82 Reviews

I give 5 stars to the version I came up with, based on reviews here and my own preferences.

I love sauce, so I doubled it by doubling the broth and wine. I removed the chicken at the end and reduced it/added a bit extra flour to thicken as it was pretty runny, as others mentioned. This created a nice consistency and plenty of sauce for the wild rice, etc.

When creating the flour mix, I doubled the salk, pepper, and paprika, as well as added a bit of rosemary and very small amount of cayenne pepper.

I also added some sliced mushrooms, onion, minced carrot, and garlic with the chicken for a flavor my partner and I both loved. I added a small splash of lemon juice at the end for an extra kick.

Did the whole thing on the stove instead of the oven and only simmered it for about 15 minutes or so. Turned out very tender and moist.

Will make it again the same way! I can see it being bland if following the exact directions, but this version was spectactacular. I served it with herbed wild rice.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Novice Cooking Boy July 21, 2010

my family raved about this and they are not easy to impress! they loved the chicken and sauce, i loved the easy recipe and the fact that i could stick it in the oven, set the timer and relax. thanks for a wonderful dinner, panNan!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 21, 2003

This was very good. Not a bold flavored dish but good. I made as written except I thickened the sauce at the end with some flour. It was delicious. May add a bit of garlic next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love August 17, 2010

This is one of my very favorite reciepes.it's simple and it's healthy..it's sooo easy thnak you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dcorsini November 15, 2003

Souper easy and SOOO delicious!! I was a bit skeptical of the flavor because of the ease when preparing... but no one would ever guess that it took so little effort for the amazing flavor!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megano o November 08, 2003

Great basic recipe. I increased the flour and spices by 50%, doubled the liquids and incorporated a good pinch of ground cumin. After cooking and grating parmesan over the finished dish I threw a small handful of well-chopped parsley over the top and returned to the oven, covered, for five minutes. I think using a wide, shallow dutch oven probably helped produce slightly browned chicken and a sauce that was near perfect in its consistency.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul C. April 19, 2014

I did a lot of what novice boy said - doubled the salt, pepper & paprika in the flour mix, doubled the sauce, cooked it all on the stove and took the chicken out, added a tablespoon of flour and reduced the sauce. It was really delicious - will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leigh AH October 10, 2012

Loved this recipe! I was using my oven for roasted potatoes, so I cooked this in a cast iron skillet on the stovetop the entire time. I did not double the sauce and there was plenty for servingbon the chicken, but not enough for potatoes. After the chicken was done, I reduced the sauce by half in the skillet, and it got rave reviews! Last thing, I also pounded the chicken for even thickness, helped for cooking in the skillet instead of the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieMomma June 18, 2011

Wow! What a fabulous simple dish! I didn't change a thing except to double the wine sauce. I usually tinker with recipes, but this is perfect the way it is! Thanks for this delicious, easy, recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergirl November 03, 2010

Excellent!!! I made this last night, didn't change a thing....No wonder it has received such high reviews!!! Going to be a regular at my house.......

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick B(2) December 02, 2003
Chicken in White Wine Sauce