46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I halved this recipe and still got 3 meals out of it. I separated into freezer bags until ready to use. Super simple supper after a long day. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Tish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 May 08, 2009

Good basic recipe. It was not completely clear to me, so I will mention that it seems you are to add 2 eggs to the 1/4 serving, and 1/4 the soy sauce and pepper as well. Likewise, the oil covers all 4 servings, though if you are freezing some, you would use these ingredients later. I added sesame oil and ginger and doubled the onion (that was great!). My rice cooker maxes out at 10c, so I didn't make quite the full load, and I think what I didn't cook up tonight might make one more serving for my family of 6. A good quick couple of meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise April 01, 2009

This is truly a very good fried rice recipe, like a really good take out. I added fresh, chopped hot peppers, garlic and more onions to suit my family's taste. Also, mixed rice with brown rice to add some nutrition. Hope the batches frozen will taste just a great as the first unfrozen batch did. This satisfied our taste for the takeout that we usually buy once a week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquesmorrow September 13, 2008

Wonderful! Easy and tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digifoo August 03, 2008

Quick and easy to make, the taste was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dtgadgetgirl January 31, 2008

This is a great OAMC recipe. It did take the rice a while to cool, but I spread it out on cookie sheet which seemed to help cool it faster. I am part of an OAMC cooking group and this was a great recipe to exchange because we each got three big bags to take home (I doubled the recipe) I thawed it on the counter and was able to throw it together in a snap! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jd&mj'smom November 14, 2007

Thannk You!!! I forgot to review this recipe months ago. I made it just as directed without the chicken, only because I usually serve it with a chicken dish, and it has been great to pull a bag out of the freezer to go with our meal. This saves so much time, because why not make a big batch once, instead of all the time. Great Idea!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schefersjunk October 22, 2007

Mmm, not bad. I am not a chicken fried rice fan, but I had an extra chicken breast and leftover white rice, so I thought why not try it? My bf loves chicken fried rice from the local chinese food delivery place. I'd ask his opinion on this, but he's sound asleep, lol, I made this for my breakfast. Who said certain foods could only be eaten for dinner or lunch, or breakfast only? :D Unfortunately, I'm really annoyed by the fact that I have no onions. I finished those up yesterday on another recipe. So, I decided to try instant minced onion, it wasn't that great. I used frozen peas and carrots, and a freshly baked chicken breast, cooled and shredded, along w/the soy sauce, pepper, and parsley flakes. The only other sub I had to use was Egg Beaters. I used canola oil at first, and then decided to try olive oil when frying the egg up. I suggest not subbing instant minced onion for this, it didn't work well for me, anyway. Maybe I should have tried onion powder? I made this all fresh, but I bet the OAMC method works very well. This was good, though, and very simple to make. Thank you Tish. If my bf gets a chance to try this, I'll see what he thinks. :) I have a feeling the minced onion ruined the flavor though. I starred this 5 mostly b/c of the ease of this recipe, & I'm very sure that an actual onion would have tasted great in this. Update: Bf tried this and said it was very good. Btw, I realized why the minced onions didn't work so well, I forgot to reconstitute them, first lol! Bf doesn't like peas, but he ate this up quickly, anyway. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage May 26, 2007

Very good and tasty rice!! I did add some green onions just to use them up. Cut the recipe in half for the two of us and froze a couple bags and left one for dinner tonite!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC April 01, 2007

Thanks so much. This was so yummy. No more take out fried rice for us. I will make up the freezer packs with excitment now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal March 13, 2007
Chicken Fried Rice - OAMC