Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2011

      Gumbo has a long and storied history. When you go back to the roots, in a regional sense, there are two types. The white or Cajun gumbo from southwest or south-central Louisiana, and the red or Creole gumbo which developed around New Orleans where tomatoes were more readily available. This recipe is neither.

      This simply isn%u2019t gumbo. It is a very bland vegetable chicken soup that leaves anybody trying gumbo for the first time thinking%u2026 it is really strange that all those rednecks down on the Gulf Coast love this stuff so much? Please folks gumbo is really good and shouldn%u2019t have it%u2019s good name sullied by something that isn%u2019t gumbo. This chicken soup might be a great tummy warmer in the dead of winter in Wisconsin but nothing more.

      I made this recipe just to see if the recipe I%u2019ve used for years was simply too complex for no good reason. It may be a bit more complex but there is a reason that people have made gumbo this way for 150 years. This concoction as it stands tasted a lot like hospital food. The things that are missing here that remain critical to creation of authentic gumbo are, to name a few: thyme, basil, cayenne pepper and although thickened with okra a little file%u2019 powder would add the final essence of a really tasty gumbo. Deglazing the trinity with a little white wine would also add body and character. Lastly a really thick dark brown roux is a must to carry the complex and wonderful mixture of ingredients in gumbo to the next level. I gave this recipe a one because it is chicken soup, and I like chicken soup, but unless renamed I would give it a large negative number if they were available for forgeries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2014

      This is not gumbo. Gumbo is when you first start out making a roux with oil/flour. The roux you want the color of peanut butter or DARKER. If you smell burn..throw out and start over. It takes roughly 30-45 min. slow cookn' to make this roux constantly stirring. Then you add your trinity which consist of onion/peppers/celery...let this sweat a bit then add you stock made from the chicken bones or the shrimp/crab shells. You bring this to a boil then simmer for a couple hours.......add your cooked meat, chopped okra and simmer for another 30 min. Check for seasoning using cayenne pepper, garlic powder and salt. Of course you know to season the water you are making the stock with also. If you are making a seafood gumbo add the okra first...cook for 30 min. until okra is done then add seafood and cook for 5 minutes. Turn off and let sit 15 minutes b4 serving over hot rice. Top off with FILE'. I do not use tomatoes at all in my gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Responding to Pawpaw Mac: This recipe was not supposed to be for gumbo! It was meant to be a SOUP with flavors reminiscent of gumbo. When people want gumbo, they seek out authentic gumbo. But sometimes they just want a soup that is lighter and has some of the notes of a gumbo. That was the intent, I believe, of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

    • on March 01, 2010

      This was excellent soup. It had a lot more flavor than I expected it to. I left out the bacon and green peppers. I increased the rice to 1/2 cup and increased the okra to 2 cups. Since I increased those two things I also added an extra cup of water. Normally I'd use dried parsley even if the recipe calls for fresh, but this time I used fresh parsley and I'm glad I did. I'll use the fresh parsley again next time. I only used one small chicken breast but I still thought there was enough chicken in it. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

    • on March 26, 2009

      Delicious! I omitted the bacon and we didn't miss it at all. Simple recipe - definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I made this today and I must say it was soooooo tasty that I had 2 bowls of it ! My husband just loves it too. Thanks for share it ! I recommend this Gumbo to anyone !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was so yummy. I did omit the okra due to the fact I am not a fan. Also this made more than 3 servings, but no complaints here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      What a great soup. I added a half pound of diced smoked sausage. I did miss the traditional roux, but loved the fact I didn't have to stand over the stove making the roux. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      I was feeling a little under the weather and wanted chicken soup. I found this recipe and loving gumbo made it for dinner. I left off the bacon drippings and used some grilled chicken strips. The okra, tomatoes and green peppers were fresh from t he garden. I did add some freshly ground pepper and a medium diced carrot. Delicious and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      I made this today for dinner and my husband and I really really enjoyed it. The only thing that I added was 1/4 tea. of garlic powder and pepper. I also cooked one cup of rice in some chicken broth separate since I wanted more rice than called for. Other than that it was delicious and will be added to my favorites!! Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      I thought this was really good! It has a nice combo of flavors, and I really enjoyed the okra! It is a great dish to serve on a chilly day... thanks so much for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Easy! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      Yummy. We had a lot of okra to use so we upped that quite a bit (I'd say we used about 3cups). I omitted the green peppers and added some basic spices (thyme, pepper, paprika, etc). Made a great supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Great,I added red peppers instead of green and diced tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      I loved it thank you so much. I added Cayenne to mine...but I love everything spiced up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Wonderful, healthy recipe. Highly recommended. Suggested minor modifications: add an extra bay leaf and skip the bacon drippings and green peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Gumbo Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (814 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.9
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    41%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 100.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 2686.6 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 41.7 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites