210 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fun change from boring old formal food! I added some salt to the plain breadcrumbs, marinated the chicken for about an hour, and baked the bites for about 15 minutes. Very savory and peppy! Thanks for a fun recipe! Now I'm going to research dipping sauces ...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie September 12, 2003

On next try, I will add a dash of cumin, and probably use 1/2 bread crumbs and 1/2 crushed cornflake crumbs (or maybe cracker crumbs...). I up'd the garlic and this was a hit! I would much prefer these sliced WAY thinner than I did the first time, so that they're more 'crunchy' instead of thick chunks of meat (even though cut to nugget-size). Thanks for sharing! Keeping this one to tweak & try again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing June 29, 2003

I think these would have been better if they had been marinated longer than the 30 minutes. I left out the cayenne pepper (kids) and added some salt and Italian seasoning to my plain bread crumbs. My least pickiest 8-year-old did eat some, but didn't like it when he got a piece of garlic that escaped being removed before baking. I'm sure a good dipping sauce would make them better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rma123 April 25, 2003

These were delicious! I added a little bit more cayenne and they really had a bite! Hubby worked late and ate them for breakfast!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina April 25, 2003

Healthy and good. I made with Panko instead of regular bread crumbs... Watch the cayenne useage if you have someone sensitive to spicy foods; a little goes a long way! Take my word for it. Husband and kids loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londa F. January 07, 2015

These turned out to be great chicken nuggets. I only had italian seasoned breadcrumbs on hand, so I used those instead of plain breadcrumbs. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T. These chicken bites were easy to prepare, and were quite delicious. I'll be making them again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrunchbox December 21, 2014

These turned out awesome! I made exactly as directed. The chicken was juicy and had the perfect amount of spice. My husband loved it as well. I served it over pasta with alfredo sauce. I'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks June 30, 2014

After reading all of the rave reviews, I made this as an appetizer. I followed the recipe without making any changes except for the cooking time. After the specified time, the pieces still had not browned (I do have an oven thermometer that works) and I had to almost double the baking time so that the pieces didn't look so anaemic. The flavor to me was just okay. The cayenne was barely noticeable. I don't know if I'd make this again but if I do, I'd have to bump up the seasoning and/or serve it with a dipping sauce. On the plus side, this is probably a lot healthier than frying the chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm March 23, 2014

I made these for a somewhat large gathering of people (I tripled the recipe) and they were great! Everyone really enjoyed them. They have a nice little kick to them but they are not overpowering as far as spice is concerned. I highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshleyPocket November 05, 2013
Chicken Garlic Bites