137 Reviews

rita as always your recipes are incredible. and the amount of spice was just right. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolate drop July 09, 2009

Thank you for sharing this recipe. Will be a keeper for our family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheinMA July 04, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Marvellous ,Delicious ,very very good . Me and my family really enjoyed this .Thank you so muchhhhhhhh

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farhat hasan June 24, 2009

Well you certainly do not NeEED another review... but this marinade was delicious!!! I hate it when people change the recipe and then rate it but.. I used onion salt instead of seasoning as I never have it on hand and I used LOTS of fresh garlic and added a generous amount red pepper flakes as someone else suggested. Since I was grilling for 15 on Fathers Day and dreaded the thought of all the possible flare ups from the grease, I did what I usually do. I boiled the chicken legs and breasts for about 20 - 30 min the night before to reduce the fat level, and then put it in zip lock bags over night. Come time to grill, they browned up beautifully and everyone totally pigged out!!! (Today I will make Chicken Soup and Big Thicket Dumplings Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings with the stock.) Wonderful recipe, I will use it again. Thank you Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's June 22, 2009

A winner! Although I might have left the chicken on a bit longer (30 minutes on indirect heat), it still came out tasting and looking great. Based on comments made by reviewers, I made a few substitutions (honey for sugar, onion salt for seasoning salt, garlic for garlic powder) and additions (a bit of sesame oil and chili flakes). I also chilled the chicken in the marinade for 8 hours. Thanks Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbie #22 June 02, 2009

Great recipe. I didn't have time to marinate and chill. I just rubbed this on and cooked them. They were really great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozenmargarita May 17, 2009

Awesome flavor! I did use splenda instead of sugar! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmlexus73 April 21, 2009

Really really good!!!! So flavorful! I tripled the recipe for 6 very large leg quarters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 March 23, 2009

Very good flavor - definitely a keeper. A couple things I will do differently next time though: marinade longer and salt & pepper before throwing on the grill. This would also be very good with barbeque sauce on the last couple of turns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile March 23, 2009

These are great!! Easy & flavorful. I used chicken breasts instead of legs/thighs, and doubled the recipe and the recipe for the marinade. Am making this again tonight!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita March 07, 2009
Chicken Legs Grilled