Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Packets (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Packets (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2008

      I made these after reading the reviews, many which said they needed something more. I think chicken and cream cheese are each somewhat bland, unless you get a flavored cream cheese like garlic and onion, as someone suggested in their review. Rather than change the cream cheese, I changed the meat. Instead of chicken, I used half ground beef and half ground Italian sausage (I used the spicy sausage). They were unbelievably good! I made them for dinner last night and served them with a salad to make up for the lack of veggies...my family couldn't get enough - even my 6 year-old stepson (who made sure I give the recipe to his mom...he kept checking to make sure I had e-mailed her with it)! I wish I could make them again tonight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      I'm giving this four stars because while I don't think it delivers enough on its own, it certainly is versatile. I halved the recipe for just me and DH and I still had some left over. DH said, "It's interesting; I'm not sure I like it, and yet, I can't stop eating it." The fact that he ate it at all is a big deal, as he is very picky. Still, it was a bit plain for our tastes; I might like trying sautéed onion next time, or veggies (at least in mine), also, maybe some cheddar cheese added to the mix. I love the idea of individual packets, though. Overall, it was pretty good, just not good enough to make our regular nightly recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Was very good and tasty! I will be making this again for sure! Might try adding some vegetables next time. We had none left over and even my picky 12 year old son ate 2! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      These are great! I added some frozen peas and carrots, cooked the chicken in garlic and olive oil, and added some seasoning salt to the chicken mixture. The veggies probably added some extra moisture, which made the texture more like chicken pot pie than something that can be eaten without utensils. I also used lowfat cream cheese to reduce the fat a little. None of this seemed to make a difference, as we really enjoyed them. I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Made these last night. I used 2 C chicken and only 3 oz. cream cheese but added a squirt of real mayonaise. I added 1/2 piece of string cheese to each packet - it needed to be used and added a nice dimension. I also found that if I rolled the packet in my hands after filling it, it helped seal the edges and perforations in the dough. Even with the cheese in there, not a single 'blow-out' in the oven. My family of 3 had 4 last night and 4 more are in the freezer. Gotta love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I make these about twice a month, But I always halve the recipe, and I dont put anything in the freezer. I change it somewhat, I put in 1/2 -1/4 cup frozen vegetables, to make it like a pot-pie. and I always use the chive cream cheese. Great family meal, filling and tastes really good. A good change up on friday night pizza! Thanks for the interesting recipe! I have already given it to my mom. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      So good and easy to make. I had enough to feed us for dinner and then I've got another batch frozen. I also added 1t of cayenne pepper and it had the perfect zing to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I was excited about making these, then i realized I lacked milk, crouton, and chives. So I made an entirely different packet - Chicken, bacon, ranch, cheese and breadcumbs instead of croutons. It was delicious, but I'll have to put an update. I think the idea of using the crescent roll dough is FANTASTIC though!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      My kids really loved these, but I found them just a tad bland--I wouldn't mind jazzing them up a bit with more seasoning. They were very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      YUMMY! Five stars--no doubt! I loved these. DH said he'd halve the cream cheese but I'm a cream cheese freak, so it STAYS! :) I also added 1 c. frozen chopped broccoli (nuked 45 sec), a sprinkle of cheddar, and a tiny shake of dry minced onions (used no chives). Oh and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk (to use it up from another recipe). I'm curious to see how it reheats...but they smelled heavenly and tasted sinful the first time around. Note: I used generic crescents no prob and 3 cans of cooked Tyson chicken cause I don't "do" chicken. Great recipe. UPDATE: I WAS SERIOUSLY CONCERNED ABOUT REHEATING THIS THE NEXT DAY AFTER IT BEING IN THE FRIDGE. I NUKED IT 1 MIN AND IT WAS ALL SOGGY AND NASTY FEELING. SO I POPPED IT IN THE TOASTER OVEN ON 300 DEG. FOR A FEW MINUTES AND IT CAME OUT NICE AND GOLDEN AND CRISPY AGAIN! YAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I thought this sounded great. I don't know if I did something wrong, but mine were very bland. I used a 8oz package of cream cheese. The kids thought they were Okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I loved the filling. I did not have chives, so I added parsley, onion powder, garlic salt and pepper. Like Leslie I don't think I crushed up the croutons enough because I ran out and it was a little too crunchy for my liking. I doubled the recipe amd had extra chicken mix so I froze it to use later. Thank you Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Oh my goodness! These were delicious. I loved them, as did the rest of my family. I was asked to make them again soon. Thank you for these wonderful packets.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      DH really loved these. I am going to play with it a bit to see if I can make it semi healthy. I also used some of the filling and put it in corn tortillas for taquitos. These did not last very long in our house, they were a huge hit! Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      DH said "these are a keeper!" and I totally agree! I did use a full 8oz cream cheese, and added to the chicken/cheese mix: Sour cream, italian spices, and seasoned salt... also added 2 celery stalks, 2 cloves garlic, and 2 onion slices, all sauteed. I then added some cayenne pepper and 1/4 cup parmesean cheese to the crouton mixture. I was going to use Ritz crackers as the crust but I'm so glad I used croutons... it was the best crust I'd ever tasted. I raved about the crust and and DH absolutely loved the creamy middle. These puff up nice and pretty and they are extremely filling. Half this recipe for 2 people! We ended up with lots of leftovers but they are already getting snatched up as we speak! Thanks for the wonderful recipe and I can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I was skeptical seeing the small rectangles of dough, I had to fill these, fold, and press? They looked like mini hot pockets. But, after baking, they expanded a bit, and they looked very appetizing. My children loved them so much, they barely could wait until they cooled down! They are definitely a keeper! Thanks Tish! EDIT: When I made these, I used the 3 oz of cream cheese, not 8 oz. I also noticed that some of the reviews said that these were somewhat bland. If they seem to taste a bit plain, try using 3 oz cream cheese. We all loved them using the original recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

    • on December 06, 2007

      2 thumbs up!! Better than I thought it would be!!! It seemed too simple to be as tasty as it was. My husband loved them! I seasoned the chicken w/garlic and italian seasoning, cooked until done in a little EVOO and then added it straight to the cream cheese. The warm chicken made it easy to mix together. Used garlic & Cheese flavored croûtons. YUMMMMMY! Baked to a perfect golden brown. Simple, easy, fast, and the whole family loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      wow! this was perfect, easy, fast. i wasn't sure that my bf would like this b/c it seems too simple to be good. i've made them twice since the first time and they have not made it to the freezer. i also made some filled with pizza sauce, ricotta and mozarella cheese - but they were not as good as yours. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I was looking for a recipe for using up some of the leftover Thanksgiving turkey, and discovered I had this recipe saved. It was fairly quick to put together, and fantastic tasting! I added garlic powder and salt and pepper to the filling, based on a few reviews that said it was too bland. It was just perfect! DH threatened to start eating them out of the oven before they were done, and the kids (ages 8, 5 and 4) gobbled them up! This one's going in our favorites! Thanks, Tish! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Packets (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.2
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    43%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 78.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 417.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites