438 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmmmm...thanks for posting! The only change I made was to cook 4 chicken thighs in the stock before adding the other ingredients. If you do it, be sure and cut the bones in the thighs in half so that the marrow releases into the stock. Simmer the thighs an hour and remove the pieces to let them cool before picking the meat from them. I also substituted garlic infused olive oil for the butter when cooking the carrots and celery.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy & Scott Saunders February 26, 2011

Sorry Inez! I forgot to rank your soup when I wrote the comment! Excellent

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybug II December 22, 2002

Best chicken noodle soup I've ever made! I did leave out the potatoes and added extra noodles, but no other changes. Wonderful!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlasch September 27, 2011

I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now and I never get tired of it! My family loves it and it is good till the last drop! Instead of adding the potatoes, I make mashed and serve the soup over the mashed potatoes. That's just our personal favorite!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laceylace202 October 05, 2010

Delicious. I only added 1/2 tsp. of thyme and 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning. It was perfect and quick to make

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prairie girl in Canada April 13, 2010

This was my first attempt at chicken noodle soup as well. It was really easy and sooo good. Even my soup-hating dh loved it. We'll be having the leftovers for lunch today!! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 February 26, 2003

This was fantastic and really easy to make. I froze half of it for later...but it was wonderful! I did omit the thyme, but only because there was a lot of thyme in the stock that I had used. Thank you for another great staple recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basia1 February 24, 2003

This is a very tasty soup. Made this for my DM as she was "under the weather" and soup was just what she needed. I did not add the potato, and the celery was cut finely and I used pre julienned carrots, that I chopped up futher. Knowing my DM preference regarding limited meats, I only used one chicken breast, flattened to and even thickness, and saute'd gently and cut in small bite size pieces. I left out the thyme, per DM request to keep the spices to a minimum, but the soup was just really missing something. Added the thyme and the taste was completely delicious! Thanks MizzNezz for a delightful and easy meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker December 23, 2012

The soup was good........but sorry, the thyme just put us off. I only added 1/2 tsp., but for us it was just too much. I am going to use the rest of the soup (without most of the broth) to make a chicken casserole. Maybe with a white sauce it will take down the thyme taste.
I know not everyone will agree with me, but this tasted so good as I made the soup, then after adding the thyme I couldn't figure out how to save it. I finally added some cream and it improved it enough that we ate it.
I will make this again......but no thyme ! The combination of veggies and broth was wonderful.
But for the thyme.....I would have rated this 5 stars.
Donna

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 January 25, 2012

My DH wasn't feeling well so I made this last night. WOW, was this ever tasty, soooo much flavor. I cooked my chicken with the onions,, celery, and carrots, so it took a little longer. Used fettuccine noodles (broken into smaller pieces). My DH is feeling better this morning....bet it was the soup that helped him :) Will be making again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick December 13, 2008
Chicken Noodle Soup