Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken-Fried Steak Strips With Milk Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken-Fried Steak Strips With Milk Gravy

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2002

      This dish was super easy to make and the taste was delicious! This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This was great. I didn't use round steak, but we had bought some of those frozen steaks they peddle door to door. So I used a few of the smaller cuts of those. I didn't think the gravy was going to turn out, so I cranked up the heat and added a little bit of a flour slurry. Turned out perfect. My new favorite. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Made this just like it says, used a "Magic Bullet" blender to chop and mix the onions and milk combo. What a great idea, would have never occurred to me. We absolutely loved this dish. Since there is only two of us, I froze half and we had it again last night. We ate all the gravy first time around, so I froze a small amount of the "grease" and then made new gravy. Yummy. Thanks for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      this was a nice change from fried cube steak. (aka country fried steak) it seemed to take a long time to get brown. but i was being careful not to cook to fast. the steak by itself was ok but when you eat along with the gravy it does make a huge difference. I didn't change anything. We had this along with mashed potatoes and squash casserole. I was really wanting some fresh sweet corn on cob to go along w/it. i did pound the meat a little with a tenderizer. I tried to make sure that each piece got some of the onion solids on it. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I thought it tasted great. I made it but the sauce didn't turn out for me. I will make it again but I couldn't get my husband or son to eat it. I hope my daughter will eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      So good! I love chicken fried steak, but find cube steak way too tough so this was wonderful! Great idea to make it in strips too. My family gobbled this up as well as 2 pop in visitors! Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Definitely a keeper! The onion and garlic in the milk really added a nice flavor (and I love the idea of pressing the onion in a garlic press - that's an idea I plan to use in other things where I want the onion flavor, but not chunks of onion) Next time I will use about half the milk for the soaking, though. The gravy needs about 3 Tablespoons of flour (and don't remove those good crunchy bits from the pan, either)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I don't want to rate this because I'm not sure if I had made a mistake in the recipe or if this is the way Chicken Fried Steak tastes like. This was kind of mushy to taste and not very good at all. DH and I took about 3 bites out of the whole recipe between the 2 of us before we threw it away. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I made this for our dinner on 3/10/08. When I've made chicken/country fried steaks before, cube steaks were always used.But this time I thought I would try something different.Since it was just myself and SO,only half of the recipe was made.I made a couple of changes on the way that the onions and garlic were done in the recipe. I don't have a garlic press,so I finely chopped the onions,mixed about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder with the onions and mashed the mixture together with back of a spoon and it seemed to work just fine.Even with just a 1/2 cup of milk it seemed like there was too much of the egg/milk mixture.Next time I'm going to just use about 1/3 cup of milk.As Chef Lovemy4kids said the gravy was a little thin,so I added about 1/4 cup of flour and it worked just great.The taste of the strips were very good by themselves,but with the gravy it was over the top.This will be made again. Thanks for posting and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Aside from the gravy being a little on the thin side, this dish was really flavourful and simple to make. Will make this regularly. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Fantastic CFS! There is so much flavor created by adding the onion and garlic to the milk. I may even use that as a marinade next time and see what happens. Very fast and easy! I didnt press the onion like you stated, I did grate it using the smallest holes on my grater and added the liquid and pulp as directed. More to wash but it worked very well. I did use a garlic press for the garlic. I was taking pictures while dh was making the gravy and forgot all about getting that in the pic! Sorry. It was a yummy gravy tho! Thanks for a great and very TEXAN recipe Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Really good home cooking!!! Family ate it up!!! Served it with some mashed potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      People in Oklahoma love chicken fried anything and steak definately tops the list. Adding the pressed onions and garlic to the milk really gave this good flavor. I will use this trick many more times in other recipes as well. Now let's talk about the gravy. Don't wipe the skillet clean, keep all those yummy crumbs in the gravy. I thought it was a little thin, so I would probably up the flour to about 2 Tablespoons. Also, a true southerner would double the amount of gravy, so you have enough to smother your steaks, mashed potatos, and biscuits with it. (My husband thinks you need to put corn on the mashed taters before smothering, but I think that is gross-lol) I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This recipe is right at home in Alabama as well! True Southern comfort food! I made this for my 2 sons, myself, and my parents whom we are visiting. This was a winner with all of us! Can't wait to make it for DH when I get home, I know he'll love it too! Thanks for posting a recipe that is quick, easy, and totally satisfying! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Thank you! My 3yo is so picky; he eats calamari, but refuses to try PB & J and cheeseburgers & ketchup & mustard! But, he tried this and loved it. I am always on the lookout for kid-friendly ideas and this is a keeper. I put the steak in Morton's Tender Quick overnight & then allowed the strips to marinate for 4 hours in the milk mixture. I didn't even bother with the gravy; they are just as good without anything to dip in. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      pretty tasty, everyone really likes this. It even tated good the next day. The only thing i did differently was to marinate the steaks in the milk mixture for about a half hour and added a tad more garlic, cause i love the stuff. I also put my onions in a food processor to really mince it fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Hey, Nan, ya got a winner in this nifty little recipe! Made a batch of french fries to go with, and skipped the gravy. One small steak was plenty for two. Made a light and tasty weeknight supper. Thank you, my Dear, I'll be doing this one again. Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken-Fried Steak Strips With Milk Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (498 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1460.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1108
    75%
    Total Fat 123.1 g
    189%
    Saturated Fat 20.6 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 196.0 mg
    65%
    Sodium 185.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 40.4 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites