Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Liver Pate' Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Liver Pate'

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2014

      This is divine and just what I was looking for. Like many others, I added extra garlic and some diced shallots instead of grated onion. I sauteed the garlic and diced shallots in a bit of butter and added the livers and cooked through in the pan, instead of boiling. I swapped brandy for the cognac, as it was all I had. The boiled eggs seemed like a really strange ingredient but now I understand the richnessthat the yolks lend and the silkiness that the whites add. This will be my go to pate recipe from here on out. I'd like to try it again with some sauteed shiitake mushrooms as well. Thank you for sharing this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Made the recipe according to directions and won't give it any stars. Not good at all!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was very tasty even though I left out the cognac and parsley. I didn't shape it into a log just whipped it real good and left it in a dish so it could be spread on crackers. I didn't saute my onion as I liked the crunch that they added to the pate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Great recipe. Added some shallots, fresh thyme, fresh tarragon and parsely along with the cognac ( I sued Aspach) and it was delicious and a big hit at the last party I took it too. Like Kittencal, I sauted my onions a bit in some butter first. Otherwise just followed the recipe. Well done. The DH won't go near it - bad liver memories from his youth but I could live on this and pumpernickel. Thanks papergoddess for a winning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I love chicken livers! hmm,, about the difference between boiling and sauteeing... I usually sautee but then they are coated with flour. I don't want to use too much water here though.. I do want them to be thoroughly but not overcooked.. hmmm Maybe I'll panfry them in a little water? like I"ve seen and done with certain steaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      It was a wonderful surprise to see that my children & husband loved it! They would never go near any type of liver... go figure. Loved it. Easy and terrific

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I had to give this 3 stars for the reasons that the livers were boiled which really drained away a lot of the taste as opposed to lightly sauteing them. If you like your pate VERY mild and subtle, then this is the recipe for you. Otherwise, we really liked the idea of rolling it in the parsley. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      OK. I substituted venison for chicken, and I have no cognac so I used a little red wine. I added 1/2t allspice and a dash of thyme. The pate I made is really good if one doesn't look at it. I over cooked the liver and what I ended up with is the color of wet concrete. I will try this recipe again since it is quite flavorful and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very easy to make. I took it to a picnic on the beach and it was a big hit. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Yey! Very cool and yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      The taste is good, but the texture isn't as creamy as I would like. Perhaps boiling the pound of livers for 7 minutes was too long? Also, grating 1/2 cup of onions results in a lot of water seeping out. I squeezed the water out of the onions but maybe I should've left it in so the spread wouldn't be so dry? I will try making it again with a few tweaks to improve the texture. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This is an extremely easy and yummy way to make pate. I didn't have cognac on hand to add, and it was still fantastic. I cut down the butter a bit, but not too much as it added a lovely creaminess to the mixture. I tasted the pate when it was still warm and found the 2 tbsp of lemon juice to be overwhelming. But once it had chilled, it was fantastic so don't be fooled by warm pate like I was! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Yep, uh huh - it's delish! I increased the onion and garlic as well. Quick, easy, and impressive. I am on a 'soft' diet right now and this is really helping me stay true.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This was just fantastic! I love Pate and this was so easy and delicious. Served it at Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I'm serving it again for a New Years Eve party and I know it will go over well. This is a keeper and sure to impress! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Made this...too easy, so yummy. Will definitely make it again and again. Instructions were clear, ingredients were on hand. A great, economical pate without all the waterbath in the oven and messing around. Thankyou, papergoddess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      More onion! More garlic! More fun! Seriously though, this is a very simple recipe worth making foor parties. Best part is, you could easily customize the pate with your preferred spices. I know it probably sounds scarilageous, but I added a few small bits of green peppers for a cruncy texture. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      I made this today as an experiment for a Saturday night get-together. As the previous reviewer, I also added more onions and garlic than stated, and also I caramalized/sauteed the onions first in hot oil to add more taste and left out the cognac. This is a wonderful pate recipe. This is definately a recipe I will make again, and look forward to serving this at my get-together this weekend. Thanks so much for sharing, this is a winner!....Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      I made this for a cocktail party and it was a big hit. I used a little more onion and garlic than called for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Liver Pate'

    Serving Size: 1 (1054 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1681.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1206
    71%
    Total Fat 134.0 g
    206%
    Saturated Fat 71.6 g
    358%
    Cholesterol 2659.7 mg
    886%
    Sodium 5910.9 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 104.1 g
    208%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes