96 Reviews

I am re-reviewing this as I have learned some things that are worth sharing: 1) it is okay to substitute another oil for the peanut. I don't think you'll notice a big difference and it may save you some cash. Also, I turned this into a one-skillet dish and it is a little faster to cook and less mess. I added all the oil (I used shortening) at the beginning and then added the chicken after the shallot/onion mixture was translucent. I added extra garam masala and cayenne to make up for the missed chicken browning step. This yielded the same delicious dish that the two skillet method did. Also, I simmered the final product on medium low for an extra 10 or 15 minutes and it thickened up nicely and did not need cornstarch. Also, I added a half cup or so of chopped cilantro. Thanks - my husband and I LOVE this wonderful dish. Served with basmati and flat bread.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy July 02, 2010

Absolutely one of the best recipes I have tried. Taste just like the local Indian Restaurant we have in our area. It was quick and easy I didn't have ginger paste; however, I did use about a tablespoon of powdered ginger.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coneathea_11171011 July 17, 2011

Great recipe! I substituted sour cream for yogurt and made my own garlic-ginger paste out of ground ginger, fresh garlic, and olive oil. And made a curry rice as a side dish. The sauce was creamy and the spice combination was perfect. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephen B. February 06, 2014

My boyfriend and I made this tonight for the second time, and it turned out great. I made a few deviations from the exact recipe because I didn't have things like peanut oil or ginger-garlic paste but I, like other reviewers, also made it into a one dish recipe by browning the chicken with the onions. I didn't have cayenne pepper but I used smoked paprika instead and I think it gave the dish a great flavor.<br/>We served it over basmati rice and both of us finished this, even though it was supposed to be 4 servings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Tiny Chef October 07, 2013

I loved loved loved this! I've tried a few different recipes for Butter Chicken but this one far exceeded the others in taste and difficulty (ie much easier). I only used half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and it was the perfect spiciness for me (I'm a bit of a wimp with really spicy stuff!)

Thank for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandazarifah July 27, 2011

It is an awesome recipe. It came out pretty tasteful even though I was missing some ingredients. I used sour cream instead of yogurt and used heavy whipping cream in the end, and garnished with cilantro.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadorani July 12, 2011

I don't get how this recipe has such good reviews. This was not good at all. The yogurt curdled immediately and ruined the whole dish. The taste otherwise was nothing to write home about. Total aggravation and wasted food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timber_newton_interiors May 20, 2011

Loved this! Wasn't quite sweet enough, so added some grated jaggery (sugar from palm sap) and adjusted it. Maybe because I used grape tomatoes that changed the recipe. Also, made my own "ginger garlic paste" and rendered the fat I cut off the thighs and cooked the chicken in that instead of peanut oil. Cooked the veggies in ghee. Mmmmm, this sauce is excellent on basmati rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. May 11, 2010

I enjoyed this very much (made exactly to recipe for my first try), but family not so enthusiastic. Not sure I would go through the trouble of making it again just to please myself--but I might! Prep time was longer than indicated, with a good bit of chopping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omniveg July 04, 2013
Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)