21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe, easy and not overly rich. Hubby and daughter loved it. I added more mushrooms and an half a cup peas and carrots.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjie501 March 29, 2002

This was delicious!! I made it after getting home from work and it was easy and quick - perfect after being gone all day. And my family loved it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugs32 January 13, 2003

This was great! I added fresh mushrooms, and used biscuits to serve them with. I felt like the quality of the chicken bouillon I used really boosted this dish. My husband thanks you! Edit* I have begun using 4 T butter, 1/3 c flour, and 2 1/2 c milk, omitting the water, for a creamier consistency. You just have to add the milk slowly and keep stirring til it thickens. It really goes well with this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenPo July 12, 2007

Very tasty and easy to make on a (work)weeknight. I like that you don't have to have chicken broth on hand. My kids really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne Norfolk July 01, 2003

OHHHHH, SOOO GOOOD!!!! This was a great way to use up leftover turkey from Thanksgiving!!! I didn't have the pimento, but I added about 1 cup of leftover mixed veggies when I added the mushrooms and turkey. Served over toast...WONDERFUL!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe:) ~Manda

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda December 01, 2002

It was good, but I felt it was bland. I used turkey and followed the recipe exactly as written. In future I would spice this up by adding a bit of onion, and maybe some sage or poultry seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 22, 2014

I came across this recipe by accident, and am so happy I did! Having never heard of Chicken a la king before, I did research and discovered that the original recipe called for Sherry wine (which makes sense as some other reviewers called the dish bland without out it). I followed the directions with the addition of 1/4 cup of Sherry and it came out delicious (a rare word for my husband to use with food). I also dislike pimentos with a passion, but this recipe makes them shine! I roasted a fresh red pepper rather than using canned, which might have made a difference. Thank you Karen for the lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sta12s July 08, 2012

Made this for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game and used leftover chicken...yummy. I did mince some onion, celery, garlic, red pepper (for the pimento) and added a few more mushrooms (sauteed them) then added the mixture along with the peas and the chicken to the broth mixture...DH could only yum! Served over rice and a German Tomato Salad#141122 along with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 07, 2011

Thanks for a great way to use leftover turkey. Like others I also used frozen peas with a splash of Worcestershire sauce and I also added Rosemary Herb Seasoning Mix from Pampered Chef (only because I season almost everything with this spice). I served over homemade biscuits and topped it with chow mein noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila in Alaska December 01, 2008

My family really liked this recipe. We left out the mushrooms and used better than bullion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose December 25, 2007
Chicken (Or Turkey) a La King