36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I choose this recipe as I have been making one very similiar for years and I knew it would be a big hit with the family. There is nothing like making your own noodles. The results are between a dumpling & a noodle and is so hearty. I cut my onion in half to add flavor but then disgarded it as my family is very picky! I also used some chicken stock that I had frozen. This is so very good and a great way to warm the bones and fight off the cold. You done good Kevin!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher January 26, 2003

Only my second attempt at chicken noodle soup and it was very good. I used leftover chicken that had been seasoned with basil, thyme and oregano so I'm thinking the recipe as-is may need some additional seasoning. Since I was using leftovers, I substituted chicken broth (2 cans) for some of the water. I will definitely make this recipe again but spice it up a little!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwlukes January 22, 2009

This was a great chicken noodle soup. It was my first attempt at making my own noodles. I added carrots & celery, used boneless chicken breast cut up in cubes. I didn't add the butter to omit some of the extra fat my family enjoyed this. I will make this again! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiBigMouth January 11, 2009

I enjoyed this easy chicken noodle soup recipe. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts as that is what I had on hand. I used a half-half mix of white flour and whole wheat flour for the noodles. I liked how this turned out overall, the wheat noodles were actually really tasty and made it a heartier meal as well. I think next time however I will throw some veggies in such as carrots and celery to make it a more wholesome meal. Thats the only thing I felt this recipe was lacking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan January 26, 2008

My family absolutely loved this soup. I did change a few things...added some celery and some boullion. I used chicken breasts on the bone and used only 2/3 of the dough for the noodles, it yeilded the perfect amount. Overall we loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle Corbett November 26, 2007

I chose this recipe because I had chicken breasts that were not cooked yet, and I liked that this recipe allowed for that. I had never made homemade noodles before, but after reading the reviews I thought I would give it a try. I was confused by the directions about making a "well" in the flour, so I looked for another recipe for noodles to see if it had clearer directions. I ended up using 1 cup flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 beaten egg, and 1 tsp olive oil- mixed it all up in a bowl, then kneaded on a board for 2-3 minutes, wrapped it in plastic and let it rest for 25 minutes. After that I followed the instructions for this recipe-rolled it out as thin as possible and sliced with a pizza cutter. The noodles and the soup were wonderful! Also, there were plenty of noodles for me with just 1 cup of flour. I also added carrots to the soup after I shredded the chicken. This soup has a great taste! I'll definitely make it again. I couldn't give it 5 stars because I didn't exactly use the noodle recipe here. I think there are probably too many noodles in this recipe as written. Also, I did have to add some chicken broth near the end because of all of the evaporation. Anyway, it's a good recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellimacleo November 12, 2007

Fabulous! I've made this soup a few times now. One short cut: I use the meat from a rotiserrie chicken and use homemade broth I have on hand (I eyeball the amount)so that I can concentrate on the noodle-making--my favorite part. I let carrots, celery, and onion simmer in the broth, and then add the noodles, throwing in the chicken last. I usually half the amount of noodles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefLizD October 22, 2006

The first time I made the mistake of letting the soup boil to high, so too much evaporated and I like to have plenty of broth. The recipe made a whole lot of noodles for the soup, so I ended up making less the second time. One thing that I added the second time was a couple of dashes of soy sauce and a couple tablespoons of white vinegar. I know it sounds strange, but you have to try it in chicken soups before you judge! It really adds alot of extra flavor. Thank you so much for the excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmy from Texas December 21, 2004

With a winter storm approaching, I set out to find a comfort dinner to warm the family, and this is what I chose. It was simple and delicious. As the snow was falling the family sat down and enjoyed this. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore December 22, 2013

Oh WOW! I had never made my own noodles before but I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out awesome! I've made this recipe twice now and both times it was wonderful! Thank you! This is better than my grandma's!...........sorry, grandma :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FarmerWife January 07, 2010
Chicken Noodle Soup