136 Reviews

We grilled as the recipe stated, but then we put into a pan and baked for 2 hours at 300 degrees for fall-off-the-bone chicken legs. I nuked one for lunch today. WOW!!!! Extremely tasty. Such an easy recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshynetoo August 21, 2006

This is wonderful and tastes superb. I also did them in the oven as its to cold outside right now. I will make them again on the grill this summer so I can impart some wonderful smoke flavor into them. This is a keeper. My little one really enjoyed these. Thanks Rita L....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB January 21, 2006

I made 16 legs for dinner and had hardly any leftovers. I don't have any gas for my grill so I cooked them in the oven at 350 for 45 mins and then broiled for a few minutes. This was a huge hit in my house and I can't wait to try these on the grill. The flavors really went well together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 October 25, 2005

When I was preparing the marinade I was thinking, surely something isn't right...only 1 Tbls. of olive oil?? But it worked beautifully! It was a very flavorful chicken without being too spicy for the kids. We all loved it and picked the bones clean. My only alteration was I used white pepper. Thanks Rita for a great new grill recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) June 14, 2005

Quick and easy recipe. I made it for my girls and they loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kevin H. July 20, 2015

Loved it...used Splenda in place of sugar. DH preferred the chicken made with chucks chicken juice 38399 (only reason gave it 4 stars over 5), but I would definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud June 04, 2015

This is a good recipe to cook chicken legs. The flavor of the legs was very good. If you are using large legs, then it's going to take longer to cook than the stated 30-40 minutes. I cooked the legs over indirect heat because the legs were rather large. It took a little over an hour for them to cook. So, I suggest you start a little earlier than you think and just keep the legs warm if they do cook sooner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NTexas February 09, 2015

good recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FiliaCafe E. January 04, 2015

Such a basic set of ingredients with such amazing results. I was a skeptic but the reviews were so good I had to try it. I used chicken thighs which ordinarily I don't even like. As other reviewers suggested, I rubbed some of the marinade under the skin as well. I also baked it in the oven (375 for 40 minutes plus a minute under the broiler) instead of grilling. The only substitution I made was to use half regular paprika and half hot paprika because I wanted a little kick. The results were spectacular - juicy chicken with a nice crispy skin and delicious flavor. And to think this takes only ingredients that most of us always have on hand! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marylande July 04, 2014

Wonderful! I appreciated the post about using organic chicken, which we did, and we got the most wonderful, crispy chicken we've ever had on our grill. This rub/marinade is truly delicious and so easy. Definitely will make again. I doubled it for 6 legs and four thighs, as I couldn't find the quartered pieces I wanted. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andyrain June 30, 2013
Chicken Legs Grilled