, and also had some sliced mushrooms left over from something, and those got added, too! Thanks so much!!! Made for the ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This was very good and very easy to make. I used 2 chicken thighs instead of breasts. It has a nice flavor. I only had 1 1/2 tbsp of paprika but it was still good. I had it with my Garlic Butter Rice. It was a great combination. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks sister gypsy for sharing your recipe. Made for ZWT 4 Eastern Europe and the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This was very easy to make and so yummy. I used boneless skinless chicken breast and fried them in olive oil. I had no chicken stock so I added a cup of water and 2 chicken bullion cubes. The gravy had a lovely reddish brown color to it. I made this for *Zaar World Tour 4* 2008 for Eastern European. I'm playing on the team *Tastebud Tickling Travelers* Got to love ZWT4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Great chicken. Very like one we make except this one is down on paper. These simple ingredients made for a flavorful and satisfying family supper. Thank you Zurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Paprika (Paprikás Csirke)

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 895.1
     
    Calories from Fat 572
    64%
    Total Fat 63.6 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 285.0 mg
    95%
    Sodium 475.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 67.2 g
    134%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes