8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When life gives you limes...Vacationing in the Bahamas and they don't have lemons-but they do have plenty of limes. This was very good. As per another review, I added a little bit of honey. I served this for dinner so I added some cubed swiss cheese, bacon, and quartered hard cooked eggs. It was sort of a tropical Cobb salad. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 December 14, 2010

A nice way to have chicken salad when you don't want mayonnaise in it. I would add a bit of sugar or honey to the dressing next time, to make the lime flavor less sharp. I will make this again! Thanks for posting WI Cheesehead. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado February 12, 2009

Can you believe I made this salad, loved it and completely forgot to review it? I can't, its too good to forget, so good I was looking through my reviews trying to find it again and couldn't find it... jeez! I love the lime vinaigrette that covers the chicken - I omit the radishes. Obviously good enough to be made again if Iooked through my bulging cookbooks to find it again! Thanks for sharing WI Cheesehead!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 15, 2008

Great combination of vegetables! I added a couple of sliced green onions since we love them. The dressing is very lime-y, a little too much so for us. A dab of Splenda mellowed it out some. Next time, I will try adding a little orange juice also. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie March 20, 2008

absolutely delicious--much better than my regular italian spray dressing. I omitted a few things (such as the avocado, celery, and radishes) and also left out the oil. Still a wonderful way to truss up a traditional chicken salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow September 27, 2007

Very good! The subtle flavor of the dressing really lets the flavor of the vegetables come out! I forgot to add the avocado before I took the picture, so it's not on there, but I did remember it before I ate it! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD May 27, 2007

This was a very good salad. I was looking for a recipe that had no vinegar, no dairy, and no gluten - this one fit the bill and it was easy to make and tasty! The flavor of the dressing with a bite of avacado and chicken...mmmmmm. I left the celery out because I didn't have any, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I ate almost the whole bowl myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howmanybites? March 16, 2007

I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.. the flavours are fresh and full of zing and the lime/garlic combination especially compliments the celery and radishes as well as the chicken. Raw celery here in NL isn't really great tasting at all but I used the very center pieces and leaves which had a sweeter flavour and it actually tasted ok. At the end of the day the Poulier was out of cooked chicken and supermarkets here don't sell them cooked so I roasted a bird myself and used that. Please see my rating system: 4 excellent stars for a different salad recipe, not one that tops our all time favourites but definiately one for when we fancy a change of pace and taste. I think we would also prefer this salad and its flavours on a hot balmy day in Summer.. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 09, 2007
Chicken-Lime Chopped Salad