Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken in Lemon Caper Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken in Lemon Caper Butter

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2012

      Reading the reviews, I am a little annoyed at all the pickyness. This recipe needs exactly what is prescribed: chicken with skin and bone, and all that butter, and I promise you, it won't kill you! Thank you: I made the sauce as given, and we loved the butter. It was a lovely buttery sauce and really, subbing olive oil is just not the same thing. I tweaked one thing: I first roasted the chicken pieces in the oven with a smidgeon of BBQ sauce, so they would colour. Made the sauce exactly as set out, then added the half-roasted chicken pieces. Not sure why the 1/2 t paprika is in there, as that made nooo diff to the end result. One forgets how great real butter tastes in a dish!! The capers got somewhat lost in the overall taste. But no matter, this should be called "Lemon Butter Chicken"!!! I made white basmati rice to go with it, young carrots, and a large mixed salad. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Taste easily 5 stars. However, directions are 3 stars. Aside from the butter, capers, and chicken there are no directions as what to do with lemon juice, mushrooms, garlic, and seasonings. I was surprised with so many reviews that this has not been addressed. I seasoned the breasts wtih salt, pepper, and paprika. I used fresh mushrooms so sauteed them first and removed from pan to saute chicken in butter, lemon, and capers. I used boneless, skinless, thighs so mine cooked in about 20 minutes. I added the cooked mushrooms at the last few minutes to heat up. Served over whole wheat linguine. The flavor really was delicious; I hope the chef revises the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

    • on November 12, 2009

      I made this using halibut instead of chicken and it was delicious! I will try chicken next time. I also used fresh mushrooms since I hate canned ones but left everything else the same. Thanks for the recipe! It will be added to my regulars. Directions are great, so simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This chicken is so good! I made it to go with some mashed potatoes, Greek Salad and cole slaw. This is a repeater! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Awesome is how my hubby described this recipe! I found the chicken moist & flavourful but I scraped off the sauce since I don't like mushrooms. But, my husband could not quit raving about the chicken & the sauce. As a personal preference, I used boneless, skinless chicken but followed the recipe otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Wordeful! I used olive oil instead of butter and I reduced the ammount to 2 tablespoons of olive oil cause I'm watching the calories. I used 2 cloves of garlic that I cut in half and remove them later after cooking. It's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Very good and delicious as the recipe is written. The only thing I did differently (the second time I made it) was to dredge lightly chicken in sweet rice flour prior to frying which made it brown nicer and leave a thicker gravy. I do not recommend using chicken legs - they just don't look as pretty since the meat pulls from the bone when done. Thighs look absolutely wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Delicious! I will make this again. I went with extra garlic, fresh mushrooms, and less salt - perfect! Thanks for posting echo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      This has amazing flavor! I skinned the chicken, and did use more garlic. I love that this recipe doesn't require a lot of attention-it just turns out great on it's own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Had thighs with skin and bone - added extra garlic and lemon juice. DH and I enjoyed another way to fix chicken. Broiling, to crisp up the skin is a good idea --wish I had thought of it. Thanks, echo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Oh my God, this was wonderful. The only things I did differently: I added more garlic (of course...you can never have too much garlic) and I used chicken breasts that I cut into cubes. It was so yummy!! I really loved it, and everyone raved. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks so much! Update: If you use chicken breasts (boneless, skinless) and light margarine, this is actually pretty light! We've recently started a diet, and after I calculated the calories, it was something like 423 with 17 grams of fat for one breast each (and that's counting the sauce, so if you aren't slurping all that down, it's even better for you!). Just a tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This is very yummy. The only thing I didn't care for were the mushrooms but I think that's because they were canned instead of fresh so I'll use fresh next time. I did increase the garlic. The sauce was wonderful with pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      I made this for dinner tonight. Whats not to love about this dish. It tastes good, quick and easy to make, looks great on the plate, plus its low carb! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This is absolutely, positively the BEST!!! Since I was short on time, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I cut into strips. I cooked the strips in the butter sauce about 3 minutes on each side. The chicken was moist and tender and the lemony butter sauce is to die for. I can't wait to make this dish again. Thanks for sharing, eebrag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      I'm giving this a 5 star for the wonderful flavor and juicy tenderness of the chicken. However, I would highly recommend that you decrease the butter to 1/4 cup or even less and broil to brown the chicken after it has simmered. Makes for a nice crispy crust. I used fresh mushrooms instead of the canned and three cloves of garlic. I simmered my chicken thighs for about 40 minutes and broiled it for about 5 minutes, served it on a bed of basmamti rice and it turned out great. This is one of those make often recipes. Absolutely wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      TENDER! Tender! TENDER!This is an easy recipe and can be made better by cutting the butter in half! That`s a lot of fat. I browned the seasoned chicken thighs in the melted 4 tablespoons of butter. Then added the 3 cloves minced garlic, fresh mushrooms and the rest of the ingredients. Simmered for 1/2 an hour. I do wish I put it under the broiler to recrisp the skin. We discarded th skin But my DH would have eaten it crisp! Added a couple of more capers to brighten it up. Anyway it is fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken in Lemon Caper Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 951.3
     
    Calories from Fat 672
    70%
    Total Fat 74.6 g
    114%
    Saturated Fat 29.3 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 317.1 mg
    105%
    Sodium 1089.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 65.2 g
    130%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites