Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      I am re-reviewing this as I have learned some things that are worth sharing: 1) it is okay to substitute another oil for the peanut. I don't think you'll notice a big difference and it may save you some cash. Also, I turned this into a one-skillet dish and it is a little faster to cook and less mess. I added all the oil (I used shortening) at the beginning and then added the chicken after the shallot/onion mixture was translucent. I added extra garam masala and cayenne to make up for the missed chicken browning step. This yielded the same delicious dish that the two skillet method did. Also, I simmered the final product on medium low for an extra 10 or 15 minutes and it thickened up nicely and did not need cornstarch. Also, I added a half cup or so of chopped cilantro. Thanks - my husband and I LOVE this wonderful dish. Served with basmati and flat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Absolutely one of the best recipes I have tried. Taste just like the local Indian Restaurant we have in our area. It was quick and easy I didn't have ginger paste; however, I did use about a tablespoon of powdered ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I loved loved loved this! I've tried a few different recipes for Butter Chicken but this one far exceeded the others in taste and difficulty (ie much easier). I only used half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and it was the perfect spiciness for me (I'm a bit of a wimp with really spicy stuff!)

      Thank for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      It is an awesome recipe. It came out pretty tasteful even though I was missing some ingredients. I used sour cream instead of yogurt and used heavy whipping cream in the end, and garnished with cilantro.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      I don't get how this recipe has such good reviews. This was not good at all. The yogurt curdled immediately and ruined the whole dish. The taste otherwise was nothing to write home about. Total aggravation and wasted food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Loved this! Wasn't quite sweet enough, so added some grated jaggery (sugar from palm sap) and adjusted it. Maybe because I used grape tomatoes that changed the recipe. Also, made my own "ginger garlic paste" and rendered the fat I cut off the thighs and cooked the chicken in that instead of peanut oil. Cooked the veggies in ghee. Mmmmm, this sauce is excellent on basmati rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Great recipe! I substituted sour cream for yogurt and made my own garlic-ginger paste out of ground ginger, fresh garlic, and olive oil. And made a curry rice as a side dish. The sauce was creamy and the spice combination was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

    • on October 07, 2013

      My boyfriend and I made this tonight for the second time, and it turned out great. I made a few deviations from the exact recipe because I didn't have things like peanut oil or ginger-garlic paste but I, like other reviewers, also made it into a one dish recipe by browning the chicken with the onions. I didn't have cayenne pepper but I used smoked paprika instead and I think it gave the dish a great flavor.<br/>We served it over basmati rice and both of us finished this, even though it was supposed to be 4 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      I enjoyed this very much (made exactly to recipe for my first try), but family not so enthusiastic. Not sure I would go through the trouble of making it again just to please myself--but I might! Prep time was longer than indicated, with a good bit of chopping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      I am shocked at all of the positive reviews! Not only was this recipe bland, it tastes nothing like the makhani I have enjoyed at multiple Indian restaurants around the world. I purchased all of the ingredients from my local indian food store, showed the owner the recipe, and right away she was skeptical. Don't waste your time. Search for other recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      This was perfect! Better than any Butter Chicken dish I've had at Indian restaurants. I would not change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      You certainly have a winner here. Delicious! I did cut back on the cayenne, as i don't handle heat very well. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      This is great! I forgot to season the chicken but it still turned out very good. My guest really loved it and made me give her the recipe before she left :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      I too had used only one skillet. Really no need for two. I have made other butter chickens and this is how I usually do it. I had added in the chicken after putting in the yogurt and half and half, then just simmered on low till chicken was cooked. I also had added in a lot more amount of the spices and definitely more cayenne. Also I didn't find the need for the cornstarch. Prep time is definitely more than just the 10 minutes. I had got everything measured and put into tiny condiment dishes so all I had to do was add each one, just makes things go a lot faster when making, especially when there is so many spices. For me this recipe was okay for me, but it wasn't creamy or buttery enough of a flavor compared to others I have tried. As well I just found it missing something that I couldn't quite put my finger on... It is a good recipe though and I had served it with some Naan and Potato Curry Potato Curry for 1 Thanks for sharing your recipe Grace

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Made this dish last night for dinner and it was amazing! We love Indian food from our favorite restaurant, and we thought this was even better! Seemed like a lot of work when I was reading the recipe but, once I got going with it, it wasn't bad at all and I feel confident I could make this again with no problem. Definitely adding this to the repertoire! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      As of my first time making this, I will give it 3 stars, because I think it needs a bit of tweaking for our tastes. I was excited to find this recipe as we recently tried this in an Indian Restaurant and fell in love with it. This was a good match to what we had, however, I will cut back on the cayenne and chili powder as it was too much heat for us. Also I would like to grill or blacken the chicken to give it a more authentic flavor and I will try using fresh tomato puree hoping to get a brighter red sauce. I used canned and the color of my sauce was not as pretty as in the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Add me to the fans. I had to substitute half the ingredients and it still came out amazing. I used more yogurt than milk, ginger and garlic powders instead of pastes, curry leaves instead of bay leaf, ghee instead of butter. I thought it was a little too sweet for my taste so I added lemon powder and more salt. I also went heavy on the spices and flavorings b/c I like food that goes KaPow! Garnish with cilantro and sliced lemon, serve with okra. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      WOW WOW WOW. Friggin amazing! I realized at the last minute that I didn't have tomato puree, so I used a half a small can of tomato paste and a cup of water. I also didn't have the yogurt.
      Made with homeade naan....this was SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      I made this with tofu by cooking cubed tofu with the onions and proceeding with the recipe up until the chicken part. It tasted completely different from what I expected, but was very, very good! I think it'd actually be great on pasta and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.4
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    59%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 134.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 250.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger-garlic paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites