160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to sub a lot of ingredients but the basics are the same. I tasted the mix as I went along and this is what I ended up with - 1/2 of a rotisserie chicken, 3 oz of neufchatel cheese, 1 small can of green chilies, a little less than 1 tbsp onion powder, and a sprinle of shredded sharp cheddar, 1/4 cup of broccoli chopped, and reduced fat crescent rolls. And I used cooking spray and seasoned bread crumbs instead of margarine and croutons. This was so fantastic. Next time I am going to try using crab meat and adding more veggies. I think this would also be good using all veggie and no meat. If you are making this for the first time I would go light on the cream cheese at first then add more to taste. And make sure you either season the chicken as you cook it or add some herbs to the mix. So so so very good. I love recipes like this that can be changed up a million ways.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly J. October 08, 2009

This is a FANTASTIC recipe! It taste absolutely delicious, and it's easy to eat..and pretty easy to make. Only draw back is the preperation. It can be a bit time consuming. I have one of those hand held, electric dicers, so I cut the chicken into chunks and made it into chicken crumbs. lol But it worked wonderfully and this is now my FAVORITE recipe. Thank you SOOO much for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal February 27, 2003

I have the Once A Month Cooking cookbook and this is probably our favorite recipe from it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueberry February 10, 2003

Wow! My guests loved these! I truly made them ahead- I even wrapped and baked them as specified, but removed them from the oven while just lightly browned. I cooled and froze them; the day of the party I thawed them in the fridge, then baked at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. (I wanted finger food, so I made little packets- using one triangle of dough for each.) They got hot all the way through and were nicely crisp like fresh croissants! As per other reviews, I used 8oz. chive cream cheese and 3-4 cups chicken. This was the perfect amount for 3 tubes of croissants. I added a few spices to increase the flavor. Very delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn September 28, 2011

Absolutely delicious! Everyone at my table liked it, from 5yrs old to 46 :) On the ingredient list it says a 3oz package of cream cheese - I used 8 oz. I'm not sure if that was a mistake or not. In any case this was a definate winner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Talbot March 05, 2003

These were great! I did change a few things. First I used ground chicken added 3 cloves minced garlic, and s&p when I cooked the chicken breasts. To the cream cheese I added, to taste, Buttermilk Ranch seasoning from Penzeys spices. I did coat the outside with melted butter and sprinkled panko bread crumbs on top. All in all they turned out great. My Tim and teenage kids loved them. We had the leftovers the next day heated up in the microwave. I would use the oven or toaster oven next time to reheat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook December 11, 2010

These little guys are so easy and SO good! I made them for Girls' Night and my friends loved them. My husband also loves them! Just be sure not to get the 10 oz pkgs of crescent dough, because there are only 6 rolls instead of 8 and there is just too much roll. Some of my first batch turned out doughy. If you aren't going to follow a recipe exactly- do a trial run first! They are also good if you forgo the croutons.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenCovington August 24, 2010

A hit with my two picky boys! I often make meals for them, thinking "this sounds really tasty, they'll love it!"...yet they don't. This is an exception, and I'll definitely be making it again. The boys (2 & 4) wanted seconds, a rarity, unless I've made macaroni and cheese from a box.
I had no croutons so made my own crumb mix with bread crumbs, Panko bread crumbs, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese. I'll make a bit more next time, as the amount called for wasn't enough, I ran out. Also I used a basting brush to apply real butter, as dipping filled raw pastry is just not easy. The packets were stretching out, so basting was the way to go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkerplink Mama February 15, 2013

This recipe worked and had a pretty presentation, but we found it just not as tasty as I thought it should be. The dough was pretty bready and the interior was not as flavorful as I'd hoped. Sorry, I see I am in the minority.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef November 03, 2012

I've made this several times and it's great! I've used crescent rolls, I've made my own dough and wrapped them up and I've also made a pizza out of it. Fantastic! We also add a bit of garlic and basil in with it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 27, 2011
Chicken Packets (Oamc)