Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Gyros for 2 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Gyros for 2

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2009

      Did not like this at all. Chicken was too lemony, and the sauce was too bitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      We were disappointed in this. The chicken was good, but we did not care for the sauce. This could be because we frequent the best greek place in the state and are used to their sauce. I'll keep the marinade recipe (the fresh lemon juice makes it!!), but I think I will look for another sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I made it according to the recipe, except for the cucumber sauce. It was a little bland, so I added 1t garlic & 1/4t of salt. It was awesome! Thank you so much!! The bitterness that someone experienced may be from the cucumber itself being bitter. It's good to taste them before adding them to any recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      I only tried the marinade as I have a tzatziki sauce i like already. I did cut down on the amount of lemon juice per other suggestions but I just did not like it. I had mine marinate for 3 hours and it did make a difference my flavoring each slice but it had a rather funny taste to it. I cannot put my finger on it but it was not very appetizing to make again but my sauce is so delish that we finished it off. sorry. i tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      These were really good. I served them with some dill pickle dip that I had to use up and it was so good. I will make again, my kids liked the lemony chicken as it the next day. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I agree with the latest comment. the lemon flavor in the chicken was extremely overpowering and I had to look up other tzatziki sauce recipes to fix this one. Ended up using olive oil, sour cream salt and sugar to get the sauce to at least be edible. HORRIBLE RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I thought this was very good! Loved the marinade and the great flavor it imparted to the chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This was a quick and refreshing lunch for a warm Summer afternoon. I served in pitas and I think it would be better on naan. The chicken came out nice and juicy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Quick and light warm day meal. I used mint instead of dill because my husband doesn't like dill, which turned out fine however, would have been better with the dill. I marinated the chicken for 3 hours and think it could have used even longer. We will make these again! Served with a greek salad...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      OMG!!! So good. I had low expectations for this recipe because when I go out I only order lamb or beef gyros but this right here is a KEEPER. The only thing I did differently was to add the onions to the marinade and cook it with the chicken and I also used a little butter to saute the chicken so it would get too dry or burn in the pan. I didn't make the cucumber sauce since I found the best store bought Tzatziki Sauce at Costco, I refuse to bother making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Bf and I loved this! I made mostly as written. I marinaded the chicken for about 3 hours instead of 1 and was forced to use FF sour cream instead of yogurt (I could have sworn I had yogurt in the fridge!). It was so good! The sour cream gave it a thicker consistency, and although I'm a fan of cucumber yogurt sauce, I really enjoyed it this way. We had it for lunch before we both had to work a late shift and it was just what we needed! Thanks for a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Very good flavor. I used my food processor to make the cucumber sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      To much lemon and not enough flavor. Will try again without the lemon and add more spices for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      It was so delicious! I loved them and the cucumber sauce was awesome, I made double the amount of sauce because my fiance and I usually go heavy on sauces and it was a good thing I did because we used all of it! yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Love this one. make it all the time. Something that is fast, easy, and very good....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      It was wonderful! I made the yogurt sauce with fresh dill, garlic paste, lemon juice, salt, and black pepper... it accompanied the chicken quite well! :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I'm not a very experienced cook but I tried this recipe tonight after having Gyros for the first time last week at a diner and it came out amazing! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Just like the Greek Restaurants!!! I needed to make this fast, so I didn't even marinate. I just sliced the chicken really thin, put all the ingredients in the wok, and let it simmer till the chicken was cooked. I imagine that if I had had time to marinate the chicken, it would have tasted even better. My three children loved it too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Loved it! I even got my picky 5yr old to eat it, so a big THANK YOU! I used greek yogurt and ommited the dill, and added a little olive oil and lemon juice to the sauce. And added S&P to everything. ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Gyros for 2

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.9
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    51%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 73.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 165.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites