Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken-Fried Steak (Chicken With Creamy Gravy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken-Fried Steak (Chicken With Creamy Gravy)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2013

      This sounds good, but, it is NOT chicken-fried steak. Chicken fried steak is beef steak (usually cube steak) fried in the same manner as chicken, hence the name.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      My husband really liked this. (I did too but it isn't something that I crave.) I think it might be easier to use plain flour for the first dipping, the chicken picked up the plain flour out of the mix on the first go-around anyways. One could also use a gallon plastic bag for dredging the chicken. I should also mention that we didn't make your gravy this time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! Love it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Kittencalskitchen's my "go-to" guy for recipes so when i wanted chicken fried steak, I went to him. I have never seen chicken-fried steak made with chicken (always cube steak) but after the reviews, I had to make this. Delicious but still?????????? Cube steak tomorrow :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Five-star fabulous dinner!! The chicken was so tender, and crust full of flavor. We couldn't put our forks down, that goodly! I added a shake or two of Worcesterchire sauce to the gravy, just out of habit. Made for a wonderful dinner with friends. Thanks, Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      exceptionally tasty & very easy to make, we have another new favourite at our place!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This is THE chicken fried steak recipe in my book! The crust was perfect, golden brown and delicious. I used cube steak and left out the cayenne. Another wonderful dish that my family and I ate every bite of. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      OMGosh...Out of this world tasty delicious!!!! I used cube steak and whole milk instead of cream for the gravy and this turned out perfect!!!! DH was late home and it sat in a warm oven for about 20 minutes and was still to die for. One of those comfort foods that feeds the soul. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This was absolutely fantastic! Wonderful flavor and so easy to fix. Will be making this a lot I'm sure. Thanks for for posting such a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

    • on October 27, 2009

      I am quoting my husband "FanFREAKINtastic"! The chicken was cooked fully and still tender and juicy. The gravy was great (my husband hates gravy and actually ate it and commented on how great it was). I added a pinch of cayenne pepper to the gravy for an extra kick. It was phenomenal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      By far the best fried chicken I've ever tried. It makes me look like a good cook! The chicken was very tender. I didn't crush the saltines completely; there were still saltine chunks. Also simply sliced the breast to make two thin breasts instead of pounding. Medium heat seems to be perfect. You have another winner, KittenCal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half, and we enjoyed it very much! Great flavor and quite easy to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Okay, the chicken part of this recipe is right on. It tastes perfect! If you are having issues with the crackers falling off then your chicken breasts are too dry. Wet them a bit and it works perfectly. ETA: July 19, I fixed these again this week and again they were wonderful! Just make sure your heat is not too high or they will burn. Other than that, the recipe is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      after reading the reviews i really was excited to make this...what a disaster!! the crackers make a horrible coating..they fall right off in the milk...the chicken burned horribly bad on both sides in effort to cook the chicken on the inside!! by the time i got done making it i was very sad it didnt work out!! on a good note- the chicken was moist for all the trouble it give me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

    • on February 24, 2009

      This was the best chicken ever! I will be making this again . Kittencal your recipes are amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I made this on 12/11/08, for the "Kittencal-Cook- A-Thon, and as part of mine and SO's dinner.And I have to tell you ,that this is one of the best chicken recipes that I've ever had. ( I'm from the South and I do know my chicken ;)) I almost followed the recipe as written, I did add a bit more garlic powder and some pepper to the cracker/flour coating.After placing the chicken in the hot oil, some more seasoned salt was sprinkle over top.It didn't take long for the chicken to reach a very nice golden color. This was served with mashed potatoes, and peas and carrots. This will so be made again.Thank you for posting, and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This recipe brings back memories! Delicious! Everyone used crushed saltine crackers for dry bread crumbs, there was no packaged breading then. this is great for chicken and beef! Loved it! Just the right amount of seasoning!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      It was great,I used leg quarters,didnt have boneless chicken on hand(:S)I used milk instead of cream(probly why I had white gravy :S...Over all,it was great :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken-Fried Steak (Chicken With Creamy Gravy)

    Serving Size: 1 (521 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1423.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1013
    71%
    Total Fat 112.6 g
    173%
    Saturated Fat 26.7 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 242.0 mg
    80%
    Sodium 633.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes