9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I complete deconstructed this recipe. I saute the chicken separately and I like NurseJaney's idea to use rotisserie chicken. Then in a deep saute or stock pot I follow along with preparing the mushrooms, garlic, butter, adding the flour, then broth, but then I add the drained artichokes to this and add more thickener as necessary until I have almost a gravy consistency to ladel over the chicken or a little less thick to have with rice. I think this began when I didn't want to heat the oven. In all, it is great flavors and thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahjoyworden June 17, 2012

May/2011 Made again with left-over rotisserie chicken. Followed the instructions -- was too much broth for the amount of chicken -- a tad soupy, but that was my fault. We really enjoy the combo flavors of chicken with 'shrooms and artichokes.

Really nice dish. I left the boneless/skinless breasts whole, and prepared according to the recipe. Mixed the marinade liquid from the artichokes with the chicken broth to equal approximately 1 cup. Using Costco chicken pieces, knew they would remain moist and tender. Thanks for posting, Marie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney May 09, 2011

Very tasty and easy! We enjoyed it for a quick meal. I used one cup of broth rather than one cup and wished mine had been a little more runny. Lol. I will try this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.glenda January 18, 2010

This was pretty good, but it needs a little something, a kick. I think next time I will try it with some lemon and more artichoke.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ambrosia September 23, 2009

This was really great! I had some canadian bacon, so I cut it into pieces and added it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PortlandChick August 26, 2009

Made this recipe tonite & it was delish! I mixed it all in one pan instead of layering as stated. I used bonless thighs instead of breast cuz that's what I had on hand. I seasoned the chicken with S&P & italian seasing before sauteeing. When brown I added the mushrooms and garlic until cooked. I then added the flour to all & then the broth. I used a can of plain quartered artichoke hearts instead of marinated. I also added sliced roasted red peppers, topped with grated parmesan cheese & baked. Sauce was a bit watery, next time I'll use less as suggested. Served with noodles & a green salad. Thanks, Marie, for a simple & flavorful weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 April 15, 2009

Such a good, easy make ahead dish. I used one cup broth rather than the 1 can since other reviewers thought the sauce was too thin. That is an exact amount to make the sauce . I remembered the ratio of 2 tblsp butter, 2 tblsp flour and 1 cup broth from another recipe. I also added chopped onion. Very nice dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammi in Seattle, WA January 10, 2009

I used plain artichokes (not marinated) so I seasoned this with oregano, basil, salt, and pepper. I agree that the sauce was a bit watery. Also served with couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear April 26, 2008

Emjoyed this very much. The sauce was a little thin, but is easy to fix. Served with couscous and a green salad. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momstar January 30, 2007
Chicken, Mushroom And Artichoke Casserole