664 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you Luby for a great recipe. As I try to substitute low fat ingredients for most recipes, I wondered how I would go doing it for this one without sacrificing flavor but it worked out great. I substituted olive oil spray for the butter and skim evaporated milk for the cream in the sauce – I didn’t add butter to the sauce at the end of cooking either. I cut each chicken breast into 4 strips and shook them in a freezer bag along with the dry ingredients until they were evenly covered. The sauce didn’t thicken like it would have if I had used the cream but the flavor was still there and the chicken strips in the thin sauce were great served over rice. Glen.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninna August 28, 2003

I'm giving it 5 stars because it is so easy and very moist. I enjoyed the flavor, but I do have a few notes.

I added only a pinch of salt which was plenty. I felt at the end of cooking I could always add a bit more salt if needed, but it definitely was NOT. A small pinch was plenty for me.

As you noted, I did add cayenne, but I like heat, so I did do that and I was glad I did.

Make sure to use Heavy cream, it will thicken naturally, half and half or milk will NOT, and using UNSALTED butter to me is important. As I said you can always add more.

For those who said the chicken took longer to cook. Yes, every piece of chicken regardless of weight can vary in thickness and therefore take longer. I pounded mine, just lightly in the center to make it a bit more even. I didn't flatten it however, just a light couple of pounds to make mine even. I cooked as you said, probably 6-8 minutes for me per side until golden brown before I added the cream, the chicken was close to being done at that point. You just got to adjust cooking time according to how thick your chicken is.

I didn't find more sauce was necessary. I enjoyed it as is. I thought the nice glaze it made was just enough.

I served mine over a yellow rice which I added some cilantro to, thin sliced the breast and laid it on top and then added chopped black olives as a garnish. Served it with sauteed green beans and shallots for a very easy dinner.

It was very enjoyable and everyone liked it. Salty was the only thing I thought was off. But again, that can be a personal taste.

Nice recipe!
Thx
kim

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook December 30, 2010

I can't get over how good this is! Such simple ingredients shouldn't add up to such great flavor, but they do. I didn't have boneless breast on hand, so I used skinned chicken drumsticks and some wings - just adjusted the cooking time a bit. I added a little water to the pan after I browned them and let them steam 'til done, then added the cream and butter per directions. I think a key to the good flavor of the sauce is to let the chicken really brown - the spices get very dark and the flavor is intensified. I'm not surprised someone's DH would drink the sauce from the cup! Will definitely make again - thanks for posting!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 January 16, 2004

DELICIOUS! I doubled the sauce and served it all over fettucini because the sauce tasted so similar to alfredo sauce. It was absolutely LOVED! Thanks for a great, simple recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-JL- January 29, 2004

Love it! Five stars for being big on flavor and simplicity. I tripled the sauce, knowing my sauce crazy family like I do! I followed directions to the letter, with the addition of adding a bit of cayenne and a sprinkling of parsley to the finished dish. I served with cajun rice, fresh bread and ice cold beer and felt like I was on the Bayou ;) Really, a great recipe and I'll certainly be making this again. I did sample the sauce before it was finished cooking and there was a bit of a "raw" chili flavor, but that cooks away if you let it simmer a bit...seems like the longer it simmered, the better it got. Thanks, Luby...it's a winner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! March 05, 2004

This was easy to make and my family of picky eaters all liked it. They liked having the sauce to put on it. I used only 1 tsp of chili powder when I made it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
augfour July 06, 2003

This was really fabulous. The chicken retained its moistness due to the cooking technique, and the sauce was so flavorful. I think my husband would have rolled in it if I had let him!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ASellers36 October 11, 2011

This didn't look like anything amazing, but due to the reviews, I tried it. I am so very glad I did- it was a huge hit. I have two children, ages 3 and 6, and for all four of us to agree on something is rare- they both gobbled this up, and DH has asked for it several times again. I used kosher salt and thought everything was just right. I have made it quite a few more times, and as with all leftovers (I always make extra) I have started playing a bit- I have added a good fragrant sweet curry powder instead of chili powder, and that was good, and also have stirred in a bit of peanut butter- a tremendous hit, especially with the children. If you are on the fence, please make this- something so simple and so delicious in such a short period of time is a gift in a busy household.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scout33 March 27, 2004

This tasted great; I used fresh onion and garlic since I don't use onion or garlic powder. I finely chopped half an onion and one-and-a-half cloves of garlic and sauteed them in the butter for a few minutes before adding the chicken. It turned out really yummy, but I had to keep a close eye on the onion and garlic so that they didn't burn. Don't let the chili powder scare you if you're cooking for someone who doesn't like spicy things...it wasn't spicy at all, just flavorful. This will be a repeat dish at our house.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe February 18, 2004

WOW! What an incredible sauce! This is definitely my new favorite recipe! The sauce was already delicious so I only added another tablespoon of butter at the end. What a great recipe to make when you are having company over. Oh, I also pounded the chicken breasts to make them a little thinner. Thank you for the best recipe ever!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blender February 11, 2004
Chicken Lazone