Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Filling for Burritos and Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Filling for Burritos and Tacos

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2012

      We loved this!!! I doubled it, omitted the green chiles and subbed a can of rotel. Seasoned with cumin and chipotle chili powder. Had some breasts and some thighs that I boiled and shredded. I used the broth from the chicken and added some boullion. I simmered, covered on the stove for 40 minutes or so and then took the lid off to reduce the sauce for about 15 more minutes. Served on soft flour tortillas... really fabulous... will absolutely be making again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I used chicken thighs for this. I cooked them first, and saved the broth. I added cumin and some cayenne pepper. It turned out wonderfully! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Very good! I have tried this 2 times now, and I must say it is much less dry if you use dark meat. A great quick fix that keeps me from having to go to Taco Cabana.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Fast, easy, versatile & DELICIOUS! What more could you ask for?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      VERY good and so easy! I took a page from NcMysteryShopper and used a can of Ro-Tel diced tomatoes and green chiles in lieu of the tomato sauce and chiles. Turned out so good! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This turned out to be better than I had expected. It was easy to make too. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I added some cumin, ancho chile powder, sea salt and pepper to the recipe. I also used hot green chiles and subbed a can of Ro-tel habanero tomatoes for the tomato sauce (we live in Phoenix and like it hot!) I made them with a mild white quesadilla cheese. We also fried them up in oil like chimichangas and ate them with cool sour cream on top. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I used rotel tomatoes with green chilies instead of the tomato sauce and chopped chilies. We had in soft tortillas rolled up, and I added in Mexican Rice, sour cream and salsa before assembling the burritos. They sure were big! Everyone here raved about them, and asked to have them again, so we will do that soon again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I made this with Queso Blanco Dip Queso Blanco Dip and it was very good and very easy. I stored the left overs in the fridge for great burritos all week long.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I love this chicken! I have made it a couple times. Its to mild for me but I just add a bunch of tapatio and its perfect. Its great with fried corn tortillas lettuce and cheese. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      This tasted good but it definitely wasn't authentic. It was more like Italian chicken to go with pasta. I added some cumin which helped, but it still wasn't what I would use for tacos. A thinner Mexican tomato sauce like Rotel or even a small can of red salsa would work better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This was amazing. I took the advice of others and added a bit of cumin and cayenne pepper. Definitely made the difference. Had tons leftover and it was just as good reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      The tomato flavor was very strong when made with tomato sauce, even before adding salsa. Maybe spicy diced tomatoes would have worked better. Certainly not the savory chicken flavor I associate with burrito filling. My wife enjoyed it, though.

      - Revised rating: I had some of the leftovers by themselves, not remembering what they were, and when I didn't expect it to be "burrito filling," it was actually pretty good. Sort of like an Italian chicken casserole. I may try it over spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      The boys thought this was really bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      I made it exactly the way it was written.. YUMMY! Even the kids loved it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This is pretty good, but it took a bit longer than 25 minutes because I wanted it to thicken up and be less watery. Next time I will use less of the broth. I also used a can of tomatoes with chilies in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This was pretty good. I also used Rotel tomatoes and added taco seasoning. I had to leave out the peppers due to picky children, but I may add orange bell pepper strips next time. I'll have to tinker with this one a bit. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      These was great, it was very similar to another recipe I make called "Chicken Tortilla Soup" because it had a lot of the same ingredients. I did change it up a bit. I baked the chicken in the oven and then combined it with Rotel Original, minced garlic (1-2 tablespoons, 1/4 cup onion, and some chicken broth that was made from chicken bouillon cubes. I did not put in the green peppers. I also added cilantro (fresh would have been even better but all I had was dried) and I put in quite a bit of cumin. I enjoyed eating the chicken mixture with hard taco shells while my husband enjoyed eating it with soft tortilla shells. I also served this with an excellent cheese dip which I am waiting on the recipe to be posted so once it is, I will reference it and add it to the review. Thanks for a recipe that allows us to eat chicken tacos without the seasoning packet from the store. Much, much, better! Next time, I plan to cook the chicken by having it simmer in the pan with the other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was good. I used a can of tomatoes w/ green chiles instead of tomato sauce and green chiles. Also, just to suit my family's taste, I added a packet of taco seasoning. The sauted veggies with the chicken were awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Made it the first time verbatim. Delicious. Second time I added 1 heaping tablespoon of taco seasoning and I thought it was even better. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Filling for Burritos and Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    38%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 271.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites