16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe deserves a whole sky "flooded" with stars! I made this for lunch this afternoon and everyone who had it says they want to have it for dinner too. I made it equivalent to 4 servings. I did use the tomato paste but the tomato slipped my sight. Generally, vegetable jalfrezi is a favourite with me, now my mom and brother say that this one's a favourite with them:) Thank you for the fabulous recipe. Will make it many many times!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani June 10, 2002

Great Recipe. I usually cook traditional bangladeshi dishes..but the jalfrezi dish was great ..turned out to be similar in taste to what you get from the indian restaurants in the UK

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M MANNAN April 22, 2002

Very good recipe. :) I was going to post this recipe and found yours (I always do a search before posting). Very similar to what I make only I add the ginger garlic to the marinade and marinate for 2 hours. Also I saute 1/2 cup of onion paste in a little oil till golden brown and add 1/2 cup of tomato puree(instead of using tomato paste) to this and cook for 10-15 mins and keep aside. I then add this to the sliced onions when they are being sauteed. I use 2 tsp of my garam masala which contains cumin and coriander. The rest of the method is the same. I just felt I could give you my version of Chicken Jalfrezi. We enjoy this dish a lot too. I serve it normally with Indian bread. Fay

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl from India February 22, 2004

This was excellent and we'll be having this one again in the future. This went great with some pilau rice. It was quite mild, yet full of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaelah January 11, 2004

Made this for dinner tonight and it was yummy. I added some crushed tomatoes out of a can instead of the tomato called for. I found this made a nice, rich gravy and not watery at all.<br/>I made jasmine rice with ginger and coriander from another recipe from this site. Was a yummy meal and will definitely make it again for dinner parties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbatool April 18, 2013

this recipe was excellent.... i doubled it and used chicken breast instead of thighs due to personal preferemce :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 August 25, 2009

This is one of the best I've made, it's simple to make and tastes as good, if not better, than many I've tried in restaurants. Thanks for posting it !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr CurryMan November 29, 2007

Very, very delicious! I used chicken breasts instead of thighs.I also substituted the medium tomato for a half can of diced tomato that I had left over in the fridge. Turned out great. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trini girl in BP December 24, 2006

Hi, I made the jalfrazi last night for dinner & it was gorgeous everyone enjoyed it & i have to say 'it will be a dish i will be making alot in the future' so thankyou for a lovely recipe. Maria.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msc- October 05, 2006
Chicken Jalfrezi