Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Lazone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Lazone

    Average Rating:

    656 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 656

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2003

      Thank you Luby for a great recipe. As I try to substitute low fat ingredients for most recipes, I wondered how I would go doing it for this one without sacrificing flavor but it worked out great. I substituted olive oil spray for the butter and skim evaporated milk for the cream in the sauce – I didn’t add butter to the sauce at the end of cooking either. I cut each chicken breast into 4 strips and shook them in a freezer bag along with the dry ingredients until they were evenly covered. The sauce didn’t thicken like it would have if I had used the cream but the flavor was still there and the chicken strips in the thin sauce were great served over rice. Glen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I'm giving it 5 stars because it is so easy and very moist. I enjoyed the flavor, but I do have a few notes.

      I added only a pinch of salt which was plenty. I felt at the end of cooking I could always add a bit more salt if needed, but it definitely was NOT. A small pinch was plenty for me.

      As you noted, I did add cayenne, but I like heat, so I did do that and I was glad I did.

      Make sure to use Heavy cream, it will thicken naturally, half and half or milk will NOT, and using UNSALTED butter to me is important. As I said you can always add more.

      For those who said the chicken took longer to cook. Yes, every piece of chicken regardless of weight can vary in thickness and therefore take longer. I pounded mine, just lightly in the center to make it a bit more even. I didn't flatten it however, just a light couple of pounds to make mine even. I cooked as you said, probably 6-8 minutes for me per side until golden brown before I added the cream, the chicken was close to being done at that point. You just got to adjust cooking time according to how thick your chicken is.

      I didn't find more sauce was necessary. I enjoyed it as is. I thought the nice glaze it made was just enough.

      I served mine over a yellow rice which I added some cilantro to, thin sliced the breast and laid it on top and then added chopped black olives as a garnish. Served it with sauteed green beans and shallots for a very easy dinner.

      It was very enjoyable and everyone liked it. Salty was the only thing I thought was off. But again, that can be a personal taste.

      Nice recipe!
      Thx
      kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      I can't get over how good this is! Such simple ingredients shouldn't add up to such great flavor, but they do. I didn't have boneless breast on hand, so I used skinned chicken drumsticks and some wings - just adjusted the cooking time a bit. I added a little water to the pan after I browned them and let them steam 'til done, then added the cream and butter per directions. I think a key to the good flavor of the sauce is to let the chicken really brown - the spices get very dark and the flavor is intensified. I'm not surprised someone's DH would drink the sauce from the cup! Will definitely make again - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      DELICIOUS! I doubled the sauce and served it all over fettucini because the sauce tasted so similar to alfredo sauce. It was absolutely LOVED! Thanks for a great, simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      Love it! Five stars for being big on flavor and simplicity. I tripled the sauce, knowing my sauce crazy family like I do! I followed directions to the letter, with the addition of adding a bit of cayenne and a sprinkling of parsley to the finished dish. I served with cajun rice, fresh bread and ice cold beer and felt like I was on the Bayou ;) Really, a great recipe and I'll certainly be making this again. I did sample the sauce before it was finished cooking and there was a bit of a "raw" chili flavor, but that cooks away if you let it simmer a bit...seems like the longer it simmered, the better it got. Thanks, Luby...it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      This was easy to make and my family of picky eaters all liked it. They liked having the sauce to put on it. I used only 1 tsp of chili powder when I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This was really fabulous. The chicken retained its moistness due to the cooking technique, and the sauce was so flavorful. I think my husband would have rolled in it if I had let him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      This didn't look like anything amazing, but due to the reviews, I tried it. I am so very glad I did- it was a huge hit. I have two children, ages 3 and 6, and for all four of us to agree on something is rare- they both gobbled this up, and DH has asked for it several times again. I used kosher salt and thought everything was just right. I have made it quite a few more times, and as with all leftovers (I always make extra) I have started playing a bit- I have added a good fragrant sweet curry powder instead of chili powder, and that was good, and also have stirred in a bit of peanut butter- a tremendous hit, especially with the children. If you are on the fence, please make this- something so simple and so delicious in such a short period of time is a gift in a busy household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      This tasted great; I used fresh onion and garlic since I don't use onion or garlic powder. I finely chopped half an onion and one-and-a-half cloves of garlic and sauteed them in the butter for a few minutes before adding the chicken. It turned out really yummy, but I had to keep a close eye on the onion and garlic so that they didn't burn. Don't let the chili powder scare you if you're cooking for someone who doesn't like spicy things...it wasn't spicy at all, just flavorful. This will be a repeat dish at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      WOW! What an incredible sauce! This is definitely my new favorite recipe! The sauce was already delicious so I only added another tablespoon of butter at the end. What a great recipe to make when you are having company over. Oh, I also pounded the chicken breasts to make them a little thinner. Thank you for the best recipe ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Very good recipe that is easy to make. My kids ate it up! I used half and half instead of heavy cream to reduce the fat. The sauce didn't thicken because of this though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      I was a little worried when I mixed up the spices that it would be overwhelming, but it wasn't. I made it exactly as listed, and it came out perfectly. Really easy and tasty. My husbands only complaint was that there wasn't enough - I'm going to double it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      This is a very easy and tasty dish. I've been making it for about 5 years now - ever since I first saw Chef Mike Roussel prepare it on the TV show "Breakfast from New Orleans" and hence ordered the cookbook. Everyone that I've served it to has loved it and wanted the recipe. It really is quick and simple but hardly tastes that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      I have two boys who complain about eating chicken, but, both they and the entire family loved this recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      This is a recipe that tastes like you fussed, but didn't. Easy to whip up and ingredients are usually in everyones kitchen. I seldom have boneless chicken breasts. I used bone in and rubbed them with the melted butter and seasonings. Baked in 350 oven for 1 hour. Took juice from pan chicken was in and added heavy cream. Reduced on the stove top and poured over baked chicken. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe even though I did take some creative license with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Add me to the list of this recipe's endorsers. WARNING; DOUBLE OR TRIPLE THE SAUCE INGREDIENTS. You will definitely want more sauce. Thanks luby for sharing this one with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Nice, subtle blend of flavors made the sauce perfect on the chicken and over whole-wheat noodles. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      I made this recipe for the family last night and it was big hit. I did pound out the breasts to make sure that they were even, other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. The seasonings were just right. Everyone was begging for seconds, which I did't have -so we all fought over dipping buttered bread in the sillet to get the remaining sauce. I have never seen such pushing and shoving to be the one that gets to clean the pan. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      Luby - Thanks for posting this delicious and EASY recipe. My husband actually put some of the sauce in a cup and drank it. Needless to say, this will be made in our home again. And it is something special to serve guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Now THIS is a GREAT recipe! My boys (6 & 4) LOVED it! Perfectly spiced - made the recipe exactly as described - THIS is a wonderful low-carb keeper! THANK you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Lazone

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 484.4
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    53%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 222.3 mg
    74%
    Sodium 985.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 51.3 g
    102%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites