18 Reviews

This is divine and just what I was looking for. Like many others, I added extra garlic and some diced shallots instead of grated onion. I sauteed the garlic and diced shallots in a bit of butter and added the livers and cooked through in the pan, instead of boiling. I swapped brandy for the cognac, as it was all I had. The boiled eggs seemed like a really strange ingredient but now I understand the richnessthat the yolks lend and the silkiness that the whites add. This will be my go to pate recipe from here on out. I'd like to try it again with some sauteed shiitake mushrooms as well. Thank you for sharing this gem!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature February 03, 2014

Made the recipe according to directions and won't give it any stars. Not good at all!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seaportstitcher December 29, 2010

This was very tasty even though I left out the cognac and parsley. I didn't shape it into a log just whipped it real good and left it in a dish so it could be spread on crackers. I didn't saute my onion as I liked the crunch that they added to the pate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 16, 2010

Great recipe. Added some shallots, fresh thyme, fresh tarragon and parsely along with the cognac ( I sued Aspach) and it was delicious and a big hit at the last party I took it too. Like Kittencal, I sauted my onions a bit in some butter first. Otherwise just followed the recipe. Well done. The DH won't go near it - bad liver memories from his youth but I could live on this and pumpernickel. Thanks papergoddess for a winning recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CampChatsworthCook January 08, 2010

I love chicken livers! hmm,, about the difference between boiling and sauteeing... I usually sautee but then they are coated with flour. I don't want to use too much water here though.. I do want them to be thoroughly but not overcooked.. hmmm Maybe I'll panfry them in a little water? like I"ve seen and done with certain steaks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbow - Chef 536866 November 03, 2009

It was a wonderful surprise to see that my children & husband loved it! They would never go near any type of liver... go figure. Loved it. Easy and terrific

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
altocam March 27, 2009

I had to give this 3 stars for the reasons that the livers were boiled which really drained away a lot of the taste as opposed to lightly sauteing them. If you like your pate VERY mild and subtle, then this is the recipe for you. Otherwise, we really liked the idea of rolling it in the parsley. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe January 19, 2009

OK. I substituted venison for chicken, and I have no cognac so I used a little red wine. I added 1/2t allspice and a dash of thyme. The pate I made is really good if one doesn't look at it. I over cooked the liver and what I ended up with is the color of wet concrete. I will try this recipe again since it is quite flavorful and simple to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lrminator1 January 01, 2009

Very easy to make. I took it to a picnic on the beach and it was a big hit. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanpie September 23, 2008

Yey! Very cool and yummy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ June 17, 2008
Chicken Liver Pate'