73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What I love about Recipezaar is that I can take the remarks and suggestions from members and make a good recipe 'better'. Since I am not an intuitive cook I need to be reminded what goes together. So, thank you to each reviewer. My changes: 2 tbsp parmesan cheese (I didn't want it too cheesy) Italian breadcrumbs 3 cloves garlic 1 tsp each of basil, parsley and oregano (all dried) 1/4 tsp salt (but I will use 1/2 tsp next time; I always cut the salt when possible, but this wasn't overly salty) 1/4 tsp pepper (I will probably increase to 1/2 tsp) Chopped onion (I love onions, so I just chopped some up and added it to the mixture until it looked good!) Baked for 20 min in 350 degree onion. Again, thanks to MEP and everyone's reviews.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara Colquitt February 07, 2007

If you're looking for a simple, basic meatball recipe this one is pretty good...I couldnt find my usual meatball recipe card so naturally I came to Recipezaar & found this one...Using it as a jumping off point, I replaced the chicken w/ ground bison, used organic egg, kept to the parmesan, replaced the breadcrumbs w/ rolled oats, used jarred garlic (1tb), replaced fresh oregano (had none) w/ 1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash skipped the salt entirely & elected to bake the meatballs rather than frying (@ 375 for 15 min) made @ 15 meatballs or 5 servings...served w/ lofat/losodium spag sauce (Walnut Acres brand) over Veggie Mac (vegetable based pasta)...thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas May 18, 2010

Where's the six-star option for this one? These meatballs are beyond excellent! Instead of basil, we used a bit of fresh rosemary and parsley as well as a little extra garlic. They were terrific! If I weren't completely full, I'd be going back for seconds now. :) Well done!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison Landa June 19, 2009

MEP, these were fantastic! I made them for supper tonight to go with our spaghetti! The only change I made was to add an extra clove of garlic, since both DH and I are garlic lovers! These meatballs will be a regular in our house from now on! Thanks for sharing this great recipe MEP!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM August 26, 2003

Mmmmmmm, just had these for dinner & they were delicious! I used turkey mince instead of chicken mince (only because I had never had turkey mince before)& they turned out perfect, served with my pasta sauce (#66750). Will definetely have these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Marli* August 07, 2003

Best. Meatballs. EVER! The taste and texture were a huge hit. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siava January 11, 2010

I took another reviewer suggestion & baked these in the oven, so I was able omit the olive oil making for a lighter meal. Suggested servings is four, but I have enough meatballs for six at least. The ground chicken has a bit different texture than beef, but I think this is something that you get over very quickly. I will be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet October 02, 2009

I love this website...I need to follow recipe's as I don't have the guts to throw things together...however I will admit this recipe needs a little more taste to it...I used ground turkey..I will use more herbs next time as y'all suggested...otherwise quick & easy to prep..I baked in oven and drizzled the olive oil..also added more garlic..but still not enough flavor flavor...thanks though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzettesampson June 09, 2009

These were the best meatballs ever! I used ground turkey and stovetop chicken flavor for the breadcrumbs. I also used seasoned garlic salt for the salt and italian dried herbs for the oregano. They were fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbcountrymom July 01, 2008

A wonderful recipe! I've only eaten ground beef spaghetti sauce but I'm fazing out of beef for healthier alternatives. I cut the recipe in half, used lean ground turkey & only used 2 tbsp parm cheese (more wasn't needed). I also used 1 tsp italian seasoning instead of oregano & used 1 tsp dried minced onion. I baked the meatballs at 350 for 20 min, then rinsed them off in cold water to remove any fat (there really wasn't much). Then I added them to my homemade spaghetti sauce & simmered for 20 min. I got about 12 decent sized meatballs out of this. FYI-for anyone like me just starting to get into subbing ground poultry for beef, the taste is different but is still delicious. Just takes a little time to get used to it. Thank you so much for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS August 24, 2006
Chicken Meatballs For Spaghetti and Meatballs