Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken or Turkey Breast Lunchmeat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken or Turkey Breast Lunchmeat

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2003

      PS -- this is a life saver for me! I have been looking everywhere for lunchmeat that doesn't have sugar or starchy fillers in it, and I thought it would come to the fact that I would have to make my own. I've done this several times already, and each time I love the recipe more and more. Instead of lining the loaf pan with foil I use parchment paper and spray it with some olive oil. I've done this with both chicken and turkey breast, as well as with beef. I also have started adding some chopped onion and red pepper into the mix, it makes a very colorful slice. Once I make the loaf I slice it up into individual pieces and put them straight into the freezer. To thaw them out I just take out the number of pieces I need and then just lightly fry them in some olive oil before serving them with a salad. My kids like them in a sandwich, but I don't have mine with bread. PS -- this must be one of the most useful recipes I've come across here at Zaar in a long time! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Oh my goodness PS, this loaf was amazing, I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!..it was so good. I doubled the recipe, and used half chicken and half turkey, flavored it with fresh garlic, seasoning salt and fresh ground black pepper, I also added a couple Tbsp BBQ sauce to the mixture, I baked it, cooled it, then put it in the fridge overnight, I sliced some up to try this morning and wow, this is so great, my son had a taste, and said that this is what he wants for his lunch every day, he loved it, and so did my DH...it is so much cheaper and better than those expensive salty store-bought cold cuts, at least you know what goes in it, this is a wonderful idea, I will be making this on a regular basis...thanks you so much Peaceful for an outstanding recipe, I recommend this to everyone :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      What a great recipe! This is terrific-no nasty preservatives, sodium, nitrates, etc. It slices beautifully and tastes delicious. I made chicken (1/2 breast, 1/2 thigh meat) with poultry seasoning and can't wait to try cajun seasoning next time. Maybe a little liquid smoke? The possibilities are endless. No more $6.99/pound cold cuts. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      This does work reasonably well, though as a recipe, it could have included more detail. Also, as a first-time attempt, 3 pounds of chicken breast was quite a lot to manage. I couldn't understand the reference to a "small loaf pan", since I was sure 3 pounds of meat would need quite a large pan. Perhaps it would be easier to understand if this were changed to "small loaf pans." I actually used one quite large, but narrow, loaf pan, piling the meat up in the center. It took about 1 hour and 40 minutes to cook through. I added salt and some pepper and put red pepper on the bottom of the pan. I can understand that making a batch this size could be convenient, but do recommend that people trying first, halve this recipe or even make only one third. I needed to grind the meat (I was using frozen meat that I chopped up) in the food processor in batches, and did find the finished amount rather unwieldy. I will try this again, with smaller quantities, and more thoughtful seasoning. I now have a lot (A LOT!) of quite pleasant sandwich meat. Thank you very much for sharing this idea with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Excellent! Thanks! I made mine from turkey breast meat. Ground it up on the coarse setting of my meat grinder instead of pulsing it. It took 2 hours to reach 180F baking at 350F. Will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      If Kittencal likes then I know I will. Can't wait to try this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      OH BOY!! No more deli stuff for us! I am going to do this with pork and beef also. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I was looking for an alternative to all the cold cuts my BF loves to buy for sandwiches. This was a wonderful recipe for a moist, flavorful lunchmeat. I used ground turkey and added a little cajun spice. I used mini loaf pans to cook and was so surprised at how easily they sliced up without crumbling! Thank you so much for a truly delicious substitute for all those pre packaged cold cuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I love this recipe. I can't believe how simple it was to make something that is so tasty and so good for you. Good bye deli meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken or Turkey Breast Lunchmeat

    Serving Size: 1 (1432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 792.3
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    47%
    Total Fat 42.0 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 290.5 mg
    96%
    Sodium 322.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 97.0 g
    194%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites