10 Reviews

A very tasty steak and gravy recipe. We loved the gravy. I didn't have any bock beer (a lager beer) so I used canned chicken broth. You could turn the gravy portion of this recipe into a creamy homemade gravy recipe with different flavorings such as beef or chicken soup base mix added to the flour. I served it with buttered carrots and mashed potatoes, made with butter and cream and kosher salt, and whipped until creamy in my KitchenAid mixer(preheat the bowl with hot water before adding the cooked potatoes). Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan February 05, 2007

Oh my this was so very good!! Thank-You so much for the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sask Mom July 13, 2010

Down home country cooking is what you have here, and it was so good! Very satisfying and delicious! The gravy was a great addition and added lots of flavor to the dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook Lisa! June 12, 2010

Very good. My DH is from Texas and he said it's the best he's had since he left there many years ago. Will keep and use again often. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom 628 October 14, 2009

I would give this (6) stars if I could. The addition of lager and the double-coating really made for a crispy steak, even after being smothered in the delicious, peppery gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorisfarrar September 01, 2009

I can't even tell you how many times I have used this recipe! This is by far my favorite dinner to prepare for my family. I never hear any complaints from the other side of the table either! Thank you so much for posting a PERFECT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raychel4korn August 07, 2009

I just got done making this for dinner and it was delicious. My husband said it reminded him of his Grandmother's. Can't get much better then that!!!! The gravy can definitely be used for biscuits and gravy. I'll be making this again....soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Norman Albert May 02, 2009

Very good! I don't think you need to make that much batter and flour though I only used barely a quarter of it and threw the rest out. I also used a bit of the frying oil for the gravy to give it more flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yukoner February 07, 2009

Delicious! The flour seasoning was just perfect and it fried up nicely. I used onion salt in the gravy and added more pepper (I love ground pepper). This gravy is also great over sausage and biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"Ratalouille" June 05, 2008
Chicken-Fried Steak With Cracked Pepper Gravy