13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this salad - very exotic, like something you'd get in a fancy restaurant. I used a bag of fancy lettuces - you know the ones with the odd shapes and colors! :-) I did add some cumin to the vinaigrette, and used ancho chile powder for the red chile powder. And since I had leftover chicken from Tequila Grilled Chicken - Tequila Grilled Chicken - I used that. Thanks! (PS I forgot to star this initially - don't know if this review will post twice.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fran6 August 09, 2010

Great salad but will use less honey next time (I used 2 T.) Loved the fried tortillas and served with guacamole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 10, 2012

OK People.. This thing is delicious!
I made it with reservations because my family is not big on the "Salad is all we are having for dinner" and everyone likes something different, so usually salad is relegated to a side dish, I mention this for those who think you must make something else to go with it. YOU DONT.
It is a lovely cooling dish for a hot day, I found that the dressing did not wilt the greens as quickly as other dressings. its sweet and savory with the seasoned tortilla strips. I used grilled drummettes instead of breast and it was a total hit. HIGHLY RECCOMEND.
Added asian cucumbers and chickpeas since those flavors do really well with tart dressings, it was absolutely satisfying.
THANL YOU LITTLE_WING !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Lilies May 08, 2012

What a great salad this turned out to be....We really liked the dressing...have some leftover and will be repeating for dinner tonite...it was that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc July 13, 2009

I thought this sounded great, but wasn't sure if the kiddos would eat it. Much to my surprise, they loved it and so did hubby! We'll add this to our regular menu!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roark23 July 09, 2009

WOW, what more can you say. This is one of the most wonderful salads I think I have ever had. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adrian in Concord, N.C. March 28, 2009

This really is a wonderful salad. Easy to throw together too. I preprepped everything and took to a BBQ where we threw the chicken on the grill. It had a very full and rich flavour - yummy! I did not add the honey to the dressing and it was excellent. I cheated on the tortilla's and bought the seasoned snacking kind - already crispy and tasty. Made for ZWT4 and will be making again soon :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 29, 2008

oh wow! this salad was greeeeeat! i loved it! the name sold me! i did the recipe exactly!! only suggestions i have is to maybe double the vinagrette cause i felt like it wasnt enough. and also my tortilla strips never got crispy. i used the oven method so id suggest the frying method instead! but the taste is delicious! very different from other salads! i WILL be making this again! made for zwt4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug June 28, 2008

Very tasty, with a great combination of sweet/savoury/tart flavours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 27, 2008

I loved the vinaigrette! The tequila added quite a bite which went really well with the mango, lol. I have to say I didn't care for the corn tortilla strips. I baked mine in the oven and they just never got crispy, more chewy than anything. I did enjoy the cumin on them though. The flavor of the chicken is outstanding!!! I would use that marinade for any type of grilled chicken. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 24, 2008
Chicken, Mango & Jicama Salad W Tequila-Lime Vinaigrette