437 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! Followed recipe exactly. I am sick with a cold and this made me feel much better. Will definitely be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amlee77 November 25, 2011

Honestly a great, quick, easy way to make homestyle chicken soup! I used chicken breast and less the thyme - Fantastic! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie1980 November 03, 2011

Another 5 star review. I made this today and my crew seems to think it is as good as my Mom's. I added more potatoes and used frozen noodles (more than this recipe calls for). We like our soup thick. It was good. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaXOXO October 29, 2011

The wonderful smell of this soup filled the kitchen, and greeted me again as I came in from chopping firewood. I think next time I will cut the potatoes and the thyme. Otherwise perfect for me. Can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoProblems October 24, 2011

Excellent flavor. I think the poultry seasoning (or in my case parsley,sage and rosemary because I didn't have any) makes this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryltoo September 22, 2011

This was a big hit with the whole family. Two of my kids came down with a cold and I had to make some of this wonderful soup. We've had it before but I forgot to rate/comment. Thanks for this wonderful and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 3 hungry boys August 31, 2011

This was a great, easy recipe to follow! I made the full amount of the recipe--which makes a lot so next will cut in half! I think I'll keep the seasoning amounts the same, tho--because hubby wanted more salt flavor--but I did use low sodium veggie broth. He really liked the veggies & egg noodles, though--which is a good sign it's a keeper! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS August 29, 2011

It is 90 degrees outside and you might be wondering why I'm making chicken noodle soup on a day like today. My neighbour is sick and really likes chicken noodle soup, so I told her husband I would make a batch for them. I planned to use my own veggie stock, but adding spinach to it made it a nasty green colour that I don't think would be too appetizing for someone feeling unwell. Luckily, I still had some normal veggie stock in the freezer, so I used that plus a 48 oz container of Swanson Chicken broth, low sodium/no MSG. I followed the recipe to a T. It was absolutely PERFECT! I chopped carrots, green onions, celery, a bit of parsley and some celery leaves and sauteed them for a couple minutes in just a bit of butter. Added the broth, 2 cups of my good veggie stock and 1 tsp of bouillion granules. Simmered that on the stove til it started to boil and transferred to a 4 qt crockpot. After that, I cooked three boneless skinless chix breasts in the remaining bits of the soup in the pot, cut those to small pieces and added to the crockpot. There were a bit of bits on the pan from the chicken, so I added some water to that, mixed it a bit and added it to the crock as well. I used egg noodles that I added the very last after running through cold water. I'm kicking myself for not taking a photo of this work of chicken noodle soup art! I did score a bowl b/c the crock was going to be too full and I gorged it down. Thanks for a fabulous and EASY recipe, Miss Nezz. This will be my go to quick and easy chicken noodle soup recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 August 23, 2011

Although no one is sick and it's hot outside, I had a hankering for chicken noodle soup. Based on the reviews, I chose this recipe and it was absolutely delicious. Made as directed (used green onion instead of regular) and it was very successful. The family loved it. Other reviewers mentioned "de-spicing," but I found it perfect. I might add 1 teaspoon of salt next time, but otherwise it was wonderful. This is a fantastic recipe that is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Pallack August 18, 2011

Delicious. The only change I'd make is to reduce the amount of thyme to 1/2 teaspoon. It's a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes June 13, 2011
Chicken Noodle Soup