33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I came looking for this recipe after being served an amazing "maybe spanish chicken/prune/olive/wine casserole" at a catered work function and was unable to track down the caterer to get the recipe directly. Turns out it was Chicken Marbella (Thank you recipezaar for your search by ingrediant function) I am very judicious in giving out a perfect 5 stars but there is nothing to fault in this recipe - it is a classic for a good reason. Its super easy to make (just put it all in the dish you're going to bake it in the night before then add the wine and sugar put it in the oven the next night) and tastes divine. I am not generally a fan of fruit in meat dishes and had I simply read the recipe when I was browsing for something to make I probably would have dismissed it, I would have been SORELY mistaken. This is a fantastic, delicious, simple to prepare recipe I would encourage you to try it. I made mine with skinless chicken thigh peices. I used 4 large cloves of garlic which was perfect for my tastes but if you're not a big garlic fan 2 or 3 would probably be enough. I added 1/2 cup of dried apricots as the original dish I ate which sent me in search of this recipe included apricots and a google search showed they are considered an optional extra. About 20 mins into the cooking time I covered the dish with tin foil as even with basting the top of the chicken peices were drying out a little. Outstanding recipe evelyn/athens! Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EeeGee September 21, 2006

Fabulous. What more can I say? The absolute perfect dish for entertaining.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts May 27, 2010

Great recipe. I actually used breasts instead of thighs and I used 2 tablespoons of oil instead of 1/4 cup. We really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qwerty3020 November 17, 2009

I serve it all together WITH the juices and just simple white rice makes for a nice meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherhealth2000 December 22, 2013

I LOVE THIS!! I had made it at a food prep center a few years ago and loved it and am not sure why I just now thought to try to look up the recipe. I made this without the optional apricots. I used green olives without pimientos and then chopped them up in my food processor since I knew my teens wouldn't touch them if they could identify them! I also used the 1/2 cup of brown sugar - opting not to reduce the amount. <br/><br/>My entire family loved this! I served mine with a quinoa pilaf made with onion and carrots. The meal was a hit with everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FamilyInFilm May 20, 2013

This is a great recipe! I was hesitant at first, given the interesting combination of ingredients. However, after we tasted the dish, it immediately became a family favorite. This dish has a wonderful combination of flavors that really meld together well. I would recommend following the recipe as posted. I did substitute chicken breasts for chicken thights with no problem. Served over couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn March 13, 2010

Fabulous recipe. I think I have been making this for about 20 years now. We all love it. I substitute apricots for the prunes; or, sometimes I do HALF apricots and HALF prunes. SOOOOOOO delicious. A great dish for company. I make it the day before and just let it sit until ready to bake. There doesn't seem to be enough wine to change the chicken texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi in Connecticut January 28, 2010

This is delicious. I made as described in the original recipe. The only thing I will change next time is to use smaller chicken pieces (I used four big chicken legs and they didn't absorb enough flavour). Plus, I will chop the prunes and add a bit more olives and capers. The taste is divine and is just as good cold or room temp. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in Toronto November 13, 2009

We really liked this chicken dish. Who would think these ingredients would make such a tasty dish. It was really easy to make too. I like how you can serve it room temperature, which makes a nice pot luck dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom October 18, 2009

This one has been in my cookbook for a year. I finally tried it out for dinner tonite. It was delish! Made exactly as written using boneless thighs and it's GONE... Will definitely make again and again. Thanks Evelyn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich December 29, 2008
Chicken Marbella