Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Jalfrezi

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      This recipe deserves a whole sky "flooded" with stars! I made this for lunch this afternoon and everyone who had it says they want to have it for dinner too. I made it equivalent to 4 servings. I did use the tomato paste but the tomato slipped my sight. Generally, vegetable jalfrezi is a favourite with me, now my mom and brother say that this one's a favourite with them:) Thank you for the fabulous recipe. Will make it many many times!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      Great Recipe. I usually cook traditional bangladeshi dishes..but the jalfrezi dish was great ..turned out to be similar in taste to what you get from the indian restaurants in the UK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Very good recipe. :) I was going to post this recipe and found yours (I always do a search before posting). Very similar to what I make only I add the ginger garlic to the marinade and marinate for 2 hours. Also I saute 1/2 cup of onion paste in a little oil till golden brown and add 1/2 cup of tomato puree(instead of using tomato paste) to this and cook for 10-15 mins and keep aside. I then add this to the sliced onions when they are being sauteed. I use 2 tsp of my garam masala which contains cumin and coriander. The rest of the method is the same. I just felt I could give you my version of Chicken Jalfrezi. We enjoy this dish a lot too. I serve it normally with Indian bread. Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      This was excellent and we'll be having this one again in the future. This went great with some pilau rice. It was quite mild, yet full of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Made this for dinner tonight and it was yummy. I added some crushed tomatoes out of a can instead of the tomato called for. I found this made a nice, rich gravy and not watery at all.<br/>I made jasmine rice with ginger and coriander from another recipe from this site. Was a yummy meal and will definitely make it again for dinner parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

    • on August 25, 2009

      this recipe was excellent.... i doubled it and used chicken breast instead of thighs due to personal preferemce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This is one of the best I've made, it's simple to make and tastes as good, if not better, than many I've tried in restaurants. Thanks for posting it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Very, very delicious! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs.I also substituted the medium tomato for a half can of diced tomato that I had left over in the fridge. Turned out great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      Hi, I made the jalfrazi last night for dinner & it was gorgeous everyone enjoyed it & i have to say 'it will be a dish i will be making alot in the future' so thankyou for a lovely recipe. Maria.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I just made it today and it is delicious. I used chicken breats instead and it is amazing. Thanks alot for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Hey DiB's this recipe is very good....I did not have chicken breasts on hand instead i used a whole chicken(cut into small pieces) also i did add some carrots. End result is simply wonderful.Thank U

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      I am mad about curry and love the way Indian restaurants in the UK make them and Jalfrezi is my preferred dish. I do a lot of traveling and have eat in hundreds of different Indian restaurants this Jalfrezi is the best I have ever had. I used real ginger and tined tomatoes so I could use the tomato juice to make a bit more of a sauce. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      This was delicious! I made it exactly to the recipe, but for some reason my chicken didnt have any sauce so I added a can of chopped Indian Spiced Tomatoes at the end of cooking and simmered for a further 10 minutes. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Very very good. I used chicken breasts instead, personal preference. But followed everything else as directed. Served with Saffron rice by SueL #47592. PERFECT combination. Thank you, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      Great recipe! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, and left them to sit in the spice mixture for 2 hours (as I had the time). In everything else I followed the recipe exactly as posted. Since it wasn't specified, I sliced the green pepper in thin strips, the onions in rings, and I chopped the tomato. This is a mild curry with a fantastic flavor; thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Jalfrezi

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 379.9
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    33%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 188.8 mg
    62%
    Sodium 256.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 47.2 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes