16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a totally awesome salad! I made it with quinoa instead of rice, and used frozen mango chunks, and it was soooo good! thanks for this recipe, I am sure I will be making this one again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbwatercolors December 14, 2011

I had some champagne mangoes I bought in bulk and searched for a recipe to try. This sounded very strange to me but had great reviews so I decided to try it even though my husband looked at me funny. He didn't get to try it yet but I did and it is amazing!!! I was pleasantly surprised! Such a simple recipe too! I poached my chicken. I used two champagne mangoes and 1 avocado. I used only 3/4 cup uncooked rice and that was plenty since other reviews mentioned using less. I used a Videlia onion since their sweet. I was a little short on my cilantro because my plant is on the end of of its season but more would have been even better! Thank you for a nice lite and refreshing summer recipe! I will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m July 07, 2010

This is very flavorful!! My mom is going to a New Years party tonight and she requested that I make something light because we've all been overloaded on the comfort foods this holiday season. This was the ticket!! Made exactly as indicated except I used a grapeseed oil for the oil so it would be as healthy as possible. Who says healthy can't taste great? We put the salad into dixie cups to serve as mini appetizers. Awesome recipe:) Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brew City Chef December 31, 2009

I love this salad. I took it in to work for a hawaiian theme potluck. I was afraid that it may be too healthy for the group (as they don't typically like "healthy" foods), but they loved it. I, too, used bulgur wheat. It adds a nice nutty flavor. With a bit more mango and cilantro, it was perfect. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NatalieC September 28, 2007

I made a double batch of this recipe for a get-together and although they didn't polish it off at the party we finished it up at home less than 24 hours later. I did find that it needed more mango, I used 3 mangos for a double recipe. I also used less rice. I'm looking forward to making it again. I know it's going to be one of those dishes that I take to get-togethers that everyone will want the recipe to. I also intend to try out the recipe using bulgur wheat(like in tabouli) instead of the rice. I'll try to remember to come back and let you know how that turned out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Effie Mae August 12, 2003

it was great. i added raisens and i really like the blending of flavors. wonderful on a hot day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki hom June 04, 2003

Ooooohhhh, this is SOOOO yummy!! I followed some other suggestions~~used orzo instead of rice and doubled the mango & avocado. I also used vidalia onion since that's what I had and used Fri-Chik (veggie chicken). It was absolutely delicious!! My hubby gave it an 8.5/10, which is a HUGE compliment! Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins June 04, 2010

I used quinoa (very healthy) instead of rice, scaled the recipe to serve four but used the whole mango, and added cashews and fresh snipped chives from the garden. Delicioso!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksForHugs March 31, 2010

This was awesome!!!!! I made it without rice since I'm watching my carbs. I used olive oil for the ooil and the other flavors are so strong you couldn't taste it. I had a very juicy mango so I only need the juice of 1 lime. After the first batch disappeared, I had to go get more ingredients to make it again! This is in my way more than 5 stars list

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raevin January 11, 2010

YUM! I love this salad! Thanks so much for posting. It's such a tasty option for the summer especially. I used a rotisserie chicken from the store as well as frozen mango...just made the prep a little easier on me and the salad still turned out great. Thanks also for the tip on not using as much rice - lessening it or leaving it out is a great way to lower the carbs and the salad is just as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmama July 17, 2009
Chicken, Mango, and Rice Salad