Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Korma Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Korma

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      This was delicious! I don't have much experience with cooking Indian food, but this was not difficult to prepare. I didn't have any buttermilk, so substituted yogurt and it worked well. -Chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Great recipe! My husband and I loved it. I agree with a few of the other reviews that the cinnamon and cloves can be a bit strong so I'll cut back on those next time. I also plan to try to sub yogurt for the buttermilk. Update - I substituted plain yogurt and I haven't gone back. It adds a wonderful texture and flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Not at all what a Korma dish should taste like. Name aside, it was alright, but nothing like korma - no smoothness, no cashewey nuttyness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This is the worst Chicken Korma recipe ever. I have eaten at Indian Restaurants literally all over the world and this recipe is nothing close to any Chicken Korma dish I have ever had. Chicken Korma is my favorite dish and this is by far the worst. I attempted this recipe 6 different times and modified it slightly the 4-6th times. There is too much cinnamon and cloves. The nutty flavor and smooth creamy texture that is the trademark of a true Chicken Korma is non-existent. I tried grinding raw almonds in a food processor to make give it that nutty flavor and it was overpowered by the cinnamon and cloves. Simply Aweful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe, and my first time cooking anything Indian, it turned out absolutely delightful! I used yogurt in place of buttermilk, and red onion. It wasn't overbearingly spicy, packed just enough heat to comfortably warm up this chilly evening. An interesting spin on the use of cinnamon I've never experienced before! Easy to make, and I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      I think this is a tasty dish, even if it isn't traditional. (I really would not know, not having much experience with Indian food.) Being a complete wimp in the 'hot and spicy' department, I added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and 1/8 teaspoon of ground red pepper (cayenne) and it was the perfect spicy for me. Just on the tip of nippy but not hot. I did not use the whole spices at the beginning, but added 50% more of each of the ground spices (except the cloves) and found it just right. I used a couple tablespoons of frozen cilantro as I had no fresh and just threw it in with the buttermilk and cumin. It was perfect over basmati rice on a cold winter evening. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I have tried a number of different Korma recipes and this one is by far the best. So easy to make with excellent flavour. My sauce was a bit thin, but that is easily rectified next time. 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I really wanted to like this recipe.My fiance and I love Indian food(she's British), especially our kormas and curries.I love to cook and cook every night ,all nationalities.This had to be one of our,if not the worst meal in years. i even tried addind cocunut milk at the end to salvage it, but no chance.Don't waste your time-try a different recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I absolutely loved the spiciness of the dish! The combination of flavors was delightfully rich and tasty. My only concern was the "watery-ness" at the end, and I followed the recipe exactly, without altering ingredients. Maybe it's supposed to be like that? I would also recommend adding a little cream or coconut milk along with the buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I was disappointed by this. The one change that I made was that I used some drained yogurt in place of the buttermilk, and I also didn't have any fresh cilantro for the end. The drained yogurt did separate and make the dish not so pretty, but that was expected. Mostly, I was pretty disappointed by the flavor. The spices did not come through nearly as much as I had expected from the quantities in the dish. It was not spicy at all. A dash more of salt and pepper helped, but I wanted it to be creamier. Also, most kormas I've had before have a coconut or nutty component, and that was lacking in this dish. If you are experience with Indian cuisine, you might not find this dish very satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Very good! Nicely spicy - added a few more spices and used yogurt instead of buttermilk. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! I've made it at least 3 times. I like using whole spices in addition to ground spices, they add more flavor and texture to the dish. I use dark meat chicken(hubby's preference), I double the amount of sauce and ground spices, and I've also found that yogurt really compliments this dish and we prefer it over the buttermilk. I usually throw in a handful of frozen peas to add some color and veggies. My Indian hubby gives this two thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Delicious. Again, subbed yogurt for the buttermilk and also added a 1/4 tsp of garam masala.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Wow. This is awesome. I don't find it very spicy as is so next time I will add some jalepeno. But other than that, love it! oh, I did use yogurt instead of buttermilk for a more authentic Indian taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Like some others, I subbed yogurt for the buttermilk and also cut the whole spices down a bit for our tastes and this was absolutely right on. Thank you for another keeper, Najwa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This is EXCELLENT! I used 4 chicken breast tenders and followed the recipe exactly. The spice mix is very nice and flavorful without being hot. The buttermilk is the secret ingredient. This is the BEST Indian based recipe I've made on Zaar so far! Made for the Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Very good; my Indian husband enjoyed this. We added peas to this in the last stages of cooking, and used yogurt instead of buttermilk. We didn't have cloves of any kind so had to give them a miss. This had a very nice heat to it; warm but not too spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      WOW!! I really think the buttermilk makes a big difference. I went out of my way to purchase some just for this recipe. My husband (who is indian) said this is his new favorite chicken korma recipe. I added a little more dried hot peppers for more of kick. But this recipe was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This was lovely!!! I used coconut milk instead of buttermilk along with a touch of yoghurt, and also added shredded coconut at the end. My two boys loved it! Will definately use again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This was very tasty, the cinammon and cloves gave it a lovely aromatic flavour.I used heavy cream instead of the buttermilk, which made it very sinful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Korma

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.6
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    49%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 48.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1017.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cardamom pods

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites