Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken 'n' Dumplings -- Cracker Barrel Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken 'n' Dumplings -- Cracker Barrel Style

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      I just made this for the family today. First time EVER making dumplings and it couldn't be easier. I had 2 leftover rotisseire chickens from Sunday dinner so I threw them in a pot with a quartered onion, let simmer for 30 minutes and pulled the meat from the bones. I strained the broth (added chicken base to flavor) and placed the chicken back in the broth. The dough is super sticky, so I cut back 2 Tbl. of milk and added 2 Tbl. of flour, threw it all in the processor and dumped it on a well floured counter. My 3 teens loved it and my daughter said it tasted better than CRACKER BARREL. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Absolutely yummy! I did take Pittsburgh68's advice on the dumplings by adding 2 Tablespoons Flour and did not add the last 2 Tablespoons of Milk called for in the original recipe. The dumplings were perfect. I can't wait to have my extended family over to have this dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I've made this recipe several times over the past year and just realized that I've never rated it. It's delicious! I use two packages of chicken tenderloin. (I probably get about 10 pieces or so.) I've added rosemary sprigs to the broth in the past. And sometimes I use a mixture of stock and water for the broth, especially since I don't use bone-in chicken. The consistency of the broth really thickens up well when you add the dumplings. I don't always roll out the dough...sometimes I "quasi" roll it out, and then just spoon chunks into the broth. This recipe really is yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I made this last night and it turned out great. Chicken 'n' Dumplings is one of my favorite meals from my childhood and this recipe did not disapoint. I did not want to go through the trouble of rolling out the dough so I just droped it in by the spoonfuls. Because of that I did not need the extra flour or baking powder. I also did not cook mine as long as the recipe calls for because I perfer it just a little soupy (if that is a word). Will definently use again. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      This recipe is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes: topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      I love chicken and dumplings and the nearest Cracker Barrel is 3 hours away. This recipe did not disappoint. I added more pepper than it called for but other than that it was just like being at the resaurant. I will definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      Awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This is the best ever recipe!! It's super easy and I love the smell of the simmering chicken with all the veggies and seasonings. We like A LOT of dumplings so I always make extra. It is a keeper for us. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This tasted very good. But the dumplings were missing something. Buttermilk I think. And they were a little on the tough side, it was hard not to overwork them the dough was so sticky. My broth never did thickened. But the guys loved it. The stock was very good, although I didn't add the lemon juice. Much better than the canned biscuits or bisquick dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken 'n' Dumplings -- Cracker Barrel Style

    Serving Size: 1 (1232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1018.2
     
    Calories from Fat 489
    48%
    Total Fat 54.4 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 264.7 mg
    88%
    Sodium 2182.4 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 72.4 g
    144%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh parsley leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites