Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Packets (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Packets (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2009

      I had to sub a lot of ingredients but the basics are the same. I tasted the mix as I went along and this is what I ended up with - 1/2 of a rotisserie chicken, 3 oz of neufchatel cheese, 1 small can of green chilies, a little less than 1 tbsp onion powder, and a sprinle of shredded sharp cheddar, 1/4 cup of broccoli chopped, and reduced fat crescent rolls. And I used cooking spray and seasoned bread crumbs instead of margarine and croutons. This was so fantastic. Next time I am going to try using crab meat and adding more veggies. I think this would also be good using all veggie and no meat. If you are making this for the first time I would go light on the cream cheese at first then add more to taste. And make sure you either season the chicken as you cook it or add some herbs to the mix. So so so very good. I love recipes like this that can be changed up a million ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      This is a FANTASTIC recipe! It taste absolutely delicious, and it's easy to eat..and pretty easy to make. Only draw back is the preperation. It can be a bit time consuming. I have one of those hand held, electric dicers, so I cut the chicken into chunks and made it into chicken crumbs. lol But it worked wonderfully and this is now my FAVORITE recipe. Thank you SOOO much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      I have the Once A Month Cooking cookbook and this is probably our favorite recipe from it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Wow! My guests loved these! I truly made them ahead- I even wrapped and baked them as specified, but removed them from the oven while just lightly browned. I cooled and froze them; the day of the party I thawed them in the fridge, then baked at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. (I wanted finger food, so I made little packets- using one triangle of dough for each.) They got hot all the way through and were nicely crisp like fresh croissants! As per other reviews, I used 8oz. chive cream cheese and 3-4 cups chicken. This was the perfect amount for 3 tubes of croissants. I added a few spices to increase the flavor. Very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! Everyone at my table liked it, from 5yrs old to 46 :) On the ingredient list it says a 3oz package of cream cheese - I used 8 oz. I'm not sure if that was a mistake or not. In any case this was a definate winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      These were great! I did change a few things. First I used ground chicken added 3 cloves minced garlic, and s&p when I cooked the chicken breasts. To the cream cheese I added, to taste, Buttermilk Ranch seasoning from Penzeys spices. I did coat the outside with melted butter and sprinkled panko bread crumbs on top. All in all they turned out great. My Tim and teenage kids loved them. We had the leftovers the next day heated up in the microwave. I would use the oven or toaster oven next time to reheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      These little guys are so easy and SO good! I made them for Girls' Night and my friends loved them. My husband also loves them! Just be sure not to get the 10 oz pkgs of crescent dough, because there are only 6 rolls instead of 8 and there is just too much roll. Some of my first batch turned out doughy. If you aren't going to follow a recipe exactly- do a trial run first! They are also good if you forgo the croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      A hit with my two picky boys! I often make meals for them, thinking "this sounds really tasty, they'll love it!"...yet they don't. This is an exception, and I'll definitely be making it again. The boys (2 & 4) wanted seconds, a rarity, unless I've made macaroni and cheese from a box.
      I had no croutons so made my own crumb mix with bread crumbs, Panko bread crumbs, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese. I'll make a bit more next time, as the amount called for wasn't enough, I ran out. Also I used a basting brush to apply real butter, as dipping filled raw pastry is just not easy. The packets were stretching out, so basting was the way to go.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      The Once A Month cookbook actually says 3 ounces of cream cheese. Everyone that I have served these for has loved them and requested the recipe. But the recipe alone is missing something. The first time I made these my husband and I thought they were good, but they were missing something. My husband suggested the white cheese dip from our local Mexican restaurant. Next time we tried it and THAT was it! You have to serve these with white cheese dip. They are yummy. Very much a comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      One thing that I love about these kinds of recipes is that they are easy to play around with and change up. If you find this specific recipe too bland, I'd suggest using garden and herb cream cheese instead of plain. I really thought it added great flavor. And don't quote me on that - that was my sis-in-law's idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      These were easy to make, and I liked the idea of croutons as a coating. However, we found them bland. My husband and I both agreed they needed a sauce or a dip or something. I will agree with other reviewers that they're easily portable - I took one for lunch the next day and ate at room temp. One really bright spot was that my 2 year old really liked it and was able to hold it and feed herself. In summary, they were fine, but I probably won't make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      These were good but a little bland as others have stated. I will make them again but add a little seasoning and maybe some cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      I thought this was pretty good. My husband thought so, too. The best part was my husband, who never cooks, was able to make this on a night that I couldn't cook. :) Yippy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Yum! I served these with soup for a quick after church meal. I made 16 small filled triangles instead of 8 large squares. This would be perfect thing to make to use up any leftover chicken or turkey after Thanksgiving or Christmas. the only problem with this recipe is that they taste too good!(I am really trying to WATCH how much I eat and I SAW myself eating way too many of these!!) Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      My fussy 7 year old, who won't eat anything unless it's pizza or McDonalds, ate 3 of these! I am going to have a constant supply of these around. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Another winner in my house. I like the crutons Gives them good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      These are fantastic with 8oz. cream cheese, fresh from the garden chives, and topped with chicken gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      This recipe worked and had a pretty presentation, but we found it just not as tasty as I thought it should be. The dough was pretty bready and the interior was not as flavorful as I'd hoped. Sorry, I see I am in the minority.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      I made these for dinner tonight and didn't read any of the reviews first. While they were good I'm going to try some of the suggestions listed here to make these really great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I've made this several times and it's great! I've used crescent rolls, I've made my own dough and wrapped them up and I've also made a pizza out of it. Fantastic! We also add a bit of garlic and basil in with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Packets (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.2
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    43%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 78.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 417.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites