Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Katsu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Katsu

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2006

      Lucky I live Hawaii. I have easy access to tonkatsu sauce. This is the sauce recipe from "Hawaii's Best Local Dishes" Katsu sauce: Combine 1/3 cup catsup, 1/4 cup shoyu, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce, and a pinch of Ground red pepper. I also cheat and go the easy route by combining equal parts catsup and oyseter sauce or I use Vietnamese Sweet chili sauce instead. (You can probably find this in the oriental section of the grocery or chinatown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I lived in hawaii for 3 yrs and this recipe reminded me of L&L drive in. Just remember to have thin filet of chicken and dont be shy on panko. Also i felt that the recipe had a little to much ground clove. However, I didn't have precise means of measurement to insure if thats the case.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Very good chicken. We did not care for the sauce but I loved the sauce recipe suggested by Amy in Hawaii. DH and DD like it with Ponzu sauce. I deep fried it and I served it with rice and green beans dressed with the Ponzu and a little oil. Very good. I will be making this again. I think this would also be very nice with shrimp and actually remember my brother getting something similar at a Japanese restaurant when we were kids. Thanks for posting. UPDATE: I ate this cold for lunch with Amy's sauce and it was wonderful. This would, therefore, be a great dish to take on a picnic or for lunch. Just make it the night b4 and your ready to go.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Oh my goodness is this fabulous! Even my very picky husband LOVED it! I cut the chicken into strips so I ended up needing 6 eggs & 2 cups panko as a result of doing this. Also instead of regular salt I used season salt and added some to the dry panko flakes as well as the chicken strips. We both agreed that the chicken itself is so good you don't even need the sauce but it's nice to have on the side anyways. Many thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This is so very good! The chicken was perfectly crisp on the outside, flavorful and oh-so juicy on the inside! And I'd never had tonkatsu sauce before. It was nice as well, though I think I prefer a terriyaki-type sauce. Great recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Loved it - the sauce is so perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Wonderful! The chicken was moist, crispy and flavorful, the sauce was terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Very, very tasty. I loved tha panko, it really made a crispy crust. I used Amy in Hawaii's recipe for the sauce because I didn't have everything for your version, and it went fast once served. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Hubby loves this recipe! I use terryaki sauce instead though. It's just like the local sushi restaurant's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      My daughter took 2nd place in a Japanese language contest today and she wanted a Japanese dish for dinner. We modified this -- using pork instead of chicken -- as a form of Tonkatsu. The pork was pretty thick so I browned it on the stovetop and then finished it in the oven (375 for 20 minutes). Delicious! We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Excellent. I have used chicken thighs before but I like it. Very moist and with this outstanding sauce on it, well...I'm just thankful I made extra for lunch tomorrow. This is going in my favorites and out to my 6 sisters as well! Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      I made JUST the sauce from this recipe and opted for #48606 for the chicken. I did make a few changes based on what I had on hand... omitted the applesauce altogether, used only 1 tsp sugar and used 1 tablespoon cocktail sauce (!) instead of ketchup. I know that's a lot of changes, but I think the basic flavor was still there enough to warrant a review. It was amazingly delicious and I've saved it into my "Encore!" cookbook for all time. ;o) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      This was darned near a 5. For our tastes, I need to work on the sauce a little. I think I'll trot over to my favorite sushi restaurant and ask for a little sauce to go to see if I can determine what's missing. Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Katsu

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.1
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    26%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 437.8 mg
    145%
    Sodium 720.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 69.3 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites