9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great enchiladas! I used fresh tomatillos (simmered them with the chilis), otherwise made as directed. Just delicious - thanks for sharing a great recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 03, 2012

These are delicious! Other than using fresh tomatillos, I followed the recipe exactly. Perfection. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 11, 2012

I think I am now more of a fan of the green Verdes sauce then the normal red sauce!! I made this as written but scaled it back for just the 2 of us. I couldn't help myself and added some Monterey Jack cheese with the chicken mixture before rolling them up. This is a great and so tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 07, 2012

Really authentic and tasty. I couldn't find tomatillo peppers at my supermarket but I found something even better. It's a canned salsa verde from Mexico that already has the tomatillos in it so I cheated. I did add the pureed serranos though...they gave it a bit of heat. Really yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jklein8962 April 13, 2010

Great stuff! Instead of rolling the enchiladas I made layers and stacked them kind of like a lasagna and served this meal casserole style! It was great! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uniquemo February 15, 2007

Yummy! I've never had tomatillo sauce before, but I'm a convert - thanks for this great new recipe for Mexican night! Made for ZWT 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 06, 2012

Very good.The sauce rates 5 stars by itself so the dish total should be 4.5. I know you're not supposed to serve something you've never made before to company but, I made these for a small Fiesta Party in Santa Barbara and the friends who played guinea pig thoroughly enjoyed them. I used blue corn tortillas. I also seeded the Serrano chilies so the meat was heatless. I'll keep experimenting with how many seeds to leave in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover August 16, 2009

I did without the sourcream in the enchiladas. I made it for the children also, so instead of serrano peppers i used bell pepper. Taste like lime was in the sauce but didnt use none at all. This sauce is best green sauce ever. I also used adobo sauce instead of adobo seasoning in the broth. Very tasty. Kids couldnt get enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizty209 February 07, 2008

Very Tasty!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvclaudia24 January 24, 2008
Chicken Enchiladas With Tomatillo Sauce (Enchiladas Verdes)