Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Jerky for Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Jerky for Dogs

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2012

      One thing I think we should keep in mind ... when making a bigger "batch" they should be kept in the freezer until ready to pull out for eating as there are no preservatives. I take a few out and put in the fridge which will last me a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Update: 04/03/2008 My babies really love these. Dreamer has updated the recipe and it is truly a winner. Original Comments: I made these for PAC Spring 2008. While I had some problems with the recipe as written the end result was a hit with my fur babies. The chicken was boiled, cooled for easier slicing and placed in the oven first at 170 degrees as my oven won't go below that. They were baked for 30 minutes and barely warm. The temp was bumped up to 250 degrees F and they were baked for 1 1/2 hours, turning ever 30 minutes. Finally, the oven was turned off and the jerky was allowed to continue drying as the oven cooled down. I really enjoyed making these for my babies and they really enjoy eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I have made the chicken jerky in a dehydrator, and it's the best way to go, imo. Use raw chicken breasts for this. I have a six-tray dehydrator and can dry 7 pounds of chicken breasts at a time. The trick is to partially freeze the chicken breasts so that you can slice them about 1/4-inch slices. Drying time is 8-10 hours depending on how thick the slices are. We call this 'chicken crack' at my house, as the dogs go wild for it. Since there are no preservatives (which is healthier), I keep my jerky in a big zip-lock bag in the freezer and just take out what I'll be giving them that day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I have to admit, my chicken jerky did not turn out pretty like the ones pictured. Mine fragmented and ripped apart as I tried to slice them. But, my dogs didn't care! That's what is so great about dogs...you can make as many mistakes as you want, and they still are happy to see you and love you just the same! Regardless of how my treats looked, my precious dogs loved them! Tucker and Bailey are very happy that I tried this recipe! I made this for 1234 Zaar Tag!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      I was looking for a recipe for this! My dog loves chicken jerky and I didn't want to buy the packaged chicken jerky for dogs because of all of the news about dogs getting sick from the chicken jerky that was made overseas. The chicken jerky I saw at Costco (made in the USA) was almost $20.00 for the package! This turned out great even though I didn't add the garlic salt. My dog loves this as much as the packaged stuff. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Yes dogs will eat just about anything including things that are not good for them. Garlic is one of those things. If you feel your dog is so fussy he/she wouldn't eat chicken ALONE then use a spice that is safe for dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Dreamer you have done it again and my pup Libby is one happy dog! She loves these treats. They were done within 2 hours and were very easy to make - I boiled the chicken beforehand. I also just used some on sale chicken tenders that worked easy. Tagged this in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders April 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Jerky for Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.6
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    48%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 13.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites