Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Fried Spam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Fried Spam

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2014

      This is a terrific recipe. I really am a Kept Man and I am always looking for dinner recipes my lover will enjoy. I made a half recipe because there are only two of us and I eat twice what she does. The major change was to add green beans as a second vegetable. She liked it and was taken aback when she learned it was Spam.<br/><br/>I grow Habenero peppers in my garden so I sprinkled some on my plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      AWESOME!!! Two of my favorite dishes, combined...fried SPAM & Chicken Fried Steak!!! I used the 25% less sodium SPAM...I find that the regular is too salty & the Lite is tasteless. I floured the SPAM, then into egg wash & back into the flour....worked out fine!!! I thought they were even better when smothered in the chicken gravy! THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      We loved it! The family is a fan of chicken fried steak, so this was a natural extension. Had a can on hand, went together quickly, no complaints! The wife commented it was the most unusual way she had ever eaten Spam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I really loved this, it was not what I had expected, I did add a few things to the flour mix, I added some onion powder, some paprika & some corn starch ( for some fluffiness), my hubby is not much on spam, and when he doesn't like something he speaks up, his words were it's not bad, that means he likes it, the only problem we had was if we liked it with chicken gravy or with the cheese sauce i make with velveeta, But all in all we both liked it , but I do agree with the double dipping, Thanks for the recipe, we will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was pretty good for a spam recipe. It taste like a deep fried hot dog you get at the fair. Next time I'll try it with some gravy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I'd like to know what recipes won 1st and 2nd, because this was pretty dang good. All 3 kids ate it without incident. Even the 7 year old, "Picky Pete". I did go: wash, flour, wash, flour again. Without the 2nd go around the batter wouldn't coat well enough. Used Frank's instead of Crystal...to lazy to make gravy...just did A1 instead. Next time will make the gravy. I think that would pull off the whole fried thing alot better. By the way, this is the 1st time in my 16 years of marriage that I've prepared Spam for dinner. So go ahead and give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      I am not a huge fan of spam, but I had a can and this actually made spam taste fairly decent! I really liked the egg mixture, and I will have to try it out on some other things besides spam. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I loved this! I live in a very remote mountainous area, and winters can be somewhat unforgiving at times. I always keep a couple of cans of Spam on hand for quick, energy outage dinners....cooked in the fireplace on coals in an iron skillet when necessary. I'm using up my winter stash on the stove now, and this came out beautifully! By comparison, Spam has become MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE than quality meat, but that's not what this recipe is all about. It's about quick, easy, convenient, and "somewhat" nutritious. I never buy Crystal...a Texas Pete man here, and always will be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These were great!! I made Chicken Fried Spam & cheese sandwiches & DH loved it!! I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Good alternative way to prepare Spam. I know Spam gets a bad rap alot, but my family has always enjoyed it. I had some leftover vegetables from earlier in the week but no meat, so I ran in the store picked up a can of Spam and tried this recipe. We really liked it, not to mention it is quick, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I made this on October 18th,2007,for mine and SO's dinner.And I'm very sorry that I waited till now to rate this.Now I had to make a change to the recipe, since I didn't have any hot sauce so a couple of teaspoons of Cajun Seasoning mixed in with just 1 cup of flour and pepper.The salt was omitted from this recipe since the Spam had enough in it.I did step 4 twice to get an extra crunchy coating, it worked out just great.SO and I both really enjoyed the taste,this will be made again.Thank you for posting,and "Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Have to admit I was surprised. I used Spam with Cheese and floured first then dipped in eggs, and floured a second time. Didn't need the 2 cups, about a cup would have been enough and the salt could easily be omitted since the Spam is so salty to begin with. I did get a nice crispy coating that the kids enjoyed. Served as you suggested. Made for PAC Fall 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Fried Spam

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.8
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    58%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 114.9 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1701.7 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes