135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great marinade. I will add some cayenne next time, as I do like more heat, but we had some young ones dining tonight and they loved it! Thanks for the recipe! I tripled the recipe because we had 12 legs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dissie April 12, 2011

Great recipe! So easy and tastes amazing. Everyone, from my 3-year old up, loves these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pimienta September 05, 2010

I am NOT a leg-thigh fan AT ALL but we bought some for 29 cents/lb so I had to make something. OMG, this recipe made the meat SOOOO good. Had my folks over and they want the recipe as well. Mmmmm we will DEFINITELY be adding this to the rotation of favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha wanna-be Melissa June 26, 2010

When I made these one of my guests exclaimed "This is the best grilled chicken I have ever had!" They were very moist/tender and had great flavor. I also put the BBQ sauce on the table and it remained unopened. I used Turbino sugar as suggested in some other reviews. I marinated the legs for 4 hours an the were delicious! Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kemerlingt June 04, 2010

Nice flavor but was prononced as we would have liked. I added a few extra pieces of chicken so that may have diluted the flavor too much--what I could taste we liked so we'll try again. Just note, that you might need to double the marinade which is so easily done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy July 13, 2009

I prepared this recipe using a package of chicken thighs, 6 thighs. They marinated all day, about 7 hours and then I grilled them, skin side down, on my stove top grill. I flipped them and then stuck the grill pan into my oven, set at 350°, and let them roast for about 30-40 minutes. They ended up crispy, brown and delicious! We'll be doing this one again, now that the snow is gone from our outside grill. Thanks Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude April 05, 2008

I only had an hour until I had to get these cooking so I used my food saver vacuum 'dish' to marinate the legs quickly. My husband didn't feel like firing up the grill so I baked these instead - 375 for an hour. The skin was mostly crispy but it could have used a few minutes under the broiler to finish the job. They were OK when the were first done. I think grilling makes a huge difference. I will say that the refrigerated leftover legs were very good. I gave this 5 stars because I'm sure it will be fabulous the next time I make them. I'll let them marinate longer and I'll be firing up the grill if I have to.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Athena139 March 26, 2008

We loved this. I let it sit in the refrigerator all day with the spice mix and then cooked it on a covered charcoal kettle grill for 45 minutes using indirect heat. The skin was golden and very crispy and the chicken was moist and tender. Just an update - it rained the last time I was going to make these. Baked them in a 350 degree oven for an hour and 15 minutes and they were perfect. the skin was nice and crispy and the chicken was moist and tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandyg61 August 26, 2007

Used boneless skinless chicken breast. Turned out very good and moist on the grill. Will probably add more spice next time. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 April 27, 2007

When I read that this recipe only needs 1 tsp of seasoning salt, I wondered if it would work well, but with so many great reviews, I tried it out anyway. Wow, really great chicken, and I used salt instead of seasoning salt cos I don't have any. Baked it in an oven and broiled it for about 2 minutes before taking out of oven. My family thanks you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids September 26, 2006
Chicken Legs Grilled