29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! I don't have much experience with cooking Indian food, but this was not difficult to prepare. I didn't have any buttermilk, so substituted yogurt and it worked well. -Chris

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine Farrar January 17, 2002

Great recipe! My husband and I loved it. I agree with a few of the other reviews that the cinnamon and cloves can be a bit strong so I'll cut back on those next time. I also plan to try to sub yogurt for the buttermilk. Update - I substituted plain yogurt and I haven't gone back. It adds a wonderful texture and flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life February 16, 2010

Not at all what a Korma dish should taste like. Name aside, it was alright, but nothing like korma - no smoothness, no cashewey nuttyness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UsagiCassidy February 23, 2009

This is the worst Chicken Korma recipe ever. I have eaten at Indian Restaurants literally all over the world and this recipe is nothing close to any Chicken Korma dish I have ever had. Chicken Korma is my favorite dish and this is by far the worst. I attempted this recipe 6 different times and modified it slightly the 4-6th times. There is too much cinnamon and cloves. The nutty flavor and smooth creamy texture that is the trademark of a true Chicken Korma is non-existent. I tried grinding raw almonds in a food processor to make give it that nutty flavor and it was overpowered by the cinnamon and cloves. Simply Aweful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Wife's Chef September 08, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe, and my first time cooking anything Indian, it turned out absolutely delightful! I used yogurt in place of buttermilk, and red onion. It wasn't overbearingly spicy, packed just enough heat to comfortably warm up this chilly evening. An interesting spin on the use of cinnamon I've never experienced before! Easy to make, and I will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pookatron January 21, 2008

I think this is a tasty dish, even if it isn't traditional. (I really would not know, not having much experience with Indian food.) Being a complete wimp in the 'hot and spicy' department, I added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and 1/8 teaspoon of ground red pepper (cayenne) and it was the perfect spicy for me. Just on the tip of nippy but not hot. I did not use the whole spices at the beginning, but added 50% more of each of the ground spices (except the cloves) and found it just right. I used a couple tablespoons of frozen cilantro as I had no fresh and just threw it in with the buttermilk and cumin. It was perfect over basmati rice on a cold winter evening. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee January 13, 2014

I have tried a number of different Korma recipes and this one is by far the best. So easy to make with excellent flavour. My sauce was a bit thin, but that is easily rectified next time. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brya_c September 08, 2013

I really wanted to like this recipe.My fiance and I love Indian food(she's British), especially our kormas and curries.I love to cook and cook every night ,all nationalities.This had to be one of our,if not the worst meal in years. i even tried addind cocunut milk at the end to salvage it, but no chance.Don't waste your time-try a different recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papparoni July 09, 2008

I absolutely loved the spiciness of the dish! The combination of flavors was delightfully rich and tasty. My only concern was the "watery-ness" at the end, and I followed the recipe exactly, without altering ingredients. Maybe it's supposed to be like that? I would also recommend adding a little cream or coconut milk along with the buttermilk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annya127 June 27, 2008

I was disappointed by this. The one change that I made was that I used some drained yogurt in place of the buttermilk, and I also didn't have any fresh cilantro for the end. The drained yogurt did separate and make the dish not so pretty, but that was expected. Mostly, I was pretty disappointed by the flavor. The spices did not come through nearly as much as I had expected from the quantities in the dish. It was not spicy at all. A dash more of salt and pepper helped, but I wanted it to be creamier. Also, most kormas I've had before have a coconut or nutty component, and that was lacking in this dish. If you are experience with Indian cuisine, you might not find this dish very satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eris June 15, 2008
Chicken Korma