8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I give this one 6 stars. Thought there would be enough for a second meal. Not so. The gravy was wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anguslake April 15, 2009

This is a beautiful recipe. I served this over mashed potatoes and the sauce/gravy was a perfect match. I do think that you could halve the sauce amounts and still have enough. I also did not use the full amount of shallots, using about 4 sliced. I wasn't sure when to add the green onions so I threw it into the sauce. I did love the flavor and will definitely make it again with the few minor adjustments. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 14, 2008

This was absolutely gorgeous!!! I was so lucky as we are coming into autumn here, all the wild mushrooms are on the shelves, so I made a wild mushroom mix. It was totally omg moreish, both hubby and I loved the sauce. I served over pasnip mash with fresh vegetables. As with some other reviewers, I added garlic too and I also only used 1 large shallot as I was only making for 2. I also cooked in the same pan, browned the chicken, removed and then cooked mushrooms, shallot and garlic, added wine, lemon juice and stock and returned chicken, simmered for 15 Min's, before adding remaining ingredients. A superb recipe and a definite winner and a company worthy dish. Thanks Sharon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef September 17, 2008

Whats not to like about this? Wow. Wonderful chicken dish. I love the shallots and the addition of the cream sauce over the top. It was a nice change of pace for us. We used chicken breasts. Thanks Sharon, this is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan June 10, 2007

Excellent recipe! I made this recipe using all ingredients but did saute fresh garlic with the shallots, and seasoned the chicken with seasoning salt and pepper before browning. I increased the amounts as I used about 3 pounds of chicken, and also used a mixture of legs and thighs. This is a very tasty recipe that is deserving of a high rating. thank you Sharon!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 30, 2006

We absolutely loved this dish! I have to admit I have never made fricassee before! The only changes I made were to use chicken breasts instead of thighs and I omitted the mushrooms (personal preference). Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing Sharon! Made for Everday is a Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkoch960 July 17, 2009

Delicious!!! I did do things differently, as I cut the recipe in half using 1 lb of chicken breast cutlets and made it all in one pan. I first mixed the flour with seasoned salt and pepper, than added the chicken to coat. I browned the chicken, then removed to plate, then added the shallots(which I sliced and only used one of) and sliced portabella mushrooms, then added lemon juice and wine and brought to a boil. I then added the broth and a mixture of the flour and water to it. The chicken was then added back to the pan and when temperature was lowered added the cream. This is so yummy, DS went back for seconds. Served this over linguine along with homemade bread and green beans. Thanks Sharon for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 13, 2008

this was awesome! I had heard of chicken fricasee and had never made it before. I wasn't sure what to serve it on, I read somewhere noodles or mashed potato. I thought either would make a very heavy meal so I decided to add a quartered potato for each person having dinner to the 25 minutes cooking time. One place I was somewhat confused about was if the chicken was going to go into the pot in sstep two. I put in in after as I wanted to make sure the chicken was cooked through. I will make this again it was yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fatemma February 22, 2007
Chicken Fricassee