Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Macaroni Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Macaroni Casserole

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2012

      No, I did not make this recipe according to the instructions. I made changes, but if I hadn't made those changes I probably would have rated this even lower. As it is, I'm rating it because I believe some changes should be made.

      First, I added a full teaspoon of curry powder because I enjoy strong flavors. Next, because I used mild cheddar, I used double what was recommended as per another review which stated that they used mild and the flavor of the cheese didn't come through. I did not have pimentos, but used the mushrooms. I added 2 oz. of water extra (because of the lack of pimentos) and added about 1/4 cup extra of milk.

      I do NOT recommend adding the 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It seems like only a little bit, but when you use pre-cooked chicken or turkey, there is already salt added to it (presumably you season your food when you cook it). Also, the cream of chicken soup has a great deal of salt in it already. I used no salt added mushrooms as well, and I'm glad I did.

      With the above changes made, it was salty enough and seasoned well. I do not recommend adding that extra bit of salt unless you are using canned ingredients that are low sodium.

      I DID enjoy this dish as I made it though. I served it with a salad as a palate cleanser and it worked out well. I will probably make this dish again, but will use fresh mushrooms that I will saute first. There wasn't much flavor with the canned mushrooms. This was a very easy dish because the pasta did not have to be pre-cooked. I used large elbow mushrooms and they were perfectly tender enough to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I have prepared this recipe for at least 25 years. I recently went in search of my recipe and...IT WAS MISSING. My fiancé and I tore apart the kitchen looking for it, to no avail. We were both crushed because we love this dish. So I took to the web hoping to track it down. Lo and behold, there it was and I knew it was the same recipe because it contained uncooked macaroni, making it one of the easiest recipes ever. So we decided to use leftover turkey from Thanksgiving as a substitute for chicken. As we took our first bites, we were giddy with relief! This was the missing recipe!!!! So many, many thanks to you, Food.com. This recipe will never be lost again!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Delicious comfort food that is so easy to make. Whats not to love? I added some sliced leek and since I didn't have the pimento I added some orange bell pepper. It all came out perfectly yummy and this will certainly be made again. Made for Photo Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      I remember having this as a kid (and I'm 50+ now) and it was always one of my favorites. Same as the other reviewer, I lost the recipe and was so happy to find it here. We also add french fried onions and serve with cranberry sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      DH made this for dinner tonight, leaving out the pimentos as we dont have any. This was easy and good. Needed a little more spice. Will keep as a basic guideline to make again with adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      super easy! mine needed extra cooking, most likely due to using Ronzoni Smart Taste pasta. Kids really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      So easy and the boyfriend said it was "FANTASTIC"! Enough said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

    • on March 02, 2009

      This was very good! I used chili powder instead of curry powder, but next time might play around with other seasonings instead. I think you could really change up the flavor of this by either other herb combinations or using the cream of chicken soup with flavors (garlic, herb, etc.). Left out the pimentos because I didn't have any. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This casserole was just okay to me. I used leftover chicken in it and I added some mixed vegetables. It was sort of bland even with the chili powder. I think it may be the cheese I used. I think next time I might try a stronger cheese..I used medium cheddar (its all I had) but next time I might try colby. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      This was a recommendation from a friend who has this the day after Thanksgiving every year. (she produces a gluten-free version easily) What a wonderful little casserole, couldn't be more simple to put together. Only the casserole dish to dirty! Every last bit of it got eaten. This is a keeper. I used the Sun Brand Madras Curry Powder and some Tillamook cheddar. As the it says in the BC Cookbook, "A flurry of curry does make the difference."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make. I used the curry powder, fresh mushrooms as that's all we ever buy, and skipped the pimentos. I was a little skeptical that the macaroni would cook and not dry out, but it worked great! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This is really good - and easy - but I did change a few things. Instead of chopped chicken, I used a pound of ground chicken that I browned, and since we don't care for canned mushrooms I sauteed some fresh ones in butter. I also used 2 cups of mini penne instead of mac. (just prefer it)And I left out the pimento. I opted for the curry powder rather than chili since we eat a lot of that here, and the entire casserole was gone! It's a keeper - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this one, especially my 5 year old. Although he doesn't like mushrooms or pimentos so I folded up some foil and placed it in the casserole dish. Spooned some into "his" section then finished mixing for the rest of us, I call it my picky eater pan. I will keep this one for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was SO good and very easy!! We allllll loved it! I love that you don't have to cook the macaroni first...I cubed the chicken...it was delicious--one way to make it even better is to dip some plain bread in melted butter and place it on top--last 10 mins. uncover--it gives a great topping! I also used a can of cream of mushroom in addition to the cream of chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Ok. Definately five stars for the ease and lack of dishes to wash. Awesome taste, however, I did change up the ingredients to use what I had. Used leftover diced ham from Christmas out of the freexer, frozen peas, and frozen pimento peppers from the summer harvest. To make up for the lack of liquid from the canned veggies called for, I added about another 1/3 to 1/2 cup milk. I also just used salt and black pepper, as I thought the chili powder would be wierd with ham and I don't like curry. All and all delish and even my super picky 4 year old ate it, which merits five stars in my book anyday! I will definately be putting this in the regular rotation. Thank you. P.S. I loved that you don't have to pre-cook the macaroni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      very yummy...my husband couldn't wait to get home the next day for left overs! and so easy to make. a definate keeper-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I made this casserole as directed and it was "YUMMY". This is a keeper recipe for me.....it went together so fast....and the cooking time isn't bad either. Certainly a recipe I can throw together when I come home from work even when I am dog-tired. Thanks for posting....oh, I used the Chili powder option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Definitely a 5-Star casserole. I used colby-jack cheese, cream of mushroom soup, and the chili powder (okay, I admit it, I couldn't put it into the dish without a quick spray of Pam). It was very, very good - and so easy, too. I will be making it again. Thanks flower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      This was delicious! I used a small can of sweet green peas (drained) instead of the mushrooms and pimentos and it was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Macaroni Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.1
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    35%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 83.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1077.8 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites