Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Fried Steak With Peppered Cream Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Fried Steak With Peppered Cream Gravy

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2014

      Mmmm comfort food at its best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Made as a special treat for DS. We loved it! My meat was very tender, and it was seasoned just right. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I've tried to re-create this old cafe classic before, using cubed steak. A waste of money & time, because it always turned out tough and chewy. Using sirloin is the answer!! This gravy has just enough kick from the cayenne to take it over the top! As Andi did, I added a few drops of Kitchen Bouguet to add color. Otherwise, made no changes. We wanted to lick our plates!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Just what we needed on a day at the farm. A nice, tasty way to end the day. A cold rainy day turned into a cold rainy Spring evening, and there was a hankering for some good ol' fashioned cooking. in our big freezer I had some "minute" round steaks that would become a perfect fit for this warm to the bone delicious dish. I followed this recipe exactly, even the tenderizing part-which; worked perfectly. I did however; add 2 drops of Kitchen Bouquet (a browning agent) to the gravy to give it a hint of color. Just like Mary Poppins, "Practically Perfect in Everyway!" We loved it, and Dennis had to wait to eat so I could snap a quick photo. Thanks so much ~Nimz~ Made for just the heck of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Delicious! We love chicken fried steak with cream gravy, and this recipe is so yummy! I used cube steaks so I was able to eliminate the tenderizing step. This doesn't make a lot of gravy, so I doubled the recipe. Next time, I think I'll triple the gravy amounts so that we'll have enough to serve over our mashed potatoes, too. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Nimz ~ this was fantastic! It was my first time making CFS and now that I know how easy and yummy it is at home, it's going to be a favorite! We failed to be the crap out of the meat but that was our error not the recipe. Next time that poor meat won't know what happened!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was my first time ever making chicken fried steak; in fact, it was my first time eating it, but my son and husband love it and have ordered it at restaurants. We really enjoyed this comforting and delicious meal. It can get a little messy to prepare when pounding the meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Great recipe and no special trips to the store for ingredients! This is simple, satisfying comfort food. This was my first time making this ever and SO loved it. We will be making this again. Congrats on your win and thanks for this winner!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Delish! I've always loved chicken fried steak with cream gravy and this one is very good. Thanks Nimz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Very good! I actually used thin sliced chicken breasts. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Great comfort food right here! The gravy is just wonderful, it really kicks this dish up! This is my first time making chiken fried steak, and def. not my last! Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      My boyfriend requested chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes, so I picked this out to try for him. I'd never done chicken fried steak, so it was fun to do! I think I needed the oil hotter, because it didn't get as crisp as it should have. I am looking forward to trying this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Loved this recipe. I especially loved the bite of the cayenne pepper....I will admit that I didn't measure it, we like spicy so I just added, probably a little more than the recipe called for....just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      Fantastic recipe for Chicken Fried Steak! I increased the recipe and made this for a Sunday brunch with homemade biscuits on the side, I increased the cayenne and used seasoned salt, this is comfort food at it's best! my family absolutely loved this, there was not a speck of any leftovers! thanks for sharing this winner hon, we loved it!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe for Chicken Fried Steak : ) I have made different variations of this recipe for many years and this one is right up there with the best. I used cube steak, eliminating the need to pound the steaks out. I also used canned evaporated milk in place of the regular milk to make the gravy. The cayenne made a delightful addition to the flavor of the steak. I will definitely make this recipe again! Thanks so much for posting, NimrodCook! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      Cut this recipe down to serve 2 and used two sirloin steaks which I pounded rather thin. We really enjoyed this dinner - very flavorful and thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This was really good. Liked the cayenne in it! We like our cfs really tender so the only thing I would change is to tenderize the meat in addition to pounding it out thinner. thanks for a great recipe Nim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      My DH loves Chicken fried steak with cream gravy. This was delicious and easy to make. I did use soy milk in the gravy instead of milk other than that I made it just as the recipe stated. Very, very good I will be making this many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Fried Steak With Peppered Cream Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (606 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1707.5
     
    Calories from Fat 987
    57%
    Total Fat 109.7 g
    168%
    Saturated Fat 43.3 g
    216%
    Cholesterol 562.8 mg
    187%
    Sodium 397.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 137.3 g
    274%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes