Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Lo Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Lo Mein

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2003

      Get up from your computer and go in your kitchen and make this right now! You will thank me when you taste it. This tastes just like my favortite chinese restaurants...except not so overwhelmingly salty. Chicken Lo Mein is a winner I say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Have tried this recipe a few times. It's a great recipe to start with and tweak according to taste. I stir fry the chicken instead of boiling it, seasoning with McCormick's Montreal Chicken Seasoning, added more oil (coconut oil) to the vegetable stir fry step, used Xiaosing Rice wine instead of white wine, used low sodium soy, then added salt, pepper, garlic to taste. For a little zing, I added just a little Sriracha sauce. It's getting closer to Mom's homemade lo mein. I think the vegetable mix is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      Great- I sub'd beef and beef broth for chicken; otherwise left it all the same and it was terrific! This recipe makes a lot! Something to look forward to for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Not terrible- but not delicious either. I feel that I can make a better asian sauce just by experimenting. I think that the chicken was ruined by the method of making broth. If you make this recipe, your chicken becomes much more tender if you just stir fry it.

      Also, the recipe was confusing and misleading about how to best cook the sauce.

      It wasnt terrible, but it used a lot of all of the sauces, didnt taste great, and wasnt filling at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      I hate being the odd man out but we thought this dish was just OK. We like our Asian food more flavorful. That said, this dish can be doctored up and spiced up nicely. I made as posted and it's quite easy to throw together. If I make it again, I will re-review at that time with my changes. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Manda, Great recipe!!!....I made this like the recipe called for,and it was as good as I eat at Nong Chen in Marion Illinois,(Great place to eat)... But this would be a great recipe for experimenting on,so next time I think I will experiment a little.Thank You for a great recipe. Darlene Summers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Followed the basic idea here but I marinated the chicken in Hoisen sauce, sweet soy, and sesame oil. Then Cooked it in a skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      This is pretty good. Its easy to through together and it tastes good. My family enjoyed it but said it could us more flavor. So next time, I'm going to amp up the seasonings and sauces. thanks for sharing, we will continue to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      Quite tasty, but not a standout for us. Nice and filling, with plenty of serves to go around. Suggest adding in bamboo shoots for extra yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      This recipe was not all that tasty. It was too salty! And the overall flavor was not all that appetizing or impressive either. I was looking for a go-to recipe for lo mein; something that I knew would be consistent each time I made it. I've been making lo mein by just adding some of this and some of that from different recipes, and it turned out better than this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      This recipe didnt ask anyone to make their own broth corelila, that takes several hours to do. It gave a short cut to stirfry in bullion. A short cut we use when time is short and no broth is in ghe cupboard. Love reading recipes and combining. Thanks for posting! Its dinner tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      I agree with "Get up from your computer and go in your kitchen and make this right now!" I used a bag of frozen oriental veggies, plus the cabbage for my vegetables. It tastes great hot, and like real lo mein, it tasted even better the next day, as leftovers (I'm a fan of cold leftovers, and this passed the test.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I'm not very picky when it comes to recipes. If it's not great, I'll typically tweak it and try it again until it is. I'm almost reluctant about trying this recipe again. I've eaten some pretty terrible foods and persevered, but this was so salty I couldn't take more than a few bites. My 3 year-old didn't even want to clear his plate. My husband felt he needed to eat it just from the sheer work I put into it (I've never been very good at chopping at a decent speed). I don't typically cook with soy sauce, but I *have* consumed it, and I really should have known 1/4 cup was *way* too much. I love lo mein from restaurants, but this was gross as it was written. I would definitely suggest halving the soy sauce, and maybe even going with one bouillon rather than 2. I'm going to try it again sometime and hopefully post a more helpful review, but probably not for a good while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      We made this for dinner tonight and it was ok. We both thought that it needed more flavor and that cooking the chicken differently may be the answer. Maybe cooking it in sesame oil or soy sauce instead of the bouillon and water. It just seemed bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Whenever I need a simple recipe for a new dish I want to make, I come to Allrecipes.com or Food.com. This time, I used both. ( http://www.food.com/recipe/chicken-lo-mein-16570 )

      I wanted to use chicken broth, but I knew it would take me too long to reduce the mixture, so I used Chicken bouillon instead and made the mix quite a bit thicker. I used about 7 lbs of sugar snap peas, 6 cans of stir-fry vegetables (Kroger brand), 40 lbs of pre-cooked/sliced white checken, and about 1/3 of a cup of MSG. I also added Oyster sauce. As I understand it, Oyster sauce adds that special je ne sais quoi to a Chinese dish of this nature.

      It took me 4 hours (a little longer than I expected- but not by much) to make the 120 servings I needed, but when I was finished I was extremely pleased and so was my entire church.

      (By the way, I cooked this alone, with no help whatsoever, by choice. So, it can be done!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I used turkey gravy mix and reduction instead of cornstarch. I left out the water chestnuts (don't like). I used multi-colored bell pepper slices instead of celery, and corn instead of peas. I varied the technique (cooked chicken last, cooked spaghetti separately, then deglazed the pan with the wine) because I just can't follow a recipe. Still: Yum! If I weren't feeding this to kids, I'd recommend some red pepper flakes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      It wasn't too difficult to make and wasn't bad but I found it a bit bland. I think it needs more spice or flavoured sauce added to it. Otherwise it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Terrific recipe! I threw everything into the crock pot and cooked on high for about 3 hours (adding the noodles during the last 20 minutes), other than that followed the recipe. Very easy, very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Loved it!!! Left out celery and cabbage and subbed chicken broth for white wine. Not a fan of soy sauce but used the exact amount called for anyway just to see. It was perfect! Not too strong at all. Daughter loved this. Have been looking for a "white" sauce to try and duplicate since our favorite Chinese restaurant recently closed. I think this receipe will be a perfect base to "tweek" and build upon. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      This was pretty good. The sauce was way too thin for my family's taste - will use more cornstarch next time. I added some sambal oelek (chili paste) to my portion and that, along with garnishing with cilantro rather than green onion, really made the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Poultry Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Lo Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    11%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 36.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1772.5 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites