95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Get up from your computer and go in your kitchen and make this right now! You will thank me when you taste it. This tastes just like my favortite chinese restaurants...except not so overwhelmingly salty. Chicken Lo Mein is a winner I say.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T-Mac McGrath March 15, 2003

Have tried this recipe a few times. It's a great recipe to start with and tweak according to taste. I stir fry the chicken instead of boiling it, seasoning with McCormick's Montreal Chicken Seasoning, added more oil (coconut oil) to the vegetable stir fry step, used Xiaosing Rice wine instead of white wine, used low sodium soy, then added salt, pepper, garlic to taste. For a little zing, I added just a little Sriracha sauce. It's getting closer to Mom's homemade lo mein. I think the vegetable mix is great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDiane2000 January 06, 2012

Great- I sub'd beef and beef broth for chicken; otherwise left it all the same and it was terrific! This recipe makes a lot! Something to look forward to for lunch today.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen from Montana November 12, 2002

Not terrible- but not delicious either. I feel that I can make a better asian sauce just by experimenting. I think that the chicken was ruined by the method of making broth. If you make this recipe, your chicken becomes much more tender if you just stir fry it.

Also, the recipe was confusing and misleading about how to best cook the sauce.

It wasnt terrible, but it used a lot of all of the sauces, didnt taste great, and wasnt filling at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila February 12, 2012

I hate being the odd man out but we thought this dish was just OK. We like our Asian food more flavorful. That said, this dish can be doctored up and spiced up nicely. I made as posted and it's quite easy to throw together. If I make it again, I will re-review at that time with my changes. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook August 20, 2006

Manda, Great recipe!!!....I made this like the recipe called for,and it was as good as I eat at Nong Chen in Marion Illinois,(Great place to eat)... But this would be a great recipe for experimenting on,so next time I think I will experiment a little.Thank You for a great recipe. Darlene Summers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers July 11, 2003

Excellent recipe! DD & DH liked it, which is a plus! Had a leftover pork chop and a chicken breast and they worked well together. You can always spice it up with sambal oelek or sirracha sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAREBEARCOOKING September 01, 2014

Followed the basic idea here but I marinated the chicken in Hoisen sauce, sweet soy, and sesame oil. Then Cooked it in a skillet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark W. September 11, 2013

This is pretty good. Its easy to through together and it tastes good. My family enjoyed it but said it could us more flavor. So next time, I'm going to amp up the seasonings and sauces. thanks for sharing, we will continue to use this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 27, 2013

Quite tasty, but not a standout for us. Nice and filling, with plenty of serves to go around. Suggest adding in bamboo shoots for extra yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne May 10, 2013
Chicken Lo Mein