Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Fried Rice - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Fried Rice - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2011

      This is pretty good and I'd have given it five stars, but it has three problems that need remedied. First it really is a little bland as written. It needs garlic. Second, the onions were not cooked through and third, the frozen peas were hard inside. My husband, who spent the first 8 years of his military career stationed in Japan, refused to eat it. In addition, it took only about an hour to make although the recipe says 2 . Luckily, the first time was a test run and I just made 1/4 of the recipe. My cat enjoyed it while I tried again. The second time I changed things up just a bit. I added a little more than a TBS of minced garlic and stir fried it in 1 TBS olive oil along with the onions for two minutes, then added frozen peas, diced fresh carrots and some leftover lima beans from the fridge to the skillet and stir-fried until the carrots were crisp-tender. Then I stirred this into the rice and chopped leftover cooked lemon chicken (from the freezer), parted it up and froze 3/4 in freezer bags. The remainder I stir fried until nice and hot and added soy sauce to taste. I had to add maybe another tsp of oil during cooking just to coat everything evenly, but then I have a great non-stick skillet and nothing sticks to it. The second batch we gobbled up. Can't wait for a reason to get out another bag. Thanks so much for the base recipe. I used to make fried rice the old school way (a real pain and takes hours), but DH says this actually tasted better. I will never do it that way again thanks to you. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      We liked this but needed to add more garlic powder and onion powder. Also drizzled with honey b/c it needed a little something sweet. Did freeze a batch and it reheated just fine. Now when we have a little leftover chicken breast I'll chop it and put in freezer for when I make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      This is one of our favorite OAMC recipes! It is so delicious plus it's quick, easy and cheap! We use brown rice and frozen mixed veggies with corn, peas, carrots and green beans. Sometimes we skip the egg and add other things like fresh bean sprouts or snow peas and a yummy sauce. It is a great base for lots of things! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I have made this several times pretty much exactly as directed. It is better out of the freezer because the onions are not as crunchy once they have been frozen and thawed, and the flavors have meshed more. I usually buy a rotisserie chicken, pull off all the meat, and use about 3/4 of it for this and 1/4 of it for chicken salad, then use the carcass to make stock (along with veggie leftovers from cooking that I keep in the freezer). I make enough rice to divide between 3 gallon freezer bags, and then once defrosted, use 2 eggs and 1/4 cup soy sauce for each bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Great recipe. I only made half the recipe to test it. Since it was such a huge hit and so easy and economical to make, I have to write my notes here because this is going to be a regular recipe in my home. I made 6 cups of cooked rice in my rice cooker and cooled it. I baked 2 large chicken breasts, cooled, boned and chopped. I heated my wok to screaming hot and added about 1 tbsp veg oil, then 1 chopped onion, sauteed til tender and fragrant. Scooting the onions to the side, I added 3 beaten large eggs (I would have added more if I'd had them), scrambling as it cooked. Then I added some sesame oil, 1 lb frozen mixed Japanese veggies, the chicken, and several grinds of pepper. I then removed half the mixture to a large bowl, and added 1/2 the rice to the remaining mix in the wok with about 1/4 cup (or less) less-sodium soy sauce and stir fried. That finished, I then removed that to a large bowl, added the remaining mix to the wok with more soy sauce and rice and stir fried. I froze this in 6 individual portions for lunches or snacks to be served with soy sauce when heated. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I just ate my 1st frozen bag of 4. It went over very well with DH. Instead of mixing I put 1/4 of each ingredient into each bag. I then mixed the bag individually by shaking. I spread the meal out flat pushed out any air and sealed up. This will take up less space and broke up into managable pieces in the skillet to reheat. I added the egg and soy sauce when reheating as these items I always have on hand. I used fresh matchstick carrots instead of frozen as grocery store was out of frozen pea & carrot mix. I also used all brown rice which DH was unable to tell! Overall very tasty and healthy. The real test will be if DH can heat this up to feed himself & DS when needed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      This is our favorite! So easy and so good! <br/>I have 5 children and 15 grandchildren so we don't get to freeze any, we do get leftovers for breakfast. Tastes so good for breakfast. I'm so glad we found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      This recipe doesn't make any sense. The amount of olive oil in the ingredients list doesn't match up with the amount listed in the instructions. The recipe says to use 4 cups of chicken, but that number doesn't change when you put in a smaller number of servings than the original (16).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was good-very versatile, which I love in a recipe. I added a stir fry seasoning packet, and used dark sesame oil instead of the olive oil.Next time I will probably add a little ginger puree.Makes a great side dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Hubby loves this one. Making it again tonight. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      This was excellent and it made a TON of rice. My husband absolutely loved it. And it freezes very well! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Thanks for sharing this fantastic fried rice recipe. I used brown rice, fixed according to directions from #56242, and it turned out delicious! I previously fixed this with white rice and froze it. It is definitely a real keeper and will be used often now that I can fix brown rice that is edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      We liked this fried rice a lot. I used mixed veggies rather than just peas and carrots, brown rice, and chicken thigh meat. Very tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This has become a family favorite. I love that I can make so much and freeze it. I usually make a batch after we've had roast chicken. So easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Very good, made a 1/3 of the recipe fresh for dinner. DH and DD loved it, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Ever since moving to Tennessee, from New York, I have missed chicken fried rice. For some reasons the restaurants in TN have a different taste. I halved the recipe (but used a whole onion) and followed the recipe to a "T"..it was perfect! Just like my favorite restaurant in NY. Thank you Thank you Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      awesome recipe! Tasted great the first night as well as when it came from the freezer... will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Yummy! I just copied this recipe into my "Keepers" file. This is a quick, easy and filling dinner recipe. We used cut-up rotisserie chicken and pre-cooked brown rice. This will become one of our regualrs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I always thought I could never make Chinese food at home but this is pretty close if not better then take out - something the whole family, including a five and two year old, happily consume. Freezes great. I added a bit more vegetables and still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I halved this recipe and still got 3 meals out of it. I separated into freezer bags until ready to use. Super simple supper after a long day. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Fried Rice - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 676.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    10%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 124.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 851.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.1 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites