Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Kelaguen - in Depth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Kelaguen - in Depth

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2007

      This is better the next day than it is the day it is prepared. The chicken really absorbs all of the flavors if you throw it in the fridge overnight. I crave this dish all the time, and since my friend (who would usually make it for me) has moved away, I wasn't sure that I could reproduce it myself! Grating that coconut was a headache, since we don't have the "easy" traditional graters that we hav back on the island. Also, there was little milk to squeeze out of the meat, so I used another can of coconut milk which turned out perfectly. After running out of lemon juice, I finished off with lime juice..and miraculously it turned out WONDERFUL! Thank you so much Lovellama for posting this recipe on here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      This is my favorite dish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Awesome recipe! Very authentic. I even add powder lemon powder in the end. Delish!!! Thank u so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      THIS is true Chicken Kelaguen. Boonie peppers would have been the kicker over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Hafa! Kelaguen is the best thing for sure...we love making this, you can buy unsweetened grated coconut at uwajimaya or other asian stores if you're in a hurry ;) this is so good if you use lots of lime :) we also just marinate the chicken in lime salt and pepper and barbeque it until the chicken is just barely done! good job...serve with chammorro tortillas ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This is exactly how I make Chicken Keleguen except that I don't squeeze out the coconut milk. I learned this dish while we were living on Guam and I took a home ec. class at GW High School. We always used red hot Thai peppers, never green but I have since had to use what I can find. Also you may need to add a bit of salt if you aren't serving it with finidini. I usually serve as a salad rather than in a wrap or pita. Fun to see this posted. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

    • on February 26, 2008

      Very nice recipe. No need to marinate the chicken overnight prior to putting this together though...either way works fine. A faster way is to buy a cooked/roasted whole chicken from Safeway (or other supermarket, if available). The best way to enjoy is during a fiesta with red rice, lumpia, pancit, chicken adobo, and bonelos aga! Hmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      A little Tip: my mom makes this all the time and is well knowned for it. But what she does is just marinates it in salt and pepper. And when it comes time to Barbecue it she cooks until it is fully cooked but still juicy that way the kelaguen isnt dry. You could also try wrapping it like a burrito in a flour tortilla it tastes really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Kelaguen - in Depth

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1123.2
     
    Calories from Fat 621
    55%
    Total Fat 69.0 g
    106%
    Saturated Fat 39.5 g
    197%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 4535.1 mg
    188%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 13.3 g
    53%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 61.8 g
    123%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites