10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not being a fixated-sexist who only values a chicken's breasts, served this with a salad of spinach leaves, with sorbet to follow. A splendid, tasty meal! Used FULL FAT sour cream ... did not put in the onions or serve with noodles as we had neither ... and it was wonderful! Thank you Bergy

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry sans Sanddunes March 27, 2003

I loved this! I used shallots instead of onion but want to try vidalia onions too. Next time I will use less Worcestershire though. but really filling, cheap, fast and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nina G. May 11, 2010

Delicious and easy! I had just over 1 lb defrosted livers to use up, a little more than in the recipe. I used 1 T chilli sauce because DH is wary of "hot" ...! Also used only 1 T Worcestershire sauce, but added a good splosh of port wine. I let the port cook away, leaving just the lovely flavour. Used fullfat cream. Served it with brown basmati, etc. A lovely dinner dish! Thanks, Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie July 07, 2009

Oh my goodness this is wonderful. I took a hint from a previous review, to add wine, but instead of white, I added a l-a-r-g-e :-) splash of a pretty decent red wine. Utterly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT November 01, 2007

Made this last night, a very nice way to fix chicken livers rather than the traditional fried. I didn't change the recipe at all. Although very rich, we enjoyed it. DH had two helpings!! I made mashed potatoes for him, noodles for me, both were great with this very nice dish! Thanks Bergy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu August 31, 2007

I could only find a slightly larger container of chicken livers, so I of course bought two! It broke apart more than it would have had I done it in batches. I used Sambal instead of chili sauce and half the amount as the Sambal is fairly hot. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tugar357 July 30, 2007

Made this tonight and we all really enjoyed it - even our picky 2 year old daughter! I'm about as good at following recipes as Chef #263357, I made a few changes. I too used olive oil, used plain yogurt rather than sour cream, added garlic and steak spice mix (I wanted to use Paprika but had run out, and that mix looked like it had plenty in). I used dried forest mushrooms, and I added the water I'd reconstituted them in to the sauce. I also added a glug of white wine, which was a lovely addition to the sauce. I only used 1 tlbsp of worcester sauce and sweet chili sauce. A really delicious, comforting, healthy family meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef UK March 05, 2006

Good recipe - I made a number of changes. I substituted olive oil for margarine for health reasons. I used less (maybe 25% less) liver and half the Worcestershire sauce but about double the mushrooms. I didn't have chili sauce, so I substituted sweet chili sauce (about 1 tsp) plus 1 tsp chicken broth + 1 tsp tomato paste. I also didn't use the 2nd TB of flour and I halved the sour cream. (Other than that I followed the recipe exactly ;-/.) Oh, except I didn't cook everything for anywhere nearly as long as suggested - more like a total of about 5 minutes. Turned out really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suible January 06, 2006

I followed this recipe exactly and found the chili sauce taste to overpower the dish. In fairness to the poster, the chili sauce I used was a store brand and maybe that was the problem. I will make this again with a better brand and will post a review at that time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ January 06, 2005
Chicken Liver Stroganoff